Milwaukee Irish Fest Coverage http://wuwm.com en The Modern Grass Updates Bluegrass Sound http://wuwm.com/post/modern-grass-updates-bluegrass-sound <p>There are lots of unique acts at Irish Fest this year, but if you just happened upon the music of the five piece band, <a href="http://www.themoderngrass.com" target="_blank">The Modern Grass</a>, you probably wouldn't have thought you were at Irish music festival.&nbsp; Sat, 17 Aug 2013 15:06:00 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 10954 at http://wuwm.com The Modern Grass Updates Bluegrass Sound Nova Scotia Group Infuses Scottish Music with a Taste of Jazz http://wuwm.com/post/nova-scotia-group-infuses-scottish-music-taste-jazz <p>One of the great musical traditions in Nova Scotia and Cape Breton is its Gaelic singing. Sat, 17 Aug 2013 14:56:57 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 10945 at http://wuwm.com Nova Scotia Group Infuses Scottish Music with a Taste of Jazz Chicago Duo Shares Irish Immigrant Heritage http://wuwm.com/post/chicago-duo-shares-irish-immigrant-heritage <p><a href="http://www.irishfest.com/‎" target="_blank">Irish Fest</a> is winding down here in Milwaukee, but down in Chicago, or “Chi-cargo,” a deep Irish heritage is keeping the music alive. Sat, 17 Aug 2013 14:45:58 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 10930 at http://wuwm.com Chicago Duo Shares Irish Immigrant Heritage Mànran Meshes Irish, Scottish Music to Create New Sound http://wuwm.com/post/m-nran-meshes-irish-scottish-music-create-new-sound <p>The six-member Scottish group <a href="http://manran.co.uk" target="_blank">Mànran </a>is a relatively new folk-rock band. What makes them different is they sing in Gallic, which the language spoken in the Highlands. Fri, 16 Aug 2013 17:49:39 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 10829 at http://wuwm.com Mànran Meshes Irish, Scottish Music to Create New Sound Young Irish Quartet Blends Irish Music with Jazz and Funk http://wuwm.com/post/young-irish-quartet-blends-irish-music-jazz-and-funk <p>A group of young Irish musicians are showing that even trad players can get "jig"-gy with it by creating a new genre of music: Celtic funk. Fri, 16 Aug 2013 17:30:24 +0000 Gaby Magallanes & Bonnie North 10833 at http://wuwm.com Young Irish Quartet Blends Irish Music with Jazz and Funk Piper Brings Spanish Flair to Irish Fest http://wuwm.com/post/piper-brings-spanish-flair-irish-fest <p>Though <a href="http://www.irishfest.com" target="_blank">Irish Fest's</a> showcase this year is music from Nova Scotia, there are other Celtic music traditions that will be represented on stage this year - and some may surprise you. Fri, 16 Aug 2013 16:54:58 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 10834 at http://wuwm.com Piper Brings Spanish Flair to Irish Fest Disney House Band Creel Plays Celtic Classics - Sans Mouse Ears http://wuwm.com/post/disney-house-band-creel-plays-celtic-classics-sans-mouse-ears <p>Just in time for Irish Fest, the duo Creel comes to Milwaukee by way of England, Ireland – and Disney World.</p><p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 16:24:30 +0000 Bonnie North 10915 at http://wuwm.com Disney House Band Creel Plays Celtic Classics - Sans Mouse Ears Nova Scotian Music Takes Center Stage at Irish Fest http://wuwm.com/post/nova-scotian-music-takes-center-stage-irish-fest <p>Every year Irish Fest features the music of a particular region or style. Fri, 16 Aug 2013 16:08:04 +0000 Bonnie North 10914 at http://wuwm.com Nova Scotian Music Takes Center Stage at Irish Fest Milwaukee's Irish "Ma Mary" Cared for Colombia's Poorest http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukees-irish-ma-mary-cared-colombias-poorest <p>An Irish Milwaukee mother’s faith leads her to the slums of Colombia. Her story is being told in the Irish Fest Cultural Village today. Fri, 16 Aug 2013 15:21:22 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 10858 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee's Irish "Ma Mary" Cared for Colombia's Poorest Three Irish Symbols You Didn't Know Had Spiritual Origins http://wuwm.com/post/three-irish-symbols-you-didnt-know-had-spiritual-origins <p>Milwaukee's <a href="http://www.irishfest.com" target="_blank">Irish Fest</a> starts tonight, and after 30 years it's more than just one of the city's most popular ethnic festivals. Thu, 15 Aug 2013 18:43:56 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 10824 at http://wuwm.com Three Irish Symbols You Didn't Know Had Spiritual Origins