Sean Carberry http://wuwm.com en Kerry Brokers Deal To End Afghan Election Crisis http://wuwm.com/post/kerry-brokers-deal-end-afghan-election-crisis Secretary of State John Kerry has helped the candidates in Afghanistan's contested election work out a formula to resolve their dispute over the runoff election results. All votes will be audited. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 13:52:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 35913 at http://wuwm.com Afghan Civilians Suffer During Violent Year http://wuwm.com/post/afghan-civilians-suffer-during-violent-year There is renewed fighting in Kandahar as the outcome of the Afghan presidential election remains uncertain. And a new U.N. report says civilian casualties are up significantly from a year ago. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 35571 at http://wuwm.com Early Vote Tallies Speed The Sparring Between Afghan Candidates http://wuwm.com/post/early-vote-tallies-speed-sparring-between-afghan-candidates Preliminary voting tallies in the Afghan presidential election, released Monday, did little to ease a brewing political crisis. The losing candidate continued to claim fraud, declaring himself the winner instead. Meanwhile, the U.S. is warning of a power grab. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 35542 at http://wuwm.com Afghan Election Numbers Come With A Warning: Results Not Final http://wuwm.com/post/afghan-election-numbers-come-warning-results-not-final Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel. Today, Afghans are one step closer to knowing who their next president will be. More than three weeks after voters went to the polls, election officials announced that candidate Ashraf Ghani has a wide lead. But Ghani is not out of the woods yet. The election process now enters an appeals phase that is sure to be contentious before the final results are announced on July 24. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 20:53:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 35471 at http://wuwm.com Preliminary Results Show Ghani Winning Afghan Presidency http://wuwm.com/post/preliminary-results-show-ghani-winning-afghan-presidency Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>Preliminary results are out for the run-off in Afghanistan's presidential elections. And the winner seems to be former World Bank economist Ashraf Ghani. His opponent, Abdullah Abdullah, was considered the front-runner after winning 45 percent of the vote in the first round back in April. Now Ashraf Ghani appears to be winning with almost a million more votes than Abdullah. NPR's Sean Carberry joins us from Kabul. Good morning.<p>SEAN CARBERRY, BYLINE: Hi, Renee.<p>MONTAGNE: Hi. And there's a little bit of a delay here. Mon, 07 Jul 2014 16:17:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 35437 at http://wuwm.com Last-Minute Audits Build Little Confidence In Afghan Elections http://wuwm.com/post/karzai-calls-un-mediation-afghan-election-dispute The election impasse continues in Afghanistan. Preliminary results are due on Monday, following an audit of ballots, but Abdullah Abdullah, who is trailing his rival, says he won't accept the results. Sun, 06 Jul 2014 11:55:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 35372 at http://wuwm.com Afghanistan's Slow-Motion Election Strains A Fragile Country http://wuwm.com/post/afghanistans-slow-motion-election-strains-fragile-country The 2000 U.S. presidential election between George Bush and Al Gore went down to the wire, involved close scrutiny of the ballots and took weeks to sort out. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 07:39:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 35076 at http://wuwm.com Afghanistan's Slow-Motion Election Strains A Fragile Country U.N. Official Calls For Calm In Afghanistan After Claims Of Election Fraud http://wuwm.com/post/un-official-calls-calm-afghanistan-after-claims-election-fraud Transcript <p>ARUN RATH, HOST: <p>In Afghanistan today, supporters of presidential candidate, Abdullah Abdullah, held what they called a national day of protest. They came out to echo Abdullah's charges that last Saturday's presidential run-off vote was rigged against him. Abdullah has since declared that Afghanistan's two electoral commissions are illegitimate and that he will not respect the results that are due early next month. Sat, 21 Jun 2014 21:36:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 34310 at http://wuwm.com Before Votes Are Fully Counted, Fraud Claims Roil Afghan Election http://wuwm.com/post/votes-are-fully-counted-fraud-claims-roil-afghan-election It was not long before the legitimacy of Afghanistan's presidential election was called into question. Within hours of polls' close, candidate Abdullah Abdullah claimed the vote was rigged in favor of his opponent, Ashraf Ghani. Abdullah has suspended his cooperation with elections commissions and called for a halt to vote counting. His claims of fraud — engineered by former President Hamid Karzai, he says — set the stage for an impending political crisis. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 19 Jun 2014 20:12:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 34160 at http://wuwm.com Afghan Voters Defy Taliban Threat; Vote In Presidential Runoff http://wuwm.com/post/afghan-voters-defy-taliban-threat-vote-presidential-runoff Afghans went to the polls on Saturday to vote for a successor to Hamid Karzai who's ruled since 2001. Former foreign minister Adbullah Abdullah faced off against former finance minister Ashraf Ghani. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 10:52:00 +0000 Sean Carberry 33851 at http://wuwm.com