Ann-Elise Henzl http://wuwm.com en Zoo Interchange: Crews to Work 24/7 During Weekend Full Freeway Closure http://wuwm.com/post/zoo-interchange-crews-work-247-during-weekend-full-freeway-closure <p></p><p>A portion of I-94 will be closed from 11:00 p.m. Friday until 5:30 a.m. Monday.</p><p> Fri, 18 Jul 2014 15:48:59 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 36331 at http://wuwm.com Zoo Interchange: Crews to Work 24/7 During Weekend Full Freeway Closure WI Supreme Court Rules on Restraining Order Against UW System Protester http://wuwm.com/post/wi-supreme-court-rules-restraining-order-against-uw-system-protester <p>The state’s highest court says it was appropriate for a Madison judge to approve a UW Board of Regents request for a restraining order.</p><p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 16:44:22 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 36160 at http://wuwm.com WI Supreme Court Rules on Restraining Order Against UW System Protester Walker Outpaces Burke in Campaign Fundraising http://wuwm.com/post/walker-outpaces-burke-campaign-fundraising <p>New figures show Gov. Scott Walker's campaign raised twice as much as Mary Burke's, during the first half of 2014.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 21:16:18 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 35635 at http://wuwm.com Walker Outpaces Burke in Campaign Fundraising Border Crisis: Milwaukee Organization to Help House Immigrant Children, if Needed http://wuwm.com/post/border-crisis-milwaukee-organization-help-house-immigrant-children-if-needed <p>As undocumented children continue arriving at the US-Mexico border, FEMA has asked a Milwaukee agency to stand by – in case it’s needed.</p><p> Wed, 09 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 35564 at http://wuwm.com Border Crisis: Milwaukee Organization to Help House Immigrant Children, if Needed Judge Hears Sen. Ron Johnson’s Lawsuit Against the Obama Administration http://wuwm.com/post/judge-hears-sen-ron-johnson-s-lawsuit-against-obama-administration <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Wisconsin Sen. Johnson is suing the administration for offering health care subsidies to Congress and its aides, if they buy plans on the federal exchange.</span> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 35336 at http://wuwm.com Judge Hears Sen. Ron Johnson’s Lawsuit Against the Obama Administration World Cup Keeps Soccer-Related Businesses Busy http://wuwm.com/post/world-cup-keeps-soccer-related-businesses-busy <p>The growing popularity of soccer has meant strong sales at local soccer bars and stores, including Milwaukee’s first soccer store, Stefan’s.</p><p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 35075 at http://wuwm.com World Cup Keeps Soccer-Related Businesses Busy Local Groups React to Supreme Court Ruling in Hobby Lobby Contraception Case http://wuwm.com/post/local-groups-react-supreme-court-ruling-hobby-lobby-contraception-case <p>The U.S. Supreme Court ruled Monday that some companies that object to birth control on religious grounds don’t have to pay for employees’ contraception.</p><p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 17:20:08 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 34945 at http://wuwm.com Former Milwaukee Inmates: 'I Am More Than My Record' http://wuwm.com/post/former-milwaukee-inmates-i-am-more-my-record <p>Tens of thousands of black men living in Milwaukee have criminal records. In many people’s eyes, the men’s records define them.&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">We asked how they define themselves.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 15:02:48 +0000 Michelle Maternowski, Stephanie Lecci & Ann-Elise Henzl 33868 at http://wuwm.com Former Milwaukee Inmates: 'I Am More Than My Record' Update: Full Common Council to Vote on Regulating "Rideshare" Drivers http://wuwm.com/post/update-full-common-council-vote-regulating-rideshare-drivers <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Milwaukee Public Works Committee approved an ordinance Wednesday, which would make drivers for </span>Lyft<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> and </span>Uber<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> follow the same licensing rules as taxis.</span></p><p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 34006 at http://wuwm.com Update: Full Common Council to Vote on Regulating "Rideshare" Drivers UWM Poll: Residents Favor Higher Minimum Wage, Oppose State Funding for Basketball Arena http://wuwm.com/post/uwm-poll-residents-favor-higher-minimum-wage-oppose-state-funding-basketball-arena <p></p><p></p><p>When it comes to covering the projected shortfall in Wisconsin's transportation budget, 31% favor toll roads while 29% prefer delaying road projects. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl & WUWM News 33556 at http://wuwm.com UWM Poll: Residents Favor Higher Minimum Wage, Oppose State Funding for Basketball Arena