Erin Toner http://wuwm.com en Common Core Repeal Could Create 'Chaos' in Wisconsin http://wuwm.com/post/common-core-repeal-could-create-chaos-wisconsin <p></p><p>Gov. Walker jolted quite a few Wisconsin school districts last week when he <a href="http://wuwm.com/post/republican-senators-question-walkers-call-replace-common-core-standards" target="_blank">proposed scrapping Common Core standards</a> that have been in the works for years.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 36536 at http://wuwm.com Common Core Repeal Could Create 'Chaos' in Wisconsin Aldermen Demand More Attention to Milwaukee's Vacant Lot Problem http://wuwm.com/post/aldermen-demand-more-attention-milwaukees-vacant-lot-problem <p>Some members of the Milwaukee Common Council want the city to take a more aggressive approach to dealing with nearly 2,500 vacant lots.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 21:37:55 +0000 Erin Toner 36102 at http://wuwm.com Aldermen Demand More Attention to Milwaukee's Vacant Lot Problem Groups Launch Ideas Contest to Address Segregation in Milwaukee http://wuwm.com/post/groups-launch-ideas-contest-address-segregation-milwaukee <p>There's a new approach to deal with racial segregation in Milwaukee - <a href="http://greatertogether.me/" target="_blank">a contest</a>.</p><p> Tue, 15 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 36025 at http://wuwm.com Groups Launch Ideas Contest to Address Segregation in Milwaukee ACLU Warns of 'Militarization of Local Police' http://wuwm.com/post/aclu-warns-militarization-local-police <p></p><p>Police departments around the country, including here in Wisconsin, have been acquiring surplus military hardware, raising concerns from civil liberties groups.</p><p> Mon, 07 Jul 2014 13:48:42 +0000 Erin Toner 35108 at http://wuwm.com ACLU Warns of 'Militarization of Local Police' New Wisconsin Law Requires Work for Food Stamps http://wuwm.com/post/new-wisconsin-law-requires-work-food-stamps <p>Thousands of Wisconsin residents, who get what many call food stamps, will now have to work if they want to keep the benefit.</p><p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 34964 at http://wuwm.com New Wisconsin Law Requires Work for Food Stamps Superintendent Departs at Critical Time for Milwaukee Public Schools http://wuwm.com/post/superintendent-departs-critical-time-milwaukee-public-schools <p>After four years on the job, Monday is officially Gregory Thornton’s last day as superintendent of Milwaukee Public Schools.</p><p> Mon, 30 Jun 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 34569 at http://wuwm.com Superintendent Departs at Critical Time for Milwaukee Public Schools New MPS Leader Will Face Dire Financial Outlook http://wuwm.com/post/new-mps-leader-will-face-dire-financial-outlook <p></p><p>A new <a href="http://publicpolicyforum.org/sites/default/files/2014-15%20MPS%20Budget%20Brief.Final_.pdf" target="_blank">report </a>by the Public Policy Forum in Milwaukee details the district’s dire financial picture. Forum President Rob Henken says MPS faces flat revenues, but rising costs. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 34571 at http://wuwm.com New MPS Leader Will Face Dire Financial Outlook Area Veterans Sad, Angry Over Rising Insurgency in Iraq http://wuwm.com/post/area-veterans-sad-angry-over-rising-insurgency-iraq <p>Some Milwaukee-area veterans are watching with heavy hearts as sectarian violence spreads throughout Iraq. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 33979 at http://wuwm.com Area Veterans Sad, Angry Over Rising Insurgency in Iraq Milwaukee Pubs Prep For World Cup Mania http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-pubs-prep-world-cup-mania <p>Starting Thursday, soccer fans around the world will be glued to their flat screens and computers as the first match of the 2014 World Cup gets underway in Brazil. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 33515 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Pubs Prep For World Cup Mania Shootings Overshadow 'Ceasefire Week' Efforts in Milwaukee http://wuwm.com/post/shootings-overshadow-ceasefire-week-efforts-milwaukee <p>Milwaukee leaders hoped for peace last week when they called for an end to gun violence. Instead, crime escalated during the city’s so-called “Ceasefire Week.”</p><p> Tue, 20 May 2014 06:40:00 +0000 Erin Toner 31818 at http://wuwm.com Shootings Overshadow 'Ceasefire Week' Efforts in Milwaukee