Project Milwaukee: The Currency of Water http://wuwm.com en Why Do We Use Drinking Water to Flush Our Toilets? http://wuwm.com/post/why-do-we-use-drinking-water-flush-our-toilets <p><strong>The Johnson Foundation is taking a detailed look at how we can transform the nation's water infrastructure.</strong> Wed, 24 Jul 2013 16:52:31 +0000 Susan Bence & Stephanie Lecci 8980 at http://wuwm.com Why Do We Use Drinking Water to Flush Our Toilets? The Great Lakes WATER Institute's Role http://wuwm.com/post/great-lakes-water-institutes-role <p>Val Klump is a senior scientist and Director of the <a href="http://www4.uwm.edu/freshwater/" target="_blank">Great Lakes WATER Institute</a> at UW-Milwaukee. Rebecca Klaper is a Shaw Associate Scientist at the institute. They spoke with Mitch Teich as part of the Project Milwaukee series, "The Currency of Water." Fri, 11 Dec 2009 21:34:11 +0000 Mitch Teich 2326 at http://wuwm.com Marquette's New Water Law Curriculum http://wuwm.com/post/marquettes-new-water-law-curriculum <p>Matt Parlow is a law professor at <a href="http://law.marquette.edu/" target="_blank">Marquette University Law School</a>. Peter Rofes also teaches law there, and is Associate Dean for Academic Affairs. They spoke with Lake Effect's Mitch Teich in June. Fri, 11 Dec 2009 21:31:30 +0000 Mitch Teich 2324 at http://wuwm.com Israel's Water Plan http://wuwm.com/post/israels-water-plan <p>Eilon Adar is the director of the <a href="http://w3.bgu.ac.il/ziwr/intro.htm" target="_blank">Zuckerberg Institute for Water Research</a> at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev. He spoke with Stephanie Lecci from his home in Israel. Fri, 11 Dec 2009 21:29:06 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 2323 at http://wuwm.com Water Efforts Criticized as Misguided http://wuwm.com/post/water-efforts-criticized-misguided <p>All week, we’ve been reporting on local efforts to position Milwaukee as the world’s hub for water technology and research. We visited companies already here, and reported on incentives to grow the industry, such as tax breaks. But there’s been limited criticism. Today, we delve into a report that calls the initiative financially risky and unlikely to succeed. WUWM’s Erin Toner has today’s installment of Project Milwaukee: The Currency of Water. Fri, 11 Dec 2009 21:25:31 +0000 Erin Toner 2322 at http://wuwm.com Can We Engineer Our Way Out of the Water Crisis? http://wuwm.com/post/can-we-engineer-our-way-out-water-crisis <p><a href="http://rglennon.com/" target="_blank">Robert Glennon</a> is the Morris K. Udall Professor of Law and Public Policy at the University of Arizona, and author of the book <em>Unquenchable: America's Water Crisis and What to Do About It</em>, published by Island Press. He spoke with Mitch Teich as part of our "Project Milwaukee: The Currency of Water" series. Glennon was in Milwaukee this week to speak at a forum at Marquette University. Thu, 10 Dec 2009 21:21:56 +0000 Mitch Teich 2321 at http://wuwm.com Successful Industry Hubs Inspire Water Proponents http://wuwm.com/post/successful-industry-hubs-inspire-water-proponents <p>If you have an idea for conserving or cleaning water -- or even using it -- Milwaukee could one day be the place to develop your invention.<br><br>That's the dream. A coalition of community leaders is pushing the city to become a global hub for water research and technology.<br><br>But is it really possible for a region to make itself the headquarters of an industry? And is there competition? We seek answers to those questions, in today's installment of Project Milwaukee: The Currency of Water. WUWM's Ann-Elise Henzl reports. Thu, 10 Dec 2009 21:19:19 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 2319 at http://wuwm.com Successful Industry Hubs Inspire Water Proponents The Call for a Regional Approach to Water http://wuwm.com/post/call-regional-approach-water <p><a href="http://www.richardclongworth.com/" target="_blank">Richard Longworth</a> is a senior fellow at the<a href="http://www.thechicagocouncil.org/" target="_blank"> Chicago Council on Global Affairs</a> and Distinguished Visiting Scholar at DePaul University. He spoke with Bonnie North as part of our series, Project Milwaukee: The Currency of Water. You can also read the <a href="http://www.thechicagocouncil.org/UserFiles/File/Task%20Force%20Reports/02_09%20Global%20Midwest%20Policy%20Brief.pdf" target="_blank">policy brief</a> he authored calling for a Midwestern Marshall Plan. Wed, 09 Dec 2009 21:10:09 +0000 Bonnie North 2318 at http://wuwm.com Framing the Global Water Crisis http://wuwm.com/post/framing-global-water-crisis <p>Katherine Bliss is a senior fellow of the Global Health Policy Center at the <a href="http://csis.org/expert/katherine-bliss" target="_blank">Center for Strategic and International Studies</a> in Washington, DC. She spoke about global water and sanitation issues this fall at the Institute of World Affairs at UW-Milwaukee. You can find her report on US leadership on drinking water and sanitation <a href="http://csis.org/publication/enhancing-us-leadership-drinking-water-and-sanitation" target="_blank">here.</a> Wed, 09 Dec 2009 21:06:20 +0000 Mitch Teich 2317 at http://wuwm.com What's Needed to Move Forward With Water Hub http://wuwm.com/post/whats-needed-move-forward-water-hub <p>Our series Project Milwaukee: The Currency of Water continues this morning. We’re reporting on Milwaukee’s efforts to become a global hub for water research and technology. In the past few years, companies already in the water business here have been expanding. But as WUWM’s Marti Mikkelson reports, leaders are now working to kick the effort into high gear. The ultimate prize would be jobs and economic development, along with a good dose of prestige. Wed, 09 Dec 2009 21:02:21 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 2313 at http://wuwm.com What's Needed to Move Forward With Water Hub