history http://wuwm.com en A Girl and Her Dog Take on Nazis in Milwaukee Author's New Middle Grade Novel http://wuwm.com/post/girl-and-her-dog-take-nazis-milwaukee-authors-new-middle-grade-novel <p></p><p>Milwaukee area writer <a href="http://www.sandybrehl.com/" target="_blank">Sandy Brehl’s</a> new middle grade novel tells a coming-of-age tale set in occupied Norway at the start of World War II. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 18:21:43 +0000 Mitch Teich & Audrey Nowakowski 34774 at http://wuwm.com A Girl and Her Dog Take on Nazis in Milwaukee Author's New Middle Grade Novel Ever Wanted to Ride an Old-Timey Tricycle? You Can at Old World Wisconsin http://wuwm.com/post/ever-wanted-ride-old-timey-tricycle-you-can-old-world-wisconsin <p>Ever wondered how people got up on those old-timey high-wheel bicycles in the days of yore? Now you can find out how - and try yourself - at Old World Wisconsin in Eagle.</p><p> Fri, 20 Jun 2014 22:18:01 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 34261 at http://wuwm.com Ever Wanted to Ride an Old-Timey Tricycle? You Can at Old World Wisconsin Milwaukee Man's WWII Collection Now on Display Focuses on Jewish Fighters http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-mans-wwii-collection-now-display-focuses-jewish-fighters <p>A new exhibit opening&nbsp;today&nbsp;in Milwaukee, in time to commemorate the 70th anniversary of D-Day, is focusing on some lesser-known moments of valor during WWII. Fri, 06 Jun 2014 22:50:47 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 33190 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Man's WWII Collection Now on Display Focuses on Jewish Fighters Modern Medical Practices come from 19th Century Quackery and Your Mother http://wuwm.com/post/modern-medical-practices-come-19th-century-quackery-and-your-mother <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Mom is the first person many of us turn to when we are sick. She has that certain magic touch and knows what we need in order to feel better.</span></p><p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 19:47:29 +0000 Eleanor Peterson 24113 at http://wuwm.com Modern Medical Practices come from 19th Century Quackery and Your Mother UWM Rock Professor, Harley Historian Dies at 67 http://wuwm.com/post/uwm-rock-professor-harley-historian-dies-67 <p></p><p><em>Note:</em> <em>The memorial for Dr. Rosenblum has been changed to a new location on UWM's campus - the Helen Bader Concert Hall in the Helene Zelazo Center for the Performing Arts.</em></p><p></p><p>Noted Milwaukee rock and roll and Harley Davidson historian <a href="http://www.martinjackrosenblum.com/" target="_blank">Martin Jack Rosenblum</a> died over the weekend. He was 67. Tue, 14 Jan 2014 15:20:00 +0000 Mitch Teich & Stephanie Lecci 22303 at http://wuwm.com UWM Rock Professor, Harley Historian Dies at 67 How Wisconsin's Biggest Living History Museum Wound Up in a State Forest http://wuwm.com/post/how-wisconsins-biggest-living-history-museum-wound-state-forest <p>As the largest outdoor museum of rural life in the country, <a href="http://oldworldwisconsin.wisconsinhistory.org/" target="_blank">Old World Wisconsi</a>n demonstrates how our immigrant ancestors lived through heirloom gardens, antique machinery and painstakingly restored buildings. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 19:47:29 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 18490 at http://wuwm.com How Wisconsin's Biggest Living History Museum Wound Up in a State Forest Documentary Explores Luxury, History of Iconic Pfister Hotel http://wuwm.com/post/documentary-explores-luxury-history-iconic-pfister-hotel <p></p><p>Though the number of hotels and hotel rooms in downtown Milwaukee is growing, one hotel has remained front and center. Thu, 31 Oct 2013 21:18:54 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mark Siegrist 16318 at http://wuwm.com Documentary Explores Luxury, History of Iconic Pfister Hotel Maypole Madness http://wuwm.com/post/maypole-madness <p>This weekend marks the end of April and the beginning of May. Sat, 30 Apr 2011 05:00:00 +0000 Gianofer Fields 14789 at http://wuwm.com Maypole Madness