religion http://wuwm.com en ESSAY: Wauwatosa Man Learns Silent Lessons from Trappist Monks http://wuwm.com/post/essay-wauwatosa-man-learns-silent-lessons-trappist-monks <p></p><p><em>Essayist and poet Richard Hedderman may live in Wauwatosa, but every year he travels to a spiritual retreat at a Trappist Monastery. He reads his piece, "The Longitudes of Silence":</em> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 23:29:14 +0000 Richard Hedderman 21831 at http://wuwm.com ESSAY: Wauwatosa Man Learns Silent Lessons from Trappist Monks Finding the Connection Between Art, Faith http://wuwm.com/post/finding-connection-between-art-faith <p>From paintings to music and beyond, faith has inspired artists for as long as art and religion have been around. Tue, 08 Oct 2013 19:42:07 +0000 Mitch Teich & Stephanie Lecci 14966 at http://wuwm.com Finding the Connection Between Art, Faith Multilingual Mass the New Norm for Some Milwaukee Catholics http://wuwm.com/post/multilingual-mass-new-norm-some-milwaukee-catholics <p>The days of the Catholic Mass in Latin are pretty much over. Thu, 29 Aug 2013 16:24:05 +0000 Amy Kiley 11910 at http://wuwm.com Multilingual Mass the New Norm for Some Milwaukee Catholics Three Irish Symbols You Didn't Know Had Spiritual Origins http://wuwm.com/post/three-irish-symbols-you-didnt-know-had-spiritual-origins <p>Milwaukee's <a href="http://www.irishfest.com" target="_blank">Irish Fest</a> starts tonight, and after 30 years it's more than just one of the city's most popular ethnic festivals. Thu, 15 Aug 2013 18:43:56 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 10824 at http://wuwm.com Three Irish Symbols You Didn't Know Had Spiritual Origins Reporter: Few New Details in Milwaukee Archdiocese Papers http://wuwm.com/post/reporter-few-new-details-milwaukee-archdiocese-papers <p><strong>The Milwaukee archdiocese released hundreds of documents related to the clergy sex abuse cases - did they really contain bombshells?</strong> Wed, 03 Jul 2013 20:20:21 +0000 Mitch Teich & Nathan Royster 7270 at http://wuwm.com Reporter: Few New Details in Milwaukee Archdiocese Papers Church Group Works to Overcome Racial Divide http://wuwm.com/post/church-group-works-overcome-racial-divide <p><strong>A church-based non-profit is working to overcome segregation and division in Milwaukee's Sherman Park neighborhood.</strong> Mon, 03 Jun 2013 22:56:29 +0000 Amy Kiley 4866 at http://wuwm.com Church Group Works to Overcome Racial Divide Why Are We So Fascinated With the Apocalypse? http://wuwm.com/post/why-are-we-so-fascinated-apocalypse <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A massive tornado sweeps through an Oklahoma suburb.&nbsp; A bomb causes mayhem at the Boston Marathon.&nbsp; A gunman kills children at an elementary school, while another kills worshippers at a Sikh temple.&nbsp; They’re all tragedies.&nbsp; For some adherents to the bible’s New Testament, they are indications of a world moving in an apocalyptic direction.</span></p><p> Wed, 29 May 2013 19:31:53 +0000 Mitch Teich 4448 at http://wuwm.com Why Are We So Fascinated With the Apocalypse? Influential Modern Gospel Composer Leads Milwaukee Workshop http://wuwm.com/post/influential-modern-gospel-composer-leads-milwaukee-workshop <p>An acclaimed composer of modern Gospel music will be in Milwaukee this weekend. Rawn Harbor helped compile the African-American Catholic hymnal, “Lead Me, Guide Me.” Fri, 26 Apr 2013 16:41:02 +0000 Amy Kiley 2763 at http://wuwm.com Influential Modern Gospel Composer Leads Milwaukee Workshop For Christians, Easter Is More than Just One Day http://wuwm.com/post/christians-easter-more-just-one-day <p>It's Easter Monday, the day after Christians around the world celebrated the resurrection of Jesus. To Christians, Easter Sunday is the pinnacle of the religious year because the faithful believe Jesus confirmed the religion’s claims by rising from the dead. Mon, 01 Apr 2013 16:54:43 +0000 Amy Kiley 2766 at http://wuwm.com For Christians, Easter Is More than Just One Day Catholic Church's Reach, Challenges Lead to Worldwide Attention on Conclave http://wuwm.com/post/catholic-churchs-reach-challenges-lead-worldwide-attention-conclave <p>When Pope Benedict XVI announced his resignation last month, the news catapulted into headlines worldwide. Media coverage has continued nearly nonstop, as the Catholic Church prepares to select its next leader. Some outlets have almost treated the process as they would a sports tournament – with analysts and even odds on who will emerge as the next pope. Wed, 13 Mar 2013 18:01:49 +0000 Erin Toner 1767 at http://wuwm.com Catholic Church's Reach, Challenges Lead to Worldwide Attention on Conclave