Dave Edwards http://wuwm.com en Meet Interim UW-Milwaukee Chancellor Mark Mone http://wuwm.com/post/meet-interim-uw-milwaukee-chancellor-mark-mone <p>We meet Interim UW-Milwaukee Chancellor Mark Mone. He discusses his background and his interest in 'moving forward together' during his tenure despite challenges faced by the University.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 19:18:06 +0000 Dave Edwards 35218 at http://wuwm.com New Student Recruitment Programs at UWM http://wuwm.com/post/new-student-recruitment-programs-uwm <p>New student recruitment programs are underway at UW-Milwaukee. Chancellor Michael Lovell discusses the ongoing work of the Council on Enrollment Management.</p><p>Dr. Lovell also discusses his meeting with alum Satya Nadella, who was recently appointed the third-ever CEO of Microsoft Inc. And, he talks about the challenges of paying for a college education.</p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 20:01:15 +0000 Dave Edwards 26328 at http://wuwm.com New Student Recruitment Programs at UWM Innovative Math Program at UWM http://wuwm.com/post/innovative-math-program-uwm <p>UW-Milwaukee Chancellor Mike Lovell discusses an innovative program which is helping the 42% of incoming students who need to enroll in remedial math.</p><p>Also, new UW System President Ray Cross has already visited UWM and we discuss the work of a task force which is exploring the future of state allocations to System campuses.</p> Thu, 06 Feb 2014 22:38:59 +0000 Dave Edwards 24153 at http://wuwm.com Innovative Math Program at UWM UWM Chancellor Discusses Sustainable Peacebuilding Degree and a New Greenhouse http://wuwm.com/post/uwm-chancellor-discusses-sustainable-peacebuilding-degree-and-new-greenhouse <p>Beginning in fall 2014, UWM will offer an interdisciplinary professional graduate degree program leading to a Master of Sustainable Peacebuilding.</p><p>Chancellor Mike Lovell discusses the new program plus fills us in on a new 9,200 square foot greenhouse on the roof of one of the former Columbia St. Mary's Hospital buildings which is now part of the UWM campus.</p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 22:09:12 +0000 Dave Edwards 21497 at http://wuwm.com UWM Chancellor Discusses Sustainable Peacebuilding Degree and a New Greenhouse UWM Receives $11 Million in Incentive Grants http://wuwm.com/post/uwm-receives-11-million-incentive-grants <p>In April, legislators expressed concerns about UW System program revenue balances. Now, as UW-Milwaukee Chancellor Mike Lovell explains, a recent review by the Legislative Audit Bureau supports his claim that these are not uncommitted cash balances. Fri, 06 Dec 2013 15:27:11 +0000 Dave Edwards 19528 at http://wuwm.com UWM Receives $11 Million in Incentive Grants UWM Submits Prospals for the Incentive Grant Program http://wuwm.com/post/uwm-submits-prospals-incentive-grant-program <p>Wisconsin's biennial budget included more than $11 million for an incentive grant program for the University of Wisconsin System to distribute in 2013. The grant will be used to develop programs to foster economic development, improve affordability of post secondary education and the development of an educated and skilled workforce. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 20:46:25 +0000 Dave Edwards 17393 at http://wuwm.com UWM Submits Prospals for the Incentive Grant Program Checking in With UWM's Chancellor After the Start of a New Semester http://wuwm.com/post/checking-uwms-chancellor-after-start-new-semester <p></p><p>As a new semester begins, UW-Milwaukee Chancellor Mike Lovell reflects on the importance of shared governance within the University, the sobering reality of the 2013-2015 budget and how the institution is dealing with decreasing enrollments. Also, the impact of the Global Water Center in Milwaukee.</p> Fri, 04 Oct 2013 19:39:38 +0000 Dave Edwards 14751 at http://wuwm.com Checking in With UWM's Chancellor After the Start of a New Semester UWM Chancellor Talks About the Wisconsin Energy Research Consortium http://wuwm.com/post/uwm-chancellor-talks-about-wisconsin-energy-research-consortium <p>UW-Milwaukee Chancellor Mike Lovell discusses the impact state budget cuts will be having on the University as the new school year begins. Dr. Lovell also talks about the expanding focus of the Wisconsin Energy Research Consortium and how he plans to work with new UW-Madison Chancellor Rebecca Blank.</p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 15:01:38 +0000 Dave Edwards 12528 at http://wuwm.com UWM Chancellor Talks About the Wisconsin Energy Research Consortium UWM Chancellor Reflects on UWM System President Reilley's Tenure http://wuwm.com/post/uwm-chancellor-reflects-uwm-system-president-reilleys-tenure <p>On his fifth anniversary with UW-Milwaukee, Chancellor Mike Lovell reflects on his reasons for coming to Milwaukee as Dean of the College of Engineering and Applied Science and his accomplishments as Chancellor. Also, Lovell reflects on the tenure of outgoing UW System President Kevin Reilley.</p> Thu, 01 Aug 2013 18:30:00 +0000 Dave Edwards 9491 at http://wuwm.com UWM Chancellor Reflects on UWM System President Reilley's Tenure How the New State Budget Impacts UWM http://wuwm.com/post/how-new-state-budget-impacts-uwm <p>The new state budget includes a two year tuition freeze for the University of Wisconsin System, a 1% pay increase for employees, and gives the Governor the authority to sell state owned property. UW-Milwaukee Chancellor Mike Lovell discusses the impact on his campus. Also, the UW Board of Regents met in Milwaukee during June. Thu, 11 Jul 2013 21:09:27 +0000 Dave Edwards 7923 at http://wuwm.com How the New State Budget Impacts UWM