Tom Goldman http://wuwm.com en Late-Game Goal Gives Germany World Cup Win Over Argentina http://wuwm.com/post/late-game-goal-gives-germany-world-cup-win-over-argentina Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>That's the sound of celebration on a Berlin street last night after Germany celebrated its 1-0 win over Argentina. The World Cup final yesterday in Brazil was bloody, physical, a defensive struggle. And as the game was played, there was political violence outside the stadium. We'll hear about that in a moment. But let's talk about the game first with NPR's Tom Goldman. Hi, Tom.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: Hello, Steve.<p>INSKEEP: So based on the emptiness of the streets in many cities, a lot of people were watching the game yesterday. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 35949 at http://wuwm.com Can Brazil Regain Soccer Glory With Beauty Over Brawn? http://wuwm.com/post/can-brazil-regain-soccer-glory-beauty-over-brawn Copacabana Beach is supposed to be fun, but it wasn't Saturday night, after the Netherlands beat Brazil 3-0 in the World Cup third-place game.<p>That loss came on the heels of the 7-1 drubbing by Germany earlier in the week. It's the first time since 1940 that Brazil has lost consecutive home games, prompting calls for change in a country long associated with soccer splendor.<p>Sunday's championship match pits Germany against Argentina in Rio de Janeiro. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 12:22:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 35900 at http://wuwm.com Can Brazil Regain Soccer Glory With Beauty Over Brawn? Brazil Wakes Up To Find Tuesday's Nightmare Was Not A Dream http://wuwm.com/post/brazil-wakes-find-tuesdays-nightmare-was-not-dream Host country Brazil was eliminated from the World Cup in epic fashion: Germany defeated Brazil 7-1 during the semifinal match. Brazilians are wondering how their beloved team could be so pulverized. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 35570 at http://wuwm.com Brazil Faces Germany Without 2 Of Its Best Players http://wuwm.com/post/brazil-faces-germany-without-2-its-best-players Star player Neymar is out with a back injury. The team will also be without star defender Thiago Silva, who was penalized earlier in the tournament. So how does the host team go on against Germany? Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 35491 at http://wuwm.com Down Two Key Players, Brazilians Worry About World Cup Prospects http://wuwm.com/post/down-two-key-players-brazilians-worry-about-world-cup-prospects Transcript <p>KELLY MCEVERS, HOST: <p>Hey, thanks for sticking with us on ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. Brazilians should be celebrating today after beating Colombia 2-1 yesterday in the World Cup quarterfinals. But instead, it is not looking good. Brazil's best player - 22-year-old striker Neymar - was injured during that game - is now out for a month with a broken bone in his back. That leaves Brazilians wondering if the end of Neymar's brilliant run in the tournament also means the end of the host country's World Cup dreams. Sat, 05 Jul 2014 21:14:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 35353 at http://wuwm.com Continental Rivals Take Spotlight In World Cup Quarters http://wuwm.com/post/continental-rivals-take-spotlight-world-cup-quarters Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>In Brazil, tears of joy and relief as the World Cup home team won its quarterfinal against Colombia.<p>(CHEERING)<p>SIEGEL: Brazil beat Colombia 2-1 in a hard-fought game between the two South American neighbors, but as we'll hear, it was a costly victory. An earlier game today - Germany defeated France 1-nothing to move on to the World Cup final four. NPR's Tom Goldman is in Rio de Janeiro, and he joins us now. And, Tom, first of all, Brazil won. But in a way, it also lost. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 35311 at http://wuwm.com Belgium Ends U.S. Team's World Cup Hopes http://wuwm.com/post/belgium-ends-us-teams-world-cup-hopes The U.S. men's soccer team is out of the World Cup. For 90 minutes, the score was tied at 0-0, but the team lost in extra time to Belgium on Tuesday, 2-1. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 09:05:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 35083 at http://wuwm.com U.S. Plays Belgium In World Cup's Knockout Stage http://wuwm.com/post/us-plays-belgium-world-cups-knockout-stage Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>It's MORNING EDITION from NPR News. Good morning. I'm David Greene.<p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>And I'm Renee Montagne. It's all on the line today for the U.S. Men's National Soccer Team at the World Cup in Brazil. The U.S. plays Belgium in the knockout stage of the tournament. Lose this one and America's World Cup is all over. But yesterday, some good news - a goal-scoring teammate the U.S. team has been missing nearly the entire term, maybe coming back. From Salvador, Brazil, NPR's Tom Goldman has the story.<p>(SHOUTING)<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: The U.S. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 35007 at http://wuwm.com Brazil Narrowly Dodges A World Cup Knockout http://wuwm.com/post/brazil-narrowly-dodges-world-cup-knockout Transcript <p>DON GONYEA, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Don Gonyea. Brazil has lived to play another day at the World Cup - barely. The host country was taken to the absolute limit yesterday before prevailing on penalty kicks against Chile.<p>It was the first game of the tournament's knockout stage. NPR's Tom Goldman reports on how the Brazilians almost got drummed out.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: They didn't play very well for one thing - certainly not to a level that matches the enormous expectations in this country. Sun, 29 Jun 2014 15:45:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 34887 at http://wuwm.com Despite Losing To Germany, U.S. Advances In World Cup http://wuwm.com/post/despite-losing-germany-us-advances-world-cup The U.S. men's soccer team moves on to the World Cup's round of 16. They lost to Germany, but advance because Portugal beat Ghana. The team will get to rest a bit before playing Belgium on Tuesday. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 09:35:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 34734 at http://wuwm.com