Life's Voices http://wuwm.com en Oscar Winner John Ridley's Father Talks About Life Before Desegregation http://wuwm.com/post/oscar-winner-john-ridleys-father-talks-about-life-desegregation <p>If you followed the Oscars, you might know that the man who won "Best Screenwriter” is a Mequon native. John Ridley helped create the best picture winner, <em>12 Years a Slave</em>. Tue, 04 Mar 2014 16:37:01 +0000 Susan Bence 26049 at http://wuwm.com Oscar Winner John Ridley's Father Talks About Life Before Desegregation After Two Decades, Milwaukee Woman Continues Quest to Restore Outdoor Sculptures http://wuwm.com/post/after-two-decades-milwaukee-woman-continues-quest-restore-outdoor-sculptures <p>Back in the 1990s, Diane Buck surveyed the multitude of monuments around Milwaukee and zeroed in on 12 in desperate need of repair. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 12:00:00 +0000 Susan Bence 21505 at http://wuwm.com After Two Decades, Milwaukee Woman Continues Quest to Restore Outdoor Sculptures An Early Call to Volunteer Work http://wuwm.com/post/early-call-volunteer-work <p>Our Life’s Voices series continues with a profile of longtime community volunteer Penny Kasprzak.</p><p> Wed, 01 Jan 2014 07:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 21106 at http://wuwm.com An Early Call to Volunteer Work Andre Ellis Works to Bring Back Neighborhood http://wuwm.com/post/andre-ellis-works-bring-back-neighborhood <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Every year at this time WUWM reporters head out into communities to talk with everyday people making a difference. In this installment of our Life’s Voices series, we speak with Andre Ellis. He’s a local playwright who tells stories from the perspective of black men. Tue, 31 Dec 2013 12:00:00 +0000 LaToya Dennis 20675 at http://wuwm.com Andre Ellis Works to Bring Back Neighborhood Milwaukeean Dedicates Life to Peacemaking http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukeean-dedicates-life-peacemaking <p></p><p></p><p> Don Timmerman's mission as a peacemaker dates back to the 1960s. Thu, 26 Dec 2013 17:53:07 +0000 Bob Bach 21033 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukeean Dedicates Life to Peacemaking Milwaukee Student Sings Her Way to National Award http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-student-sings-her-way-national-award <p>As part of our end-of-the-year series, "Life’s Voices," we bring you a profile of Shampriel Morrise. She's a junior at Milwaukee High School of the Arts. Tue, 24 Dec 2013 07:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 20399 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Student Sings Her Way to National Award Life's Voices: Joe Volk Helps Scores of Homeless http://wuwm.com/post/lifes-voices-joe-volk-helps-scores-homeless <p></p><p></p><p>We begin our annual holiday series Life’s Voices, stories of people striving to make Milwaukee a better place to live.</p><p>Our first profile is of Joe Volk. He’s devoted most of his life to helping people without a home.</p><p>About ten people are standing in line at the front desk of Community Advocates in downtown Milwaukee. Another dozen are sitting in the waiting area.</p><p>During the course of a year, the agency serves about 75,000 families, according to Volk. His office is on the third floor.</p> Fri, 29 Nov 2013 07:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 18945 at http://wuwm.com Life's Voices: Joe Volk Helps Scores of Homeless Lester Carter Offers Rx For Community Health on City's North Side http://wuwm.com/post/lester-carter-offers-rx-community-health-citys-north-side <p>Customers stream in and out of Carter’s Drug Store on 24th and Burleigh in Milwaukee.<br><br>The store is more than just a place to get a prescription filled, according to owner Lester Carter. He supplies everyone with healthy doses of respect and re-assurance. Those have been the ingredients of his figurative elixir, since he bought the business in 1967 after arriving here from Omaha, Nebraska. Wed, 26 Dec 2012 21:30:08 +0000 Bob Bach 2529 at http://wuwm.com Lester Carter Offers Rx For Community Health on City's North Side Wielding Words to Conserve Wilderness http://wuwm.com/post/wielding-words-conserve-wilderness <p>We conclude our year-end tradition, Life’s Voices. WUWM shares the stories and perspectives of people making a difference, often without public fanfare. Today, our installment takes a green turn, as we meet a man dedicating his life to preserving open and wild spaces. Fri, 30 Dec 2011 23:35:36 +0000 Susan Bence 3003 at http://wuwm.com Wielding Words to Conserve Wilderness Dennis Johnson http://wuwm.com/post/dennis-johnson <p>Our “Life’s Voices” series continues on WUWM.<br><br>Each year-end holiday season, we chat with ordinary people whose extraordinary actions make them unique in the community. Today, we meet a Vietnam veteran who recently retired from a “blue collar” career that included stints as a crane operator and warehouse worker. His “work- a- day” world now centers on volunteerism and a different kind of heavy lifting. We spoke with him at a northwest side Milwaukee home that his group leases for homeless vets making the transition back to society. Fri, 10 Dec 2010 21:35:33 +0000 Bob Bach 2532 at http://wuwm.com Dennis Johnson