Project Milwaukee: Power Switch http://wuwm.com en Panelists Weigh in on Wisconsin's Green Energy Future - Will It Exist? http://wuwm.com/post/panelists-weigh-wisconsins-green-energy-future-will-it-exist <p>All week we’ve been airing a special series, <a href="http://wuwm.com/topic/project-milwaukee-power-switch" target="_blank">Project Milwaukee: Power Switch</a>, which has been exploring the promise and reality of green energy in Wisconsin. Fri, 14 Jun 2013 17:49:48 +0000 Mitch Teich 5804 at http://wuwm.com Panelists Weigh in on Wisconsin's Green Energy Future - Will It Exist? Homeowners Plunge into Green Living http://wuwm.com/post/homeowners-plunge-green-living <p>Homeowners have asked how they can reduce their carbon footprint. So we visited a few people who’ve taken a deep give into green living, and they shared their experiences.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 14 Jun 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Marge Pitrof 5722 at http://wuwm.com Homeowners Plunge into Green Living The Ups and Downs of the Ethanol Industry http://wuwm.com/post/ups-and-downs-ethanol-industry <p>A few years back, some people in Wisconsin banked big time on corn. Fri, 14 Jun 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 5731 at http://wuwm.com The Ups and Downs of the Ethanol Industry Designer: Green Building the Way of the Future http://wuwm.com/post/designer-green-building-way-future <p><strong>Green building is picking up energy.</strong></p><p> Fri, 14 Jun 2013 00:17:05 +0000 Dan Harmon, Stephanie Lecci & Gaby Magallanes 5728 at http://wuwm.com Designer: Green Building the Way of the Future Dominican Nuns Work to Inspire Sustainable Living http://wuwm.com/post/dominican-nuns-work-inspire-sustainable-living <p></p><p>Sister Janet Weyker has more than a peripheral interest in renewable energy. The Racine Dominican nun runs a facility dedicated to “eco-justice”. Thu, 13 Jun 2013 16:32:56 +0000 Susan Bence 5673 at http://wuwm.com Dominican Nuns Work to Inspire Sustainable Living Forces Shaping The Green Energy Debate http://wuwm.com/post/forces-shaping-green-energy-debate <p>Wisconsin has been a leader in some aspects of the green energy movement.</p><p> Thu, 13 Jun 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 5621 at http://wuwm.com Forces Shaping The Green Energy Debate Musician Sings the Blues Over Wind Farms http://wuwm.com/post/musician-sings-blues-over-wind-farms <p><a href="http://www.reverbnation.com/jamielynnfletcher" target="_blank">Jamie Lynn Fletcher</a>'s voice is&nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">perhaps an unlikely addition to our Project Milwaukee series on clean energy.</span></p><p> Wed, 12 Jun 2013 17:59:21 +0000 Mitch Teich & Susan Bence 5600 at http://wuwm.com Musician Sings the Blues Over Wind Farms Wisconsin Researchers Try to Clear a Solar Hurdle http://wuwm.com/post/wisconsin-researchers-try-clear-solar-hurdle <p>As we’ve heard on our Project Milwaukee series this week, Wisconsin utilities are required to generate 10 percent of their electrical power by renewable sources – such biomass, wind – and solar. &nbsp;<span style="line-height: 1.5;">That last source has been harnessed for decades.&nbsp; But only recently have its costs come down enough to make wider-spread use more appealing.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Wed, 12 Jun 2013 16:39:36 +0000 Bonnie North 5590 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Home to Green Energy Producers http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-home-green-energy-producers <p>According to a national study, the solar and wind industries account for 12,000 jobs in Wisconsin, including hundreds in Milwaukee. Wed, 12 Jun 2013 16:13:17 +0000 Bob Bach 5586 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Home to Green Energy Producers Researcher: Eliminating Nuclear Power Won't Clean Wisconsin's Energy Use http://wuwm.com/post/researcher-eliminating-nuclear-power-wont-clean-wisconsins-energy-use <p style="margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt">The Doomsday Clock measures the likelihood the world will end from nuclear war, global warming or biosecurity problems. So, it might be ironic that many<span class="apple-converted-space">&nbsp;</span><i>climate scientists</i><span class="apple-converted-space">&nbsp;</span>think a key to protecting the planet … is<span class="apple-converted-space">&nbsp;</span><i>nuclear</i><span class="apple-converted-space">&nbsp;</span>energy. It’s a dichotomy that is getting a hard look from at least one Wisconsin researcher.<span style="font-size: 13.5pt;"><o:p></o:p></span></p><p style="margin:0in;margin-bottom:.0001pt"> Wed, 12 Jun 2013 16:00:18 +0000 Amy Kiley 5584 at http://wuwm.com Researcher: Eliminating Nuclear Power Won't Clean Wisconsin's Energy Use