heroin http://wuwm.com en Heroin Prevention Summit in Milwaukee Focuses on Collaboration http://wuwm.com/post/heroin-prevention-summit-milwaukee-focuses-collaboration <p>The number of people using heroin in Wisconsin has risen steadily over the last five years.</p><p> Thu, 05 Jun 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 33052 at http://wuwm.com Heroin Prevention Summit in Milwaukee Focuses on Collaboration Summit Set for June as Heroin Deaths Spike in Milwaukee County http://wuwm.com/post/summit-set-june-heroin-deaths-spike-milwaukee-county <p></p><p></p><p>There’s been a dramatic increase in the number of heroin deaths in Milwaukee County. Wed, 16 Apr 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 29247 at http://wuwm.com Summit Set for June as Heroin Deaths Spike in Milwaukee County Schools, State Warn Wisconsin Students about the Dangers of Heroin http://wuwm.com/post/schools-state-warn-wisconsin-students-about-dangers-heroin <p>With dozens of young people dying every year of heroin overdoses, the Dept. of Justice is mailing packets of materials to high schools to educate students.</p><p> Fri, 21 Feb 2014 07:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 25223 at http://wuwm.com Schools, State Warn Wisconsin Students about the Dangers of Heroin Lawmakers Hope Bills Help Tackle Wisconsin's Growing Heroin Problem http://wuwm.com/post/lawmakers-hope-bills-help-tackle-wisconsins-growing-heroin-problem <p>If there’s one issue winning bipartisan support in Madison, it’s legislation to fight heroin use.</p><p> Wed, 29 Jan 2014 07:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 23445 at http://wuwm.com Lawmakers Hope Bills Help Tackle Wisconsin's Growing Heroin Problem Medicine Collection Day is Saturday http://wuwm.com/post/medicine-collection-day-saturday <p>Residents can drop off unused and unwanted prescription drugs at a <a href="https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/NTBI/ntbi-pub.pub?_flowExecutionKey=_cD955B4A0-48CF-FF64-8180-A28ECF66BC48_k4EB9EAE2-D992-8407-F0B1-A42F95C0D805" target="_blank">number of locations</a> around the community this weekend.<span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Drug Enforcement Administration is holding its seventh annual event to collect leftover medicines.</span></p> Fri, 25 Oct 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 16359 at http://wuwm.com Medicine Collection Day is Saturday In the Grip of Heroin Part 5: Painkillers Often are “Gateway” to Heroin Addiction http://wuwm.com/post/grip-heroin-part-5-painkillers-often-are-gateway-heroin-addiction <p>Experts say many heroin addicts first get hooked on opiate-based prescription painkillers.</p><p> Wed, 16 Oct 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 15631 at http://wuwm.com In the Grip of Heroin Part 5: Painkillers Often are “Gateway” to Heroin Addiction In The Grip of Heroin Part 4: Lawmakers Grapple With The Problem http://wuwm.com/post/grip-heroin-part-4-lawmakers-grapple-problem <p>Heroin has been taking a toll in Wisconsin – because of its highly addictive and devastating grip.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 15512 at http://wuwm.com In The Grip of Heroin Part 4: Lawmakers Grapple With The Problem In the Grip of Heroin Part 3: Helping Users Fight the Pull of the Addictive Drug http://wuwm.com/post/grip-heroin-part-3-helping-users-fight-pull-addictive-drug <p>Many heroin users try to stop, but find they cannot free themselves from the hold the drug has on them.</p><p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 15422 at http://wuwm.com In the Grip of Heroin Part 3: Helping Users Fight the Pull of the Addictive Drug In the Grip of Heroin Part 2: Lives Changed, Lives Lost http://wuwm.com/post/grip-heroin-part-2-lives-changed-lives-lost <p>There has been a dramatic rise in heroin use and fatal overdoses in Wisconsin. <span style="line-height: 1.5;">Last year, nearly 200 residents died using the illegal drug. It’s shown up in more than two-thirds of the state’s counties.</span> Fri, 11 Oct 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 15261 at http://wuwm.com In the Grip of Heroin Part 2: Lives Changed, Lives Lost In the Grip of Heroin Part 1: Trends in Wisconsin http://wuwm.com/post/grip-heroin-part-1-trends-wisconsin <p>Heroin has been devastating lives. In 2012, the illegal drug killed 199 people in Wisconsin, and crushed family and friends.</p><p> Thu, 10 Oct 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 15118 at http://wuwm.com In the Grip of Heroin Part 1: Trends in Wisconsin