Great Lakes http://wuwm.com en Author Hopes To Encourage Others To Care For and About The Great Lakes http://wuwm.com/post/author-hopes-encourage-others-care-and-about-great-lakes <p>Michigan native <a href="http://www.laketrek.com/" target="_blank">Loreen Niewenhuis</a> has always loved the Great Lakes but says it was a mid-life crisis that pushed her to become an explorer and author.<br /> Wed, 28 May 2014 15:00:00 +0000 Susan Bence 32435 at http://wuwm.com Author Hopes To Encourage Others To Care For and About The Great Lakes Climate Change Already Impacting Great Lakes, Report Calls For Immediate Action http://wuwm.com/post/climate-change-already-impacting-great-lakes-report-calls-immediate-action <p></p><p>A group of 24 scientists and policymakers are clearly sounding a climate change alarm, but are also handing the country a blueprint. It’s called the <em><a href="http://centerforwaterpolicy.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/wingspread-report-15-17-april-2015.pdf" target="_blank">Great Lakes Restoration and Climate Change</a></em> report. Tue, 27 May 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Susan Bence & Michelle Maternowski 32343 at http://wuwm.com Climate Change Already Impacting Great Lakes, Report Calls For Immediate Action PHOTOS: The Deadly Great Lakes 'Hurricane' of 1913 http://wuwm.com/post/photos-deadly-great-lakes-hurricane-1913 <p>A hundred years ago this week, a nasty storm blew across the Great Lakes - and into history. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 19:37:48 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 17381 at http://wuwm.com PHOTOS: The Deadly Great Lakes 'Hurricane' of 1913 Why Do Forests Matter in the Fight Against Aquatic Invasive Species? http://wuwm.com/post/why-do-forests-matter-fight-against-aquatic-invasive-species <p>It turns out that the health of forests has quite a bit to do with the health of the lakes. Wed, 11 Sep 2013 22:21:36 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 12938 at http://wuwm.com Why Do Forests Matter in the Fight Against Aquatic Invasive Species? No Signs of Asian Carp DNA in Lake Michigan Tributary http://wuwm.com/post/no-signs-asian-carp-dna-lake-michigan-tributary <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Researchers are analyzing water samples from rivers that feed into the Great Lakes. Fri, 23 Aug 2013 17:40:11 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 11488 at http://wuwm.com No Signs of Asian Carp DNA in Lake Michigan Tributary Groups Call for New Hearings on Waukesha Water Request http://wuwm.com/post/groups-call-new-hearings-waukesha-water-request <p>Waukesha has made major revisions in its request for Lake Michigan water, so the Dept. of Natural Resources should conduct new hearings, according to several environmental interests. Wed, 03 Jul 2013 21:31:20 +0000 Marge Pitrof 7288 at http://wuwm.com Groups Call for New Hearings on Waukesha Water Request Report: Tight Budgets Shouldn't Derail Great Lakes Research http://wuwm.com/post/report-tight-budgets-shouldnt-derail-great-lakes-research <p></p><p>A new report offers a mixed review of the state of the health of the Great Lakes. Fri, 17 May 2013 17:20:35 +0000 Mitch Teich & Stephanie Lecci 3507 at http://wuwm.com Report: Tight Budgets Shouldn't Derail Great Lakes Research Report: Mixed Results of Great Lakes Clean-up Efforts http://wuwm.com/post/report-mixed-results-great-lakes-clean-efforts <p>The International Joint Commission released a <a href="http://www.ijc.org/files/tinymce/uploaded/Publications/16thBE_internet%2020130509.pdf">report</a> Tuesday on how the health of the Great Lakes has changed in the past 25 years. The agency, made up of representatives from the U.S. and Canada, advises both countries on issues affecting their shared waterways.</p> Tue, 14 May 2013 21:19:51 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 3251 at http://wuwm.com Report: Mixed Results of Great Lakes Clean-up Efforts Low Water Levels Reveal Sunken Ships in the Great Lakes http://wuwm.com/post/low-water-levels-reveal-sunken-ships-great-lakes <p>Water levels are low enough in the Great Lakes that parts of sunken ships have become visible.<br> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 17:43:20 +0000 Marge Pitrof 2281 at http://wuwm.com Low Water Levels Reveal Sunken Ships in the Great Lakes