Avrum D. Lank http://wuwm.com en ESSAY: Unpacking Sen. Ron Johnson's Comments and Lawsuit over 'Obamacare' http://wuwm.com/post/essay-unpacking-sen-ron-johnsons-comments-and-lawsuit-over-obamacare <p>When U.S. Senator Ron Johnson announced he was suing the federal government over the Affordable Care Act, a lot was made over the difference of opinion within Republican circles over the suit.&nbsp; Mon, 20 Jan 2014 23:22:51 +0000 Avrum D. Lank 22837 at http://wuwm.com ESSAY: Consider That Not Everyone Celebrates Christmas http://wuwm.com/post/essay-consider-not-everyone-celebrates-christmas <p>I once worked at a social service agency filled with people who truly cared about humanity and toiled diligently for small pay to understand and help everyone. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 18:41:12 +0000 Avrum D. Lank 20569 at http://wuwm.com ESSAY: Consider That Not Everyone Celebrates Christmas Essay: Influential Milwaukeean Mitchell Fromstein, 85, Fought Manpower's Takeover http://wuwm.com/post/essay-influential-milwaukeean-mitchell-fromstein-85-fought-manpowers-takeover <p></p><p><a href="http://www.manpowergroup.com/wps/wcm/connect/manpowergroup-en/home/newsroom/news-releases/manpowergroup+chairman+emeritus+mitchell+fromstein+passes+away+at+age+85#.Uo5oXOLgc9s" target="_blank">Mitchell Fromstein</a> died recently at the age of 85. History’s currents are broader than the life of a single individual, but Fromstein’s life certainly captured an era in Milwaukee. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 20:14:28 +0000 Avrum D. Lank 18491 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Influential Milwaukeean Mitchell Fromstein, 85, Fought Manpower's Takeover Essay: The Bottom Line of Treating Government as a Business http://wuwm.com/post/essay-bottom-line-treating-government-business <p>Ever since the Reagan administration, there have been increasing demands that government be run like a business. Mon, 04 Nov 2013 17:11:16 +0000 Avrum D. Lank 16961 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Why Amazon Will Now Collect Wisconsin Sales Tax http://wuwm.com/post/essay-why-amazon-will-now-collect-wisconsin-sales-tax <p></p><p><em>The news hit late last week that a new stream of sales tax revenue will soon be coming to the Badger State.&nbsp; Lake Effect essayist Avi Lank tries to put the development in perspective.</em> Wed, 16 Oct 2013 22:20:46 +0000 Avrum D. Lank 15722 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Why Amazon Will Now Collect Wisconsin Sales Tax Essay: Anticipating New Year's...Already http://wuwm.com/post/essay-anticipating-new-yearsalready <p>School has just started, and already some of our listeners are looking ahead to New Year’s.&nbsp; Lake Effect essayist Avi Lank is one such person.</p><p>Lank was an award-winning reporter and columnist at the Milwaukee&nbsp;Sentinel&nbsp;and&nbsp;Journal Sentinel&nbsp;for more than 35 years. He lives in in Whitefish Bay and his freelance work has appeared in&nbsp;Milwaukee Magazine&nbsp;and&nbsp;Corporate Report Wisconsin&nbsp;magazine, among other places.</p><p></p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 20:46:54 +0000 Avrum D. Lank 12346 at http://wuwm.com Essay: State Should Embrace Singer-Protestors http://wuwm.com/post/essay-state-should-embrace-singer-protestors <p><em>Recently in Madison, singing protestors have been making themselves heard in the State Capitol building, and that has Lake Effect essayist Avi Lank thinking.</em> Wed, 28 Aug 2013 16:28:10 +0000 Avrum D. Lank 11817 at http://wuwm.com Essay: State Should Embrace Singer-Protestors Essay: Wisconsin at Tax Disadvantage Over Gay Marriage Laws http://wuwm.com/post/essay-wisconsin-tax-disadvantage-over-gay-marriage-laws <p><em>The US Supreme Court’s recent ruling on DOMA will have many far-reaching effects on our society. Essayist Avi Lank says not the least of those will be economic.</em> Fri, 26 Jul 2013 05:00:00 +0000 Avrum D. Lank 9477 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Wisconsin at Tax Disadvantage Over Gay Marriage Laws Essay: Independent of Independence Day Sales http://wuwm.com/post/essay-independent-independence-day-sales <p>We're just two short days away from July 4th - which means, Independence Day fireworks, cookouts, and big sales at retailers. &nbsp;Lake Effect essayist Avi Lank may partake in the first two traditions, but as for the third - count him out. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 23:32:13 +0000 Avrum D. Lank 7199 at http://wuwm.com