Art http://wuwm.com en Unplanned Biography Helps Grieving Mother http://wuwm.com/post/unplanned-biography-helps-grieving-mother <p><br />On a Sunday morning in&nbsp;February 2008, Wisconsin native Matt Manger-Lynch was killed after being struck by a van during a bicycle race in Chicago. He was 29 years old. A chef, a cyclist, an outdoorsman, an adventurer, he left behind his parents, his brother, a wife, and family and friends across the globe.<br /> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 19:00:37 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Stephanie Lecci 34679 at http://wuwm.com Unplanned Biography Helps Grieving Mother Smitten with Smithing: A Modern Milwaukee Blacksmith http://wuwm.com/post/smitten-smithing-modern-milwaukee-blacksmith <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Blacksmithing brings to mind a lot of images, most of them out history or myth.</span></p><p> Mon, 23 Jun 2014 16:10:46 +0000 Bonnie North 34392 at http://wuwm.com Smitten with Smithing: A Modern Milwaukee Blacksmith Want to Be Discovered? 'Show Your Work,' Author Says http://wuwm.com/post/want-be-discovered-show-your-work-author-says <p></p><p>If you haven't seen the work of best-selling author <a href="http://austinkleon.com/" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">Austin Kleon,</a> you might at first mistake one of his poems for a redacted CIA document.</p><p> Wed, 04 Jun 2014 21:57:40 +0000 Bonnie North 33045 at http://wuwm.com Want to Be Discovered? 'Show Your Work,' Author Says Young Self-Taught Photographer Makes His Mark on Milwaukee and Beyond http://wuwm.com/post/young-self-taught-photographer-makes-his-mark-milwaukee-and-beyond <p></p><p>Milwaukee is home to many good photographers, ranging from the strictly amateur to the internationally renowned. While he hasn’t quite gotten to the second category, <a href="http://www.vallenagphotography.com/home#0" target="_blank">Vallen Gillett</a> is well on his way. Thu, 29 May 2014 16:23:50 +0000 Bonnie North 32575 at http://wuwm.com Young Self-Taught Photographer Makes His Mark on Milwaukee and Beyond Exhibit Displays Local Handicrafts Made During The Great Depression http://wuwm.com/post/exhibit-displays-local-handicrafts-made-during-great-depression <p></p><p></p><p>Handicrafts made during the Great Depression are currently on display at the Museum of Wisconsin Art. Thu, 29 May 2014 15:57:21 +0000 Bonnie North 32573 at http://wuwm.com Exhibit Displays Local Handicrafts Made During The Great Depression PHOTOS: Photography Collective Captures Wisconsin's Extremes http://wuwm.com/post/photos-photography-collective-captures-wisconsins-extremes <p>Photography is usually thought of a solitary pursuit, but when you're trying to capture the essence of a state like Wisconsin, you might need some back-up. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 00:57:56 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 23687 at http://wuwm.com PHOTOS: Photography Collective Captures Wisconsin's Extremes Original Chagall Works on Display at UWM Art Gallery http://wuwm.com/post/original-chagall-works-display-uwm-art-gallery <p></p><p>Unbeknownst to many in the city, UW-Milwaukee's art history department holds a significant number of original prints by the Russian Jewish artist Marc Chagall. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 22:41:08 +0000 Bonnie North 18946 at http://wuwm.com Original Chagall Works on Display at UWM Art Gallery 5 Facts You Didn't Know About Spanish Painter Diego Velázquez http://wuwm.com/post/5-facts-you-didnt-know-about-spanish-painter-diego-vel-zquez <p></p><p>The 17th century wasn't kind to Spain. The formerly powerful empire was crumbling, burdened by debt and a corrupt government. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 22:09:27 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 17763 at http://wuwm.com 5 Facts You Didn't Know About Spanish Painter Diego Velázquez Why Is There a Smashed Car Outside the Milwaukee Art Museum? http://wuwm.com/post/why-there-smashed-car-outside-milwaukee-art-museum <p>If you’ve walked along the lakefront by the Milwaukee Art Museum recently, you may have seen a new sculpture and done a double-take. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 19:11:05 +0000 Mitch Teich 17380 at http://wuwm.com Why Is There a Smashed Car Outside the Milwaukee Art Museum? Clothed, Nude Photos Uncloak Nature of 'Identity' in Exhibit http://wuwm.com/post/clothed-nude-photos-uncloak-nature-identity-exhibit <p>We’ve all heard the cliché – don’t judge a book by its cover.&nbsp; Wed, 23 Oct 2013 21:53:04 +0000 Dan Harmon 16357 at http://wuwm.com Clothed, Nude Photos Uncloak Nature of 'Identity' in Exhibit