Project Milwaukee: Wise Today, Well Tomorrow? http://wuwm.com en Wise Today, Well Tomorrow? Live Remote Broadcast http://wuwm.com/post/wise-today-well-tomorrow-live-remote-broadcast <p>WUWM's Project Milwaukee: Wise Today, Well Tomorrow? live remote broadcast was held on Wednesday, November 19th, 2008 at Cudahy's Irish Pub at The Pabst Theater.</p><p>WUWM invited listeners to the live broadcast of Project Milwaukee to watch live interviews about aging and wellness and meet the WUWM staff.</p><p>Morning host, Bob Bach anchored WUWM's local broadcast of NPR's Morning Edition and conducted interviews with two experts. And, WUWM's Lake Effect program was broadcast live.</p> Wed, 19 Nov 2008 17:33:56 +0000 Bob Bach 2498 at http://wuwm.com Wise Today, Well Tomorrow? Live Remote Broadcast Living Longer but Less Healthy http://wuwm.com/post/living-longer-less-healthy <p>Dr. Edith Burns is an associate professor of medicine at the <a href="http://www.mcw.edu/mcw/home.htm" target="_blank">Medical College of Wisconsin</a> in the Division of Geriatrics and Gerontology. She is also the Director of Ambulatory Geriatrics at the Zablocki Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Milwaukee, as well as the Program Director for the Medicine-Geriatrics Combined Residency Program in partnership with the Reynolds Foundation Initiatives in Geriatrics Education. Her research interests include immunology and aging. Wed, 19 Nov 2008 17:21:06 +0000 Mitch Teich 2497 at http://wuwm.com Researching the Internet to Research Wellness http://wuwm.com/post/researching-internet-research-wellness <p>Lori Kuban is an inspirational speaker, educator, and consultant. She is also a brain cancer survivor, which she was diagnosed with in December 2006. Kuban lives in Waukesha with her husband and two children. You can read her story here.<br> Wed, 19 Nov 2008 17:12:00 +0000 Mitch Teich 2495 at http://wuwm.com Training Doctors to Treat Older Patients http://wuwm.com/post/training-doctors-treat-older-patients <p>Dr. Edmund Duthie, Jr. is currently Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Division of Geriatrics/Gerontology at the <a href="http://www.mcw.edu/mcw/home.htm" target="_blank">Medical College of Wisconsin</a>. He also holds the position of Section Leader of Geriatric Medicine at the Zablocki Veterans Affairs Medical Center. Wed, 19 Nov 2008 17:10:09 +0000 Mitch Teich 2494 at http://wuwm.com At 80 or 90, Life is What You Make of It http://wuwm.com/post/80-or-90-life-what-you-make-it <p>Today, as part of our Project Milwaukee series on aging and wellness, we focus on the fastest growing segment of older adults in Milwaukee County – people in their 80s. For that population, life can be filled with financial and health challenges - or not. Many 80- and 90-year-olds are quite healthy and active. As WUWM’s Erin Toner heard from some octogenarians, life is what you make of it. Wed, 19 Nov 2008 17:00:37 +0000 Erin Toner 2487 at http://wuwm.com At 80 or 90, Life is What You Make of It County Looks to Expand Services for Older Adults http://wuwm.com/post/county-looks-expand-services-older-adults <p>The Director of the Milwaukee County Department on Aging, Stephanie Stein, says the community is a national leader in programs and services for older adults. Wed, 19 Nov 2008 16:59:04 +0000 Bob Bach 2486 at http://wuwm.com County Looks to Expand Services for Older Adults Jewish Family Services Reaches Out to Older Folks http://wuwm.com/post/jewish-family-services-reaches-out-older-folks <p>Loneliness can be one of the most troublesome aspects of aging. Gina Botshtein of Jewish Family Services says agency staff carefully screen those they serve to identify how well they're connecting with family and friends. Wed, 19 Nov 2008 16:56:02 +0000 Bob Bach 2484 at http://wuwm.com Jewish Family Services Reaches Out to Older Folks Rembering Not to Age http://wuwm.com/post/rembering-not-age <p>Anne Basting is the Director and Tom Fritsch is the Associate Director of the <a href="http://www.ageandcommunity.org/" target="_blank">Center on Age and the Community</a> at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. They talk with Mitch Teich about the different strategies to stave off cognitive decline and how there is now some optimism that the mental decline of old age need not be a rapid phenomenon.</p> Tue, 18 Nov 2008 16:52:05 +0000 Mitch Teich 2482 at http://wuwm.com Mel Miskimen on Aging Well http://wuwm.com/post/mel-miskimen-aging-well <p></p><p>Commentator Mel Miskimen is an award-winning writer, author, playwright, and a regular contributor to Lake Effect. She explores another angle to aging and being well.</p> Tue, 18 Nov 2008 16:50:08 +0000 Mel Miskimen 2481 at http://wuwm.com Being Wise in Your 20's http://wuwm.com/post/being-wise-your-20s <p></p><p>Dr. Julie Bonner is the executive director of the Norris Health Center at UW-Milwaukee and the campus health officer. She tells Lake Effect’s Stephanie Lecci that, unfortunately, she thinks that most young adults aren’t thinking about preparing themselves health-wise for when they get older.</p> Tue, 18 Nov 2008 16:48:06 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 2479 at http://wuwm.com