Civil War http://wuwm.com en Seven Facts You Didn't Know About the Gettysburg Address http://wuwm.com/post/seven-facts-you-didnt-know-about-gettysburg-address <p></p><p></p><p>One-hundred fifty years ago today, President Abraham Lincoln delivered the "Gettysburg Address." Tue, 19 Nov 2013 18:38:22 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Thomas Martin Sobottke 18303 at http://wuwm.com Seven Facts You Didn't Know About the Gettysburg Address Essay: The Horror, Not Honor, of the Civil War http://wuwm.com/post/essay-horror-not-honor-civil-war <p></p><p>As the United States marks the 150th anniversary of noted Civil War battles, one form of commemoration – re-enactments – generally leave me with a feeling of discomfort. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 16:33:08 +0000 Jerianne Hayslett 18290 at http://wuwm.com Essay: The Horror, Not Honor, of the Civil War Milwaukee Doctor from Syria Hopeful for Diplomatic End to Civil War http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-doctor-syria-hopeful-diplomatic-end-civil-war <p></p><p>A Syrian expatriate in Milwaukee is optimistic about a possible diplomatic solution to the crisis in his native country, after President Obama agreed to consider a plan by Russia.</p><p> Wed, 11 Sep 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 12815 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Doctor from Syria Hopeful for Diplomatic End to Civil War Historian: Northern Free Blacks 'Spearheaded' Lead Up to Civil War http://wuwm.com/post/historian-northern-free-blacks-spearheaded-lead-civil-war <p>As we mark the sesquicentennial of the <a href="http://wuwm.com/term/civil-war" target="_blank">American Civil War</a>, we've heard a lot about the battles, the heroes, the death tolls.<br><br>But what we don't hear often enough is about the people who had the biggest stake in the war's outcome: African-Americans - both slaves and free persons.<br><br>University of Wisconsin historian <a href="http://history.wisc.edu/people/faculty/kantrowitz.htm" target="_blank">Steve Kantrowitz</a> argues that we often overlook the role of Northern free blacks in the lead up to the civil war.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 20:07:46 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 12819 at http://wuwm.com True-to-Life Spies Threaten Union Cause in Civil War Novel http://wuwm.com/post/true-life-spies-threaten-union-cause-civil-war-novel <p>A new historical novel features a murder mystery in the midst of the Civil War. Thu, 29 Aug 2013 15:18:26 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 9233 at http://wuwm.com True-to-Life Spies Threaten Union Cause in Civil War Novel What Artifacts Best Represent the Civil War Experience? http://wuwm.com/post/what-artifacts-best-represent-civil-war-experience <p></p><p>The sesquicentennial of the Civil War continues this year – July will mark the 150th anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg. Mon, 22 Jul 2013 18:19:47 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 3304 at http://wuwm.com What Artifacts Best Represent the Civil War Experience? Iron Brigade Gave Union Advantage at Gettysburg http://wuwm.com/post/iron-brigade-gave-union-advantage-gettysburg <p></p><p>This week marks the 150th anniversary of one of the Civil War's most famous battles.&nbsp; The Battle of Gettysburg was also the war's deadliest, and Wisconsin soldiers played a key role over its three days.<br> Wed, 03 Jul 2013 20:51:19 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Thomas Martin Sobottke 1869 at http://wuwm.com Iron Brigade Gave Union Advantage at Gettysburg Letter of a Wisconsin Civil War Soldier Inspires Song http://wuwm.com/post/letter-wisconsin-civil-war-soldier-inspires-song <p>As we remember the 150<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg, we've been hearing about the experiences of Wisconsin soldiers fighting in the American Civil War. Wed, 03 Jul 2013 00:37:12 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 7205 at http://wuwm.com Letter of a Wisconsin Civil War Soldier Inspires Song Wisconsinites Make Last Stand at Gettysburg http://wuwm.com/post/wisconsinites-make-last-stand-gettysburg <p>One hundred fifty years ago, over the first 3 days of July, one of the fiercest and most important battles of the American Civil War was fought. Wed, 03 Jul 2013 00:18:34 +0000 Thomas Martin Sobottke & Nathan Royster 7202 at http://wuwm.com Wisconsinites Make Last Stand at Gettysburg Gettysburg's Consequence and Cost Remembered 150 Years Later http://wuwm.com/post/gettysburgs-consequence-and-cost-remembered-150-years-later <p><strong>One-hundred fifty years ago today, one of the fiercest and most important battles of the American Civil War began. </strong> Mon, 01 Jul 2013 20:07:42 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 7087 at http://wuwm.com Gettysburg's Consequence and Cost Remembered 150 Years Later