Alix Spiegel http://wuwm.com en The Secret History Behind The Science Of Stress http://wuwm.com/post/secret-history-behind-science-stress The modern idea of stress began on a rooftop in Canada, with a handful of rats freezing in the winter wind.<p>This was 1936 and by that point the owner of the rats, an endocrinologist named Hans Selye, had become expert at making rats suffer for science.<p>"He would subject them to extreme temperatures, make them go hungry for long periods, or make them exercise a lot," the medical historian <a href="https://humanities.exeter.ac.uk/history/staff/jackson/">Mark Jackson </a>says. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 35462 at http://wuwm.com The Secret History Behind The Science Of Stress How A Woman's Plan To Kill Herself Helped Her Family Grieve http://wuwm.com/post/how-womans-plan-kill-herself-helped-her-family-grieve This story is in no way an endorsement of suicide. It's a description of one woman's choice and what came of it.<p>Five years ago, after doctors told her that she had Alzheimer's disease that would eventually steal her ability to read, write and recognize people, Sandy Bem decided to kill herself.<p>Sandy was 65 years old, an unsentimental woman and strong willed. For her, <em></em><em></em>a life without books and the ability to recognize the people she loved wasn't a life she wanted.<p>And so she decided there was only one thing to do. Mon, 23 Jun 2014 07:27:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 34362 at http://wuwm.com How A Woman's Plan To Kill Herself Helped Her Family Grieve Mind Over Milkshake: How Your Thoughts Fool Your Stomach http://wuwm.com/post/mind-over-milkshake-how-your-thoughts-fool-your-stomach <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pIfhxt0JCok</p> Mon, 14 Apr 2014 07:22:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 29103 at http://wuwm.com Mind Over Milkshake: How Your Thoughts Fool Your Stomach Play It Again And Again, Sam http://wuwm.com/post/play-it-again-and-again-sam <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EH45A6ek45s</p> Mon, 07 Apr 2014 22:22:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 28649 at http://wuwm.com Play It Again And Again, Sam So You Think You're Smarter Than A CIA Agent http://wuwm.com/post/so-you-think-youre-smarter-cia-agent The morning I met Elaine Rich, she was sitting at the kitchen table of her small town home in suburban Maryland trying to estimate refugee flows in Syria.<p>It wasn't the only question she was considering; there were others:<p>Will North Korea launch a new multistage missile before May 10, 2014?<p>Will Russian armed forces enter Kharkiv, Ukraine, by May 10? Rich's answers to these questions would eventually be evaluated by the intelligence community, but she didn't feel much pressure because this wasn't her full-time gig.<p>"I'm just a pharmacist," she said. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 07:55:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 28233 at http://wuwm.com So You Think You're Smarter Than A CIA Agent Good Art Is Popular Because It's Good. Right? http://wuwm.com/post/good-art-popular-because-its-good-right In July of last year, a man named Sidney Sealine went to see the Mona Lisa in Paris.<p>The idea was to spend some time with the picture, see for himself the special spark that made the painting so famous.<p>But Sealine couldn't even get close.<p>In <a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvK8t6DMYlM" target="_blank">his video of the visit</a>, you see people of every race and nationality crowded around the barricades that separate them from the painting. Thu, 27 Feb 2014 08:28:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 25671 at http://wuwm.com Good Art Is Popular Because It's Good. Right? When Memories Never Fade, The Past Can Poison The Present http://wuwm.com/post/when-memories-never-fade-past-can-poison-present On Feb. 21, Alexandra Wolff ate steak, mashed potatoes and broccoli for dinner. Later that night, sitting in her room, she spent 20 minutes scanning pictures in <em>InStyle</em> magazine.<p>She remembers those things, just as she remembers that on Aug. 2 she stopped at Target and bought Raisin Bran; and on April 17 she wore a white button-down shirt; and on Oct. Fri, 27 Dec 2013 21:21:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 21123 at http://wuwm.com When Memories Never Fade, The Past Can Poison The Present Why Eastern And Western Cultures Tackle Learning Differently http://wuwm.com/post/why-eastern-and-western-cultures-tackle-learning-differently For the most part in American culture, intellectual struggle in school children is seen as an indicator of weakness, while in Eastern cultures it is not only tolerated, it is often used to measure emotional strength. (This piece initially aired on Nov. 12, 2012 on Morning Edition.) Mon, 02 Sep 2013 08:51:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 12165 at http://wuwm.com If Your Shrink Is A Bot, How Do You Respond? http://wuwm.com/post/if-your-shrink-bot-how-do-you-respond <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ejczMs6b1Q4</p> Mon, 20 May 2013 07:04:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 3637 at http://wuwm.com If Your Shrink Is A Bot, How Do You Respond? Big Sibling's Big Influence: Some Behaviors Run In The Family http://wuwm.com/post/big-siblings-big-influence-some-behaviors-run-family Patricia East is a developmental psychologist who began her career working at an OB-GYN clinic in California. Mon, 29 Apr 2013 20:26:00 +0000 Alix Spiegel 1686 at http://wuwm.com Big Sibling's Big Influence: Some Behaviors Run In The Family