Anya Kamenetz http://wuwm.com en Teacher Tenure Lawsuits Spread From California To New York http://wuwm.com/post/teacher-tenure-challenge-spreads-california-new-york Why are so many low-income and minority kids getting second-class educations in the U.S.?<p>That question is at the center of the heated debate about teacher tenure. Mon, 28 Jul 2014 20:11:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 37052 at http://wuwm.com Teacher Tenure Lawsuits Spread From California To New York Charter Schools, Money And Test Scores http://wuwm.com/post/charters-money-and-test-scores The University of Arkansas <a href="http://www.uaedreform.org/">today released</a> what it calls a "first ever" study exploring the relationship between charter school funding and student achievement. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 19:38:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 36592 at http://wuwm.com Charter Schools, Money And Test Scores The Collapse Of Corinthian Colleges http://wuwm.com/post/collapse-corinthian-colleges <em><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/ed/2014/07/16/331700270/students-react-to-the-closure-of-a-giant-for-profit-college">Read our follow-up version.</a> Tue, 08 Jul 2014 11:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 35501 at http://wuwm.com The Return Of The One-Room Schoolhouse http://wuwm.com/post/return-one-room-schoolhouse Even if your grandpa didn't walk uphill to school both ways, or have to break the ice on the bucket before fetching a drink with the dipper, you probably have iconic images in your mind of the one-room schoolhouse. It's a storied piece of America's past dating back to the Colonial era.<p>But in most of America, the idea of students of all ages learning in a single classroom, with a single teacher, has long been as dated as the donkey cart. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 14:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 35103 at http://wuwm.com The Return Of The One-Room Schoolhouse Asking Kids With Special Needs To Clear The Same Bar http://wuwm.com/post/asking-kids-special-needs-clear-same-bar Jackson Ellis will soon head to fourth grade. Diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder, he's been receiving publicly funded services since he was 15 months old. Jackson's mother, Rebecca Ellis, a single parent, has made education advocacy her career. She's fighting to make sure her son gets the help he needs at his Mandeville, Louisiana public school. That's always been an uphill battle. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 11:23:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 35016 at http://wuwm.com Chasing The Elusive 'Quality' In Online Education http://wuwm.com/post/chasing-elusive-quality-online-education Jeff Hellmer is an accomplished jazz pianist who has taught music at the University of Texas at Austin for 27 years. He thinks of himself as more than a teacher, though: "What I would like to do with my teaching is be an ambassador for jazz."<p>This past spring, in what's become an increasingly common move, he brought his ambassadorship to a wider audience. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 15:00:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 34758 at http://wuwm.com Chasing The Elusive 'Quality' In Online Education As College Tuition Soars, What Puts That Price Tag In Motion? http://wuwm.com/post/college-tuition-soars-what-puts-price-tag-motion Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>We wanted to figure out why college costs have been rising so much, and Anya Kamenetz with the NPR Ed team joins me now to break down the numbers.<p>Anya, why don't we take the example of a working-class student at a four-year public university getting no help from mom and dad? What do the numbers look like?<p>ANYA KAMENETZ, BYLINE: Yeah, so we often hear, you know, in my day, I worked my way through college, why can't you? Mon, 09 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 33364 at http://wuwm.com Mass Collection Of Student Data Raises Privacy Concerns http://wuwm.com/post/mass-collection-student-data-raises-privacy-concerns States are centralizing record-keeping and tracking student progress, while online educational software sheds light on how students learn. But many worry about how this information could be misused. Mon, 26 May 2014 20:59:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 32335 at http://wuwm.com Why Education Is The Most Important Revolution Of Our Time http://wuwm.com/post/why-education-most-important-revolution-our-time Learning is something people, like other animals, do whenever our eyes are open. Education, though, is uniquely human, and right now it's at an unusual point of flux.<p>By some accounts, education is a <a href="http://www.edudemic.com/whoa-education-is-a-7-trillion-dollar-industry/">$7 trillion global industry</a> ripe for disruption. Others see it as almost a sacred pursuit — a means of nurturing developing minds while preserving tradition. Around the world, education means equal rights and opportunity. Mon, 19 May 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 31759 at http://wuwm.com Why Education Is The Most Important Revolution Of Our Time What We Learned From The Best Commencement Speeches Ever http://wuwm.com/post/what-we-learned-best-commencement-speeches-ever Something funny has happened to the familiar commencement address in the past 10 years. That something is YouTube. <a href="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UF8uR6Z6KLc">Steve Jobs' 2005 address at Stanford</a>, to take just one example, has been viewed upwards of 20 million times.<p>We are now in a golden age of the commencement speech as a hilarious, inspiring form of popular art. Mon, 19 May 2014 10:03:00 +0000 Anya Kamenetz 31760 at http://wuwm.com What We Learned From The Best Commencement Speeches Ever