Regional News http://wuwm.com en 'Outsourcing' Captures Focus in Wisconsin's Governor's Race http://wuwm.com/post/outsourcing-captures-focus-wisconsins-governors-race <p>The business practice of outsourcing remains center stage in the race for governor.&nbsp; Gov. Walker criticizes Democratic challenger Mary Burke for profiting from her family’s company, Trek Bicycle, which has outsourced production overseas.</p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 21:25:32 +0000 Erin Toner 37059 at http://wuwm.com 'Outsourcing' Captures Focus in Wisconsin's Governor's Race Milwaukee Doctors on Front Lines of Concussion Research http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-doctors-front-lines-concussion-research <p></p><p></p><p>Hundreds of Milwaukee-area kids have begun working out for upcoming fall sports. Their arrival may delight parents, but also heighten fears about potential concussions.</p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 15:48:27 +0000 Erin Toner 36671 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Doctors on Front Lines of Concussion Research Early Voting Begins in Wisconsin, With New Limits on Hours http://wuwm.com/post/early-voting-begins-wisconsin-new-limits-hours <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Early voting begins Monday in city clerks’ offices across Wisconsin. Voters who can’t make it to the polls on Election Day will be able to cast ballots during the two weeks prior to the August 12 primary.</span></p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36880 at http://wuwm.com Early Voting Begins in Wisconsin, With New Limits on Hours Walker: Border Children Could Drain The Entire System http://wuwm.com/post/walker-border-children-could-drain-entire-system <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Gov. Scott Walker says he's not entirely opposed to Wisconsin providing temporary shelter for unaccompanied children crossing into the U. S. on the Mexican border, but housing them could eventually "drain the entire system."</span></p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:13:09 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36891 at http://wuwm.com Walker: Border Children Could Drain The Entire System Federal Appeals Court Sets Date For Wisconsin Gay Marriage Arguments http://wuwm.com/post/federal-appeals-court-sets-date-wisconsin-gay-marriage-arguments <p></p><p></p><p>Lawyers will argue the constitutionality of Wisconsin's same sex marriage ban next month.&nbsp; The 7th U. S. Circuit Court of Appeals Friday rescheduled arguments to hear both Wisconsin's and Indiana's appeals for Aug. 26.&nbsp;</p><p>Federal judges overturned each state's gay marriage ban in separate rulings.&nbsp; When both states appealed, the 7th Circuit combined the cases.</p><p>The court also denied requests that the states' appeals be heard before the full 10-member court instead of a three-judge pael, as is customary.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:50:20 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36889 at http://wuwm.com Federal Appeals Court Sets Date For Wisconsin Gay Marriage Arguments St. Charles' RePurpose says 'YES!' to Milwaukee Youth http://wuwm.com/post/st-charles-repurpose-says-yes-milwaukee-youth <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>Helping youth get that critical experience is at the heart of the mission of the Youth Employment Services, or YES, program. It’s run by the Milwaukee nonprofit St. Charles Youth and Family Services, Inc., a social service agency that serves at-risk youth and their families.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 19:36:42 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Stephanie Lecci 36863 at http://wuwm.com St. Charles' RePurpose says 'YES!' to Milwaukee Youth How Low-Income Parents' Decisions Influence their Children's Future http://wuwm.com/post/how-low-income-parents-decisions-influence-their-childrens-future <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p>We all know that children who grow up in disadvantaged homes face unique challenges to their well-being and their chances for success later in life. But growing up in low-income circumstances isn’t a blanket predictor of a child’s future; some may do well, some may struggle.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 17:36:10 +0000 Eleanor Peterson, Stephanie Lecci & David Pate 36859 at http://wuwm.com How Low-Income Parents' Decisions Influence their Children's Future Northern Wisconsin Native Writes of Biking, Relationships, and Bumps in the Road http://wuwm.com/post/northern-wisconsin-native-writes-biking-relationships-and-bumps-road <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">His first book under his belt, Brian Benson &nbsp;is completing the last stretch of a Minnesota, Wisconsin, &nbsp;Illinois &nbsp;book tour – by bike.</span></p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 15:11:45 +0000 Susan Bence 36853 at http://wuwm.com Northern Wisconsin Native Writes of Biking, Relationships, and Bumps in the Road Summer Camp Aims to Help Children Impacted by Gun Violence in Milwaukee http://wuwm.com/post/summer-camp-aims-help-children-impacted-gun-violence-milwaukee <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">For thousands of kids in Milwaukee, violence is a constant threat.</span></p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 LaToya Dennis 36808 at http://wuwm.com Summer Camp Aims to Help Children Impacted by Gun Violence in Milwaukee Feds Place 50 'Border' Children in Wisconsin; GOP Lawmakers Object http://wuwm.com/post/feds-place-50-border-children-wisconsin-gop-lawmakers-object <p></p><p>The Office of Refugee Resettlement reports placing 50 children, who arrived at the southern border without parents, at undisclosed locations in Wisconsin. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:53:31 +0000 Marge Pitrof 36821 at http://wuwm.com Feds Place 50 'Border' Children in Wisconsin; GOP Lawmakers Object