Act 10 http://wuwm.com en Federal Court Upholds Act 10 http://wuwm.com/post/federal-court-upholds-act-10 <p>A federal appeals court has upheld Gov. Scott Walker's bill that strips public unions of collective bargaining rights.</p><p>Two unions representing city of Madison and Dane County workers filed a lawsuit in 2011, alleging the law violated their right to free assembly and equal protection.</p><p>U.S. District Judge William Conley found the restrictions constitutional last year.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 18:46:55 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 29467 at http://wuwm.com Federal Court Upholds Act 10 Public Union Dust Still Settling in Wisconsin, Three Years After Act 10 http://wuwm.com/post/public-union-dust-still-settling-wisconsin-three-years-after-act-10 <p></p><p></p><p>Tuesday marks the third anniversary of Gov. Walker signing Act 10 into law, restricting public unions. Tue, 11 Mar 2014 11:00:00 +0000 LaToya Dennis 26534 at http://wuwm.com Public Union Dust Still Settling in Wisconsin, Three Years After Act 10 State, Unions Argue Act 10 Before Supreme Court http://wuwm.com/post/state-unions-argue-act-10-supreme-court <p></p><p></p><p>The Wisconsin Supreme Court listened to arguments Monday over whether Act 10 is unconstitutional.</p><p> Tue, 12 Nov 2013 07:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 17688 at http://wuwm.com State, Unions Argue Act 10 Before Supreme Court State Supreme Court Hears Challenge to Act 10 http://wuwm.com/post/state-supreme-court-hears-challenge-act-10 <p>The state Supreme Court will hear arguments Monday in yet another challenge to Act 10.&nbsp; The law dismantled most collective bargaining rights for most public workers, more than two years ago.</p><p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 07:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 17512 at http://wuwm.com State Supreme Court Hears Challenge to Act 10 Appeals Court Expected to Rule on WERC Fate http://wuwm.com/post/appeals-court-expected-rule-werc-fate <p></p><p></p><p>A Wisconsin state agency will learn Monday whether it's acting in contempt of court -- because it's enforcing Act 10.&nbsp; Mon, 04 Nov 2013 07:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 16968 at http://wuwm.com Appeals Court Expected to Rule on WERC Fate A Year in MPS, through the Eyes of a New Teacher http://wuwm.com/post/year-mps-through-eyes-new-teacher <p>Classes start Tuesday for most Milwaukee Public Schools and hundreds of new teachers. We'll follow a newcomer, starting with his preparations. Tue, 03 Sep 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 12061 at http://wuwm.com A Year in MPS, through the Eyes of a New Teacher More than 300 Teachers Get Ready for New Careers in MPS http://wuwm.com/post/more-300-teachers-get-ready-new-careers-mps <p>MPS is preparing for the new school year, after a huge turnover in personnel. Mon, 12 Aug 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 10420 at http://wuwm.com More than 300 Teachers Get Ready for New Careers in MPS Surprise and Outrage over Walker Comments on First Responder Union Rights http://wuwm.com/post/surprise-and-outrage-over-walker-comments-first-responder-union-rights <p>Gov. Walker raised eyebrows Monday, when he indicated he might consider curbing the power of police and firefighter unions. Wed, 31 Jul 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 9525 at http://wuwm.com Surprise and Outrage over Walker Comments on First Responder Union Rights Walker Says Collective Bargaining Limits Could Solve Other States’ Problems http://wuwm.com/post/walker-says-collective-bargaining-limits-could-solve-other-states-problems <p>Gov. Scott Walker says other states should consider emulating Wisconsin in curbing the power of public unions. He also hinted he's open to doing the same to police and firefighter unions. Mon, 29 Jul 2013 22:58:06 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 9426 at http://wuwm.com Walker Says Collective Bargaining Limits Could Solve Other States’ Problems Barrett Signs Pay Raise Ordinance for City Workers Residing in Milwaukee http://wuwm.com/post/barrett-signs-pay-raise-ordinance-city-workers-residing-milwaukee <p></p><p></p><p>The City of Milwaukee is looking for ways to reward its workers – and keep them living in the city. Mayor Tom Barrett on Monday signed an ordinance into law that will provide two pay bumps – each 1.5 percent. Mon, 29 Jul 2013 22:31:58 +0000 LaToya Dennis 9425 at http://wuwm.com Barrett Signs Pay Raise Ordinance for City Workers Residing in Milwaukee