Wolves http://wuwm.com en What Do Wisconsinites Think of a Second Wolf Hunt? http://wuwm.com/post/what-do-wisconsinites-think-second-wolf-hunt <p><strong>The clock is ticking ever closer to Wisconsin’s “still hotly debated” second wolf harvest.</strong> Thu, 23 May 2013 17:35:28 +0000 Susan Bence 4099 at http://wuwm.com What Do Wisconsinites Think of a Second Wolf Hunt? Wolves and Humans: A Deteriorating Relationship? http://wuwm.com/post/wolves-and-humans-deteriorating-relationship <p><em>With the state's first wolf hunt underway, a Wisconsin researcher looks into the animals' relationship with people.</em> Wed, 21 Nov 2012 20:39:52 +0000 Susan Bence 2303 at http://wuwm.com Wolves and Humans: A Deteriorating Relationship? Scientific Eye on Opening Day of Highly Contested Wolf Hunt http://wuwm.com/post/scientific-eye-opening-day-highly-contested-wolf-hunt <p>Monday marks day one of a hunting season some thought would never come: Wisconsin's first wolf hunt.</p><p>The Legislature set it into motion months ago, right after the federal government removed the wolf's endangered status.</p><p>Tim Van Deelen is one of the people who will watch the hunt scientifically.</p><p>The wildlife biologist has been studying the creature throughout its gradual return to Wisconsin, and now will monitor the impact the wolf harvest could have on the stability of its population.</p><p>The DNR doled out 1,160 permits for the wolf hunt that begins today.</p> Mon, 15 Oct 2012 22:28:29 +0000 Susan Bence 2347 at http://wuwm.com Scientific Eye on Opening Day of Highly Contested Wolf Hunt DNR Denied Permission to Include Dogs in Wisconsin's First Wolf Hunt http://wuwm.com/post/dnr-denied-permission-include-dogs-wisconsins-first-wolf-hunt <p><em>One remaining point of contention in Wisconsin's wolf hunt is the law's allowance for dogs to be used to trail or track wolves. The Natural Resources Board on Wednesday denied the DNR permission to draft emergency rules so dogs could be used this first year.</em> Thu, 27 Sep 2012 00:15:03 +0000 Susan Bence 2374 at http://wuwm.com DNR Denied Permission to Include Dogs in Wisconsin's First Wolf Hunt Mixing Dogs with Wolves http://wuwm.com/post/mixing-dogs-wolves <p></p><p></p> Wed, 29 Aug 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Susan Bence 2499 at http://wuwm.com Mixing Dogs with Wolves Wolf Hunt Rules Fraught With Controversy http://wuwm.com/post/wolf-hunt-rules-fraught-controversy <p>The grey wolf is in Wisconsin’s spotlight.<br><br>Shortly after the federal government removed the animal from the endangered species list, the state created a wolf hunt to begin this October.<br><br>With little time to spare, the DNR designed rules for the first season.<br><br>The agency is proposing a harvest of 201 wolves, with some zones more heavily targeted than others.<br><br>Tuesday the seven-member Natural Resources Board will vote on the DNR’s proposed rules at a special meeting in Stevens Point.<br><br>WUWM Environmental Reporter Susan Bence looks at the polarizing positions the wolf – and its upcoming hunt – are raising. Tue, 17 Jul 2012 19:45:37 +0000 Susan Bence 2799 at http://wuwm.com Wolf Hunt Rules Fraught With Controversy Scientists Dig into How Wisconsin Wolf Hunt Might Impact Population Stability http://wuwm.com/post/scientists-dig-how-wisconsin-wolf-hunt-might-impact-population-stability <p>Wisconsin leaders recently passed a controversial bill allowing people to hunt wolves starting this fall.<br><br>The move came shortly after the federal government removed the animal from the endangered species list.<br><br>Friday, researchers from UW-Madison share what they’ve learned about the impact wolf harvesting could have on the stability of its population.<br><br>The team will present its findings in Duluth, where a range of interested people – from scientists to livestock producers, are gathering for an annual conference on wolves in the Great Lakes region.<br><br>WUWM Environmental Reporter Susan Bence met the Madison researchers before they departed.<br> Fri, 27 Apr 2012 23:22:48 +0000 Susan Bence 2998 at http://wuwm.com Scientists Dig into How Wisconsin Wolf Hunt Might Impact Population Stability Gray Wolf Status Shifts from Endangered to Game http://wuwm.com/post/gray-wolf-status-shifts-endangered-game <p>Gov. Walker is expected to soon sign into law a bill allowing wolves to be hunted in Wisconsin.<br><br>The Legislature recently approved a hunting season, after the federal government removed the wolf from the endangered species list, in January.<br> Mon, 19 Mar 2012 23:28:07 +0000 Susan Bence 3001 at http://wuwm.com Gray Wolf Status Shifts from Endangered to Game