Karen Grigsby Bates http://wuwm.com en Why Did Black Voters Flee The Republican Party In The 1960s? http://wuwm.com/post/why-did-black-voters-flee-republican-party-1960s If you'd walked into a gathering of older black folks 100 years ago, you'd have found that most of them would have been Republican.<p>Wait... what?<p>Yep. Republican. Party of Lincoln. Party of the Emancipation. Party that pushed not only black votes but black politicians during that post-bellum period known as Reconstruction.<p>Today, it's almost the exact opposite. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 10:36:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 35957 at http://wuwm.com Why Did Black Voters Flee The Republican Party In The 1960s? The Late Walter Dean Myers Wrote In The Language Of Teens http://wuwm.com/post/late-walter-dean-myers-wrote-language-teens <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QtlkXnf3-vY</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 35206 at http://wuwm.com The Late Walter Dean Myers Wrote In The Language Of Teens Condiment Detente: Sriracha Plant To Stay In California City http://wuwm.com/post/condiment-detente-sriracha-plant-stay-california-city The Sriracha-slurping public no longer has to worry about hoarding bottles and bottles of the spicy stuff: There will be hot sauce tomorrow and for the foreseeable future. Sriracha will continue to be made in the state-of-the-art plant David Tran built in Irwindale, Calif. Thu, 29 May 2014 22:47:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 32628 at http://wuwm.com Condiment Detente: Sriracha Plant To Stay In California City The Life Of Poet Maya Angelou, From Poverty To Presidential Prizes http://wuwm.com/post/life-poet-maya-angelou-poverty-presidential-prizes Poet, performer and political activist Maya Angelou has died after a long illness at her home in Winston-Salem, N.C. She was 86. Wed, 28 May 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 32506 at http://wuwm.com Nostalgia For What's Been Lost Since 'Brown V. Board' http://wuwm.com/post/nostalgia-whats-been-lost-brown-v-board <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xY4aOHTjGTM</p> Sat, 17 May 2014 09:46:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 31654 at http://wuwm.com Nostalgia For What's Been Lost Since 'Brown V. Board' Sriracha-Maker Says Factory Will Remain In California http://wuwm.com/post/sriracha-maker-says-factory-will-remain-california Sriracha hot sauce-maker Huy Fong Foods has been tussling with the City Council of Irwindale, Calif., near Los Angeles for months now over whether the factory's spicy smells harm its neighbors. There have been legal action and suggested fixes, but also pleas from other cities for the company to consider moving there.<p>David Tran, the CEO of Huy Fong, says he escaped from Vietnam almost 35 years ago to be free of the communist government there and its many intrusions.<p>"Today, I feel almost the same. Mon, 12 May 2014 07:46:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 31212 at http://wuwm.com Sriracha-Maker Says Factory Will Remain In California After 6 Decades As A Staple, 'Jet' Magazine Ends Print Run http://wuwm.com/post/after-six-decades-staple-jet-mag-ends-its-print-run Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. An era in magazine history is closing. Chicago-based Johnson Publishing Co., or JPC, says "Jet" magazine is going digital. Some 700,000 subscribers will no longer see a print edition. It's with the exception of one special print issue a year. Wed, 07 May 2014 20:29:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 30898 at http://wuwm.com Jessica Cleaves: A Silky, Soulful — And Funky — Voice Goes Silent http://wuwm.com/post/jessica-cleaves-silky-soulful-and-funky-voice-goes-silent <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mm4FWnjuXOc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3acl-aSHaIA</p> Tue, 06 May 2014 00:23:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 30751 at http://wuwm.com Jessica Cleaves: A Silky, Soulful — And Funky — Voice Goes Silent Why Would The NAACP Honor Donald Sterling Anyway? http://wuwm.com/post/naacps-less-sterling-intentions <em>Update: The NAACP issued a <a href="http://www.naacp.org/press/entry/naacp-statement-resignation-of-los-angeles-president-jenkins">press release</a> on Thursday advising that Leon Jenkins has resigned his post as president of the Los Angeles chapter. The national organization said it is "developing guidelines for its branches to help them in their award selection process."</em><p>"The Los Angeles NAACP intention to honor Mr. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 20:24:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 30294 at http://wuwm.com Why Would The NAACP Honor Donald Sterling Anyway? PBS Documentary Examines Ruben Salazar's Life And Death http://wuwm.com/post/pbs-documentary-examines-ruben-salazars-life-and-death Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>A new documentary explores the life and death of Ruben Salazar. He was a journalist. He's considered one of the founders of the modern Chicano movement and by many a martyr. He was killed in 1970 while covering an anti-war demonstration in East Los Angeles. He was shot with a tear gas canister. Tue, 29 Apr 2014 09:17:00 +0000 Karen Grigsby Bates 30240 at http://wuwm.com