musical instruments http://wuwm.com en Milwaukee's Internationally-Acclaimed Luthier Continues His Craft http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukees-internationally-acclaimed-luthier-continues-his-craft <p></p><p><strong>It’s been 30 years since <a href="http://www.rauenguitars.com/" target="_blank">Denny Rauen</a> set up shop, first in the Chicago-area and then in the Milwaukee's Riverwest. Since then, he’s become an internationally-acclaimed luthier.</strong> Fri, 09 Aug 2013 16:51:20 +0000 Gaby Magallanes & Bonnie North 10265 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee's Internationally-Acclaimed Luthier Continues His Craft Milwaukee Handbell Ensemble Rings in 10 Years of Music http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-handbell-ensemble-rings-10-years-music <p>For ten years, the<a href="http://www.milwaukeehandbells.org" target="_blank"> Milwaukee Handbell Ensemble</a> has brought unique ringing to the area, and now it will celebrate its longtime musical commitment to the city with an anniversary concert next week. Fri, 03 May 2013 05:00:00 +0000 Amy Kiley 7269 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Handbell Ensemble Rings in 10 Years of Music With 22-Strings, the Kora Makes for a Sight - and Beautiful Music http://wuwm.com/post/22-strings-kora-makes-sight-and-beautiful-music <p>We’ve featured a lot of musicians and a lot of instruments over the years on Lake Effect. But until now, we’ve never had an instrument quite like the one Yaya Kambaye brought with him to the Lake Effect performance studio. Mon, 28 Jan 2013 17:35:11 +0000 Mitch Teich 2773 at http://wuwm.com With 22-Strings, the Kora Makes for a Sight - and Beautiful Music Antique Forte Piano Makes a Modern Debut in Milwaukee http://wuwm.com/post/antique-forte-piano-makes-modern-debut-milwaukee <p>Normally, we hear classical piano music played on a modern instrument. But back at the height of classical composition, everyone from Mozart and Mendelssohn to Beethoven and Brahms played and composed upon the “forte piano." Fri, 25 Jan 2013 19:06:53 +0000 Bonnie North 2126 at http://wuwm.com Antique Forte Piano Makes a Modern Debut in Milwaukee 2012 Piano Arts Competition http://wuwm.com/post/2012-piano-arts-competition <p>For the past week, young pianists have gathered in Milwaukee to vie for the title in the <a href="http://pianoarts.org/competition.html">2012 Piano Arts Competition</a>. Since 1999, the biennial competition has launched the careers of numerous national and international performers. And it is one of the few competitions of its kind in the country. Wed, 13 Jun 2012 20:15:15 +0000 Bonnie North 2145 at http://wuwm.com 2012 Piano Arts Competition Tribute Concert to Steel String Guitar Icons http://wuwm.com/post/tribute-concert-steel-string-guitar-icons <p><a href="http://www.alverno.edu/academics/academicdepartments/schoolofartssciences/musicdepartment/facultystaff/">Peter Roller</a> is an assistant professor of music at Alverno College; <a href="http://www.wcmusic.org/AboutUs/Personnel/Faculty-Biographies.aspx#Bio_S">Matthew Schroeder</a> is finger-style and rock guitar department chair at the Wisconsin Conservatory of Music. They’ll play a concert tomorrow night at the Conservatory, called <a href="http://www.wcmusic.org/Concerts/Conservatory-Nights.aspx"><strong><em>A Tribute to Steel-String Guitar Icons</em></strong></a>. Wed, 18 Apr 2012 20:21:25 +0000 Bonnie North 2148 at http://wuwm.com Tribute Concert to Steel String Guitar Icons