state budget http://wuwm.com en Gov. Walker's Tax Cut Plan on Legislative Fast Track http://wuwm.com/post/gov-walkers-tax-cut-plan-legislative-fast-track <p>State lawmakers Tuesday are batting around a plan by Gov. Walker to cut property taxes by $100 million.</p><p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 19:17:55 +0000 Erin Toner 15598 at http://wuwm.com Gov. Walker's Tax Cut Plan on Legislative Fast Track Milwaukee to Enforce Residency Rule, Despite New State Budget http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-enforce-residency-rule-despite-new-state-budget <p>The Common Council has voted to continue requiring city workers to live in Milwaukee. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 22:17:05 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 7178 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee to Enforce Residency Rule, Despite New State Budget Barrett: Walker’s Budget Unfairly Attacks Milwaukee http://wuwm.com/post/barrett-walker-s-budget-unfairly-attacks-milwaukee <p>Milwaukee’s mayor says it’s almost as if the state budget goes out of its way to harm the city. Mon, 01 Jul 2013 17:21:28 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 7067 at http://wuwm.com City Might Fight to Retain Residency Rules http://wuwm.com/post/city-might-fight-retain-residency-rules <p>Gov. Walker could wipe out Milwaukee’s long-standing residency requirement this weekend. Fri, 28 Jun 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 6826 at http://wuwm.com State Assembly Passes $68 Billion Budget to Senate http://wuwm.com/post/state-assembly-passes-68-billion-budget-senate <p></p><p></p><p>The state Assembly Wednesday advanced a budget for Wisconsin. The votes in favor were all Republican. Democrats voted against the package, with three GOP Assemblymen joining the opposition. Wed, 19 Jun 2013 21:50:17 +0000 LaToya Dennis 6197 at http://wuwm.com State Assembly Passes $68 Billion Budget to Senate Legislature Approves Venture Capital Fund http://wuwm.com/post/legislature-approves-venture-capital-fund <p>A venture capital bill is on its way to Gov. Scott Walker’s desk. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 23:15:01 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 6096 at http://wuwm.com Legislature Approves Venture Capital Fund Fiscal Bureau Report Projects Looming Budget Deficit http://wuwm.com/post/fiscal-bureau-report-projects-looming-budget-deficit <p>A non-partisan state government agency is predicting a possible budget shortfall in the next cycle. Thu, 13 Jun 2013 11:46:13 +0000 Bob Bach 5649 at http://wuwm.com Fiscal Bureau Report Projects Looming Budget Deficit Senate Approves Unemployment Changes Now Headed to Assembly http://wuwm.com/post/senate-approves-unemployment-changes-now-headed-assembly <p>The state Senate has approved major changes to Wisconsin’s unemployment insurance program. Tuesday’s vote fell along party lines. Republicans approved the legislation; Democrats opposed it. The changes include higher weekly payments and a requirement that participants apply for four jobs a week, rather than two. The bill also eliminates instances when people can quit jobs and receive unemployment and gives the state access to personal bank accounts – if the fund pays an individual too much. Democrat Lena Taylor fought the banking provision.</p> Wed, 12 Jun 2013 16:04:40 +0000 LaToya Dennis 5585 at http://wuwm.com GOP Legislators Grapple with Budget, Discord http://wuwm.com/post/gop-legislators-grapple-budget-discord <p>Republican legislators have not been walking in lockstep this time, with Gov. Scott Walker’s proposed state budget. Mon, 03 Jun 2013 06:01:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 4715 at http://wuwm.com GOP Legislators Grapple with Budget, Discord 11 Republican Legislators Demand Changes to State Budget http://wuwm.com/post/11-republican-legislators-demand-changes-state-budget <p>A group of GOP state lawmakers sent a <a href="http://www.wispolitics.com/1006/130530jointletter.pdf" onclick="window.open(this.href, '', 'resizable=no,status=no,location=no,toolbar=no,menubar=no,fullscreen=no,scrollbars=no,dependent=no'); return false;">letter</a> to legislative leaders on Thursday, saying they cannot support the proposed state budget, in its current form. Thu, 30 May 2013 20:51:03 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 4587 at http://wuwm.com 11 Republican Legislators Demand Changes to State Budget