David Greene http://wuwm.com en Artists Try To Fuse Cultural Differences Between Miami And Cuba http://wuwm.com/post/artists-try-fuse-cultural-differences-between-miami-and-cuba Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>This is the sound of Obsesion.<p>ALEXEI RODRIGUEZ: (Singing in foreign language).<p>MONTAGNE: Obsesion is a Cuban hip-hop duo. They invited our colleague, David Greene, for a visit when he was in Havana a few weeks ago.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Their names are Magia Lopez and Alexei Rodriguez. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 09:19:00 +0000 David Greene 36036 at http://wuwm.com Tourism Money Flows Into Cuba, Bringing Economic Hopes And Fears http://wuwm.com/post/tourism-money-flows-cuba-bringing-economic-hopes-and-fears Every morning, Manuel Landin Rodriguez walks past the luxurious state-owned Xanadu Mansion hotel and crosses its neatly trimmed golf course all the way to its edge. He camps out on the cliff overlooking the turquoise Caribbean waters that make the resort town of Varadero on Cuba's northern coast so famous.<p>Landin, a retired physical education teacher, comes to the spot to fish. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 07:17:00 +0000 David Greene 34621 at http://wuwm.com Tourism Money Flows Into Cuba, Bringing Economic Hopes And Fears Cuba's Mariel Port: Once An Escape, Now A Window To The Future http://wuwm.com/post/cubas-mariel-port-once-escape-now-window-future When you arrive at the Jose Marti International Airport in Havana, you're greeted with a barrage of billboards with the popular Cuban government slogan promoting tourism: "Cuba, where the past and the present converge."<p>Perhaps nowhere on the island is that statement more true than in the city of Mariel, about 30 miles from Havana on the northwestern coast.<p>Mariel port is strategically located at the mouth of the Gulf of Mexico, facing the United States. Wed, 25 Jun 2014 07:29:00 +0000 David Greene & Jasmine Garsd 34531 at http://wuwm.com Cuba's Mariel Port: Once An Escape, Now A Window To The Future Cuba's Budding Entrepreneurs Travel A Rocky Road Toward Success http://wuwm.com/post/cubas-budding-entrepreneurs-travel-rocky-road-toward-success When Americans think of business in Cuba, they think of government-owned enterprise. And the vast majority of Cubans do work for the state.<p>But in recent years, private business owners known as <em>cuentapropistas</em> have flourished on the island.<p><em>Cuentapropismo</em> literally means "on your own account." As far back as the 1970s, Fidel Castro was talking about how socialism and small business ownership could coexist. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 07:40:00 +0000 David Greene 34448 at http://wuwm.com Cuba's Budding Entrepreneurs Travel A Rocky Road Toward Success After Mubarak, Egypt Appears Ready To Elect Another Military Man http://wuwm.com/post/after-mubarak-egypt-appears-ready-elect-another-military-man Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And so as Leila just told us, Egyptians appear ready to elect a military man - which in a way seems amazing considering the images we remember from three years ago. At that point, a military dictator, Hosni Mubarak, was removed from power. At that time, it was NPR's Lourdes Garcia-Navarro in Cairo. She was witnessing all of the celebration.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF ARCHIVED BROADCAST)<p>LOURDES GARCIA-NAVARRO, BYLINE: There are tooting horns and people running and screaming in the streets - just an absolutely mad air of celebration. Mon, 26 May 2014 11:23:00 +0000 David Greene 32302 at http://wuwm.com Supreme Court Strikes Down Key Part Of Campaign Finance Law http://wuwm.com/post/supreme-court-strikes-down-key-part-campaign-finance-law Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC) Transcript provided by NPR, Copyright NPR.<p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 17:04:00 +0000 David Greene 28274 at http://wuwm.com Search Planes Fail To Locate Objects Spotted By Satellite http://wuwm.com/post/search-planes-fail-locate-objects-spotted-satellite Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Linda Wertheimer.<p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>And I'm David Greene. Two large objects showed up satellite images bobbing in a remote part of the Indian Ocean.<p>WERTHEIMER: Now the search is on to find those objects and see if they are part of the missing Malaysia Airlines plane. Search planes and boats are covering an area about 1,500 miles southwest of Perth, Australia.<p>GREENE: And NPR's David Schaper joins us on the line now with the latest on the search. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 10:24:00 +0000 David Greene 27376 at http://wuwm.com Twitter Tool Lets Users Revist First Tweets http://wuwm.com/post/twitter-tool-lets-users-revist-first-tweets Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>Good morning, I'm David Greene.<p>It is Twitter's 8th birthday. To celebrate, the site has put out a tool that lets you see any user's very first tweet. Some were naturals. Warren Buffett's first tweet, Warren is in the house, has been retweeted more than 40,000 times. Others might cringe at their first contribution. Steve Wozniak, co-founder of Apple, tweeted about his dance lessons: No pain, no gain. Awkward but fun this dancing, I still can't do macarena. That's what he wrote.<p>You're listening to MORNING EDITION. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 09:43:00 +0000 David Greene 27374 at http://wuwm.com Wait. How Much Is That Doggy? http://wuwm.com/post/wait-how-much-doggy A Chinese property developer has reportedly paid close to $2 million for a golden-haired Tibetan mastiff puppy. The lion-looking dogs have become a status symbol for China's very rich. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 David Greene 27263 at http://wuwm.com Malaysia Jet's Flight Path Raises More Questions Than Answers http://wuwm.com/post/malaysia-jets-flight-path-raises-more-questions-answers Host David Greene talks to former Boeing safety engineer Todd Curtis about what might have taken place on Malaysia Airlines Flight 370, and what the next steps are in searching for the plane. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 09:06:00 +0000 David Greene 27265 at http://wuwm.com