Shankar Vedantam http://wuwm.com en When Work Becomes A Haven From Stress At Home http://wuwm.com/post/when-work-becomes-haven-stress-home In the land that came up with the phrase "Thank God it's Friday," and a restaurant chain to capitalize on the sense of relief many feel as the work week ends, researchers made an unusual finding in 2012.<p>Moms who worked full time reported significantly better physical and mental health than moms who worked part time, research involving more than 2,500 mothers found. And mothers who worked part time reported better health than moms who didn't work at all.<p>Working and juggling family responsibilities can be stressful. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 07:30:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 36033 at http://wuwm.com When Work Becomes A Haven From Stress At Home Some Parole Requirements Could Be Increasing The Crime Rate http://wuwm.com/post/some-parole-requirements-could-be-increasing-crime-rate Prisoners who are released invariably make it back to the areas where they came from. Does this have a positive or negative effect on crime? Research triggered by Hurricane Katrina offers insight. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 35493 at http://wuwm.com 20 Thoughts On Facebook's News Feed Experiment Apology http://wuwm.com/post/20-thoughts-facebooks-news-feed-experiment-apology <em>Facebook Chief Operating Officer Sheryl Sandberg </em><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/02/327797143/facebooks-sandberg-apologizes-for-newsfeed-experiment">has apologized</a><em> over an experiment that manipulated more than 600,000 users' news feeds in 2012. Are we upset at the findings of the study, or upset that the study was done without our consent? Wed, 02 Jul 2014 22:38:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 35162 at http://wuwm.com 20 Thoughts On Facebook's News Feed Experiment Apology Safety Feature For Pedestrians Has Undesired Consequence http://wuwm.com/post/safety-feature-pedestrians-has-undesired-consequence New analysis finds that the countdown clocks telling pedestrians how much time they have to cross the intersection actually increase traffic crashes. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 09:09:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 35004 at http://wuwm.com How To Sell Green Products To The Self-Regarding Consumer http://wuwm.com/post/how-sell-green-products-self-regarding-consumer Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>When consumers think about green products, they often face a dilemma - that car that uses less gasoline or a more efficient refrigerator tends to cost more. Buyers have to choose whether money is more important to them than public good. Now new research shows there might be a way to boost interest in these products, at least among a core group of consumers. NPR social science correspondent Shankar Vedantam is here to talk with us about that. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:10:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 34639 at http://wuwm.com 6 Decades Of Research Examines Prisoners Of War http://wuwm.com/post/6-decades-research-examines-prisoners-war Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>The Taliban's recent release of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl has prompted a firestorm of political debate. Bergdahl was captured by the Taliban after he wandered away from his unit in Afghanistan. Some have rushed to brand him a deserter and a traitor. Other,s including his friends and family, have rushed to his defense. Today we step away from that debate to look at what we've learned about the psychological effects of being captured in wartime. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 34203 at http://wuwm.com More Americans Than You Might Think Believe In Conspiracy Theories http://wuwm.com/post/more-americans-you-might-think-believe-conspiracy-theories Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>NPR's social science correspondent, Shankar Vedantam, drops by with juicy new research. He's here with us again. Shankar, what's on your mind?<p>SHANKAR VEDANTAM, BYLINE: I want to talk about conspiracy theories today, David. And this is everything from whether the U.S. government was secretly behind the 9/11 attacks to whether President Obama was actually born in the United States. What proportion of the U.S population would you say subscribes to one of these theories?<p>GREENE: Ten, 15 percent, maybe? Wed, 04 Jun 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 32985 at http://wuwm.com Research: Americans Less Fearful Of Storms With Female Names http://wuwm.com/post/research-americans-less-fearful-storms-female-names A new analysis suggests unconscious sexism causes people to take hurricanes with female names less seriously than hurricanes with male names. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 11:57:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 32906 at http://wuwm.com What's In A Grunt — Or A Sigh, Or A Sob? Depends On Where You Hear It http://wuwm.com/post/whats-grunt-or-sigh-or-sob-depends-where-you-hear-it Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR news this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Hear a laugh, you know someone's happy. Hear a sob, you know someone is sad. Or are they? It's been thought that no matter where you live in the world, people express emotions using the same repertoire of sounds. Fri, 30 May 2014 21:04:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 32702 at http://wuwm.com Research: Children Of Judges May Influence Court Decisions http://wuwm.com/post/research-children-judges-may-influence-court-decisions It's been suspected that judges are swayed by their personal beliefs and affiliations. An analysis found that judges become more likely to rule in "pro-feminist" ways if the judges have daughters. Wed, 28 May 2014 10:40:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 32460 at http://wuwm.com