Ari Shapiro http://wuwm.com en The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, Remixed And Retweeted http://wuwm.com/post/israeli-palestinian-conflict-remixed-and-retweeted <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBY-0n4esNY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YZjxsloZ3HU</p> Sat, 19 Jul 2014 21:15:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 36417 at http://wuwm.com The Israeli-Palestinian Conflict, Remixed And Retweeted Israeli Forces Move Into Gaza, 'Terrorist Tunnels' In Cross Hairs http://wuwm.com/post/israeli-forces-move-gaza-terrorist-tunnels-cross-hairs NPR's Ari Shapiro reports on the latest news from the Gaza Strip, where Israel has undertaken a ground invasion against Hamas operatives. It's the first time in five years that the Israeli military has conducted a ground operation. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 20:40:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 36354 at http://wuwm.com Israel Intensifies Its Campaign Against Gaza http://wuwm.com/post/israel-intensifies-its-campaign-against-gaza Escalating its conflict with Hamas, Israel began shelling the Gaza Strip on Thursday — clearing the way for ground troops. Israel is targeting tunnels Hamas uses to attack its territory. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 09:31:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 36302 at http://wuwm.com On Two Sides, Two Funerals — While Death Toll Mounts In Gaza http://wuwm.com/post/two-sides-two-funerals-while-death-toll-mounts-gaza As the violence between Hamas and Israel continues, so too do the funerals that come in its wake. NPR correspondents Ari Shapiro and Emily Harris attended two such funerals today, in Tel Aviv and Gaza respectively, and they tell of what they learned there. Wed, 16 Jul 2014 20:19:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 36183 at http://wuwm.com A Brief Lull Shatters In Gaza, As Cease-Fire Falls Apart http://wuwm.com/post/brief-lull-shatters-gaza-cease-fire-falls-apart An attempt at a cease-fire between Israel and Hamas has broken down. Hamas rejected the terms of the cease-fire, and Israel renewed its campaign of air strikes on the Gaza Strip. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 20:21:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 36087 at http://wuwm.com Israeli-Gaza Conflict Squeezes Palestinian Leader On All Sides http://wuwm.com/post/israeli-gaza-conflict-squeezes-palestinian-leader-all-sides While the Israel-Gaza conflict pits Israelis against Palestinians, it has also increased stress within the Palestinian leadership.<p>The Gaza Strip is run by Hamas, which the U.S. considers a terrorist group and favors a strategy of resistance. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 07:40:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 36030 at http://wuwm.com Israeli-Gaza Conflict Squeezes Palestinian Leader On All Sides Between Hamas And Israel, What Might An Endgame Look Like? http://wuwm.com/post/between-hamas-and-israel-end-game-remains-unclear The last time Israel and Hamas fought each other was 2012. Back then, the conflict lasted eight days.<p>Tuesday marks the eighth day of the current conflict between Israel and Hamas, which raises the question: What might it take to bring this fight to a close?<p>Both Israel and Hamas say they are unwilling to sign on to a straightforward, put-down-your-weapons, bare-bones ceasefire. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 36017 at http://wuwm.com Between Hamas And Israel, What Might An Endgame Look Like? Fighting Between Israel And Gaza Spans 1 Week http://wuwm.com/post/fighting-between-israel-and-gaza-spans-1-week Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. I'm Steve Inskeep.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. The intense fighting between Israel and Hamas-controlled Gaza has now been going on for a week, and Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu says it may last for a long time to come. The international community is trying to broker a cease-fire, so far without success. NPR's Ari Shapiro joins us on the line from Jerusalem now. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 09:16:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 35952 at http://wuwm.com Among Israelis, Pressure Swells To Commence Ground War In Gaza http://wuwm.com/post/among-israelis-pressure-swells-commence-ground-war-gaza Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>As we mentioned, no Israelis have been killed by rocket fire, but one strike today did cause severe injuries and damage. Around 8:30 in the morning local time, a rocket struck a gas station in Ashdod. One man was sent to the hospital seriously wounded. NPR's Ari Shapiro reports this increases the internal pressure on Israel to stage a ground invasion.<p>ARI SHAPIRO, BYLINE: A taxi driver Avram Ayash, comes to this gas station every day. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 20:49:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 35818 at http://wuwm.com Israel's Rocket Defense System Performs Well During Gaza Escalation http://wuwm.com/post/israels-rocket-defense-system-performs-well-during-gaza-escalation Israel's military says its rocket defense system, known as Iron Dome, has kept the country safe from Hamas rockets. The missile shield system may have its critics, but Israelis are still proud. Fri, 11 Jul 2014 09:00:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 35770 at http://wuwm.com