American history http://wuwm.com en 'Take a Walk!': How Pedestrianism was America's First Spectator Sport http://wuwm.com/post/take-walk-how-pedestrianism-was-americas-first-spectator-sport <p></p><p>The Milwaukee Brewers drew more than three million fans to Miller Park a couple years ago, as they made their most recent playoff appearance. The numbers have dropped a little in more recent times, but baseball is still a popular ticket through the summer here - and around the country.</p><p>But turn back the clock to the 19th Century, and the hottest ticket in town, as far as sports were concerned, was the sport of pedestrianism. &nbsp;Watching people walk, around a track, often for days at a time.</p> Fri, 09 May 2014 16:09:31 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 29917 at http://wuwm.com 'Take a Walk!': How Pedestrianism was America's First Spectator Sport Analyst: Reagan's Cold War Legacy Endures, While Gorbachev Loses Popularity http://wuwm.com/post/analyst-reagans-cold-war-legacy-endures-while-gorbachev-loses-popularity <p></p><p>The 1980s were a pivotal decade for the world. As the decade opened, the Soviet Union invaded Afghanistan and set up what proved to be one of the last showdowns of the Cold War. Fri, 29 Nov 2013 14:00:00 +0000 Mitch Teich 18918 at http://wuwm.com Analyst: Reagan's Cold War Legacy Endures, While Gorbachev Loses Popularity Essay: 50 Years After His Assassination, JFK's Legacy Survives http://wuwm.com/post/essay-50-years-after-his-assassination-jfks-legacy-survives <p></p><p>Shortly after the assassination of President John F. Kennedy in Dallas on <span id="OBJ_PREFIX_DWT166_com_zimbra_date">November 22, 1963</span>, CBS commentator Eric Sevareid noted the principal legacy of the murdered leader might well be an ‘attitude,’ a contagious spirit that all things are possible if only we have the vision and will. Fri, 22 Nov 2013 19:24:52 +0000 Art Cyr 18587 at http://wuwm.com Essay: 50 Years After His Assassination, JFK's Legacy Survives Seven Facts You Didn't Know About the Gettysburg Address http://wuwm.com/post/seven-facts-you-didnt-know-about-gettysburg-address <p></p><p></p><p>One-hundred fifty years ago today, President Abraham Lincoln delivered the "Gettysburg Address." Tue, 19 Nov 2013 18:38:22 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Thomas Martin Sobottke 18303 at http://wuwm.com Seven Facts You Didn't Know About the Gettysburg Address Essay: The Horror, Not Honor, of the Civil War http://wuwm.com/post/essay-horror-not-honor-civil-war <p></p><p>As the United States marks the 150th anniversary of noted Civil War battles, one form of commemoration – re-enactments – generally leave me with a feeling of discomfort. Tue, 19 Nov 2013 16:33:08 +0000 Jerianne Hayslett 18290 at http://wuwm.com Essay: The Horror, Not Honor, of the Civil War Historian: Northern Free Blacks 'Spearheaded' Lead Up to Civil War http://wuwm.com/post/historian-northern-free-blacks-spearheaded-lead-civil-war <p>As we mark the sesquicentennial of the <a href="http://wuwm.com/term/civil-war" target="_blank">American Civil War</a>, we've heard a lot about the battles, the heroes, the death tolls.<br><br>But what we don't hear often enough is about the people who had the biggest stake in the war's outcome: African-Americans - both slaves and free persons.<br><br>University of Wisconsin historian <a href="http://history.wisc.edu/people/faculty/kantrowitz.htm" target="_blank">Steve Kantrowitz</a> argues that we often overlook the role of Northern free blacks in the lead up to the civil war.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 10 Sep 2013 20:07:46 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 12819 at http://wuwm.com North Point Lighthouse Brings Maritime History Alive http://wuwm.com/post/north-point-lighthouse-brings-maritime-history-alive <p>The North Point Lighthouse in Milwaukee's Lake Park neighborhood is a treasure trove of maritime history set off the beaten path of Milwaukee tourist destinations. Wed, 07 Aug 2013 15:00:00 +0000 Mitch Teich & Kathryn Buggs 9975 at http://wuwm.com North Point Lighthouse Brings Maritime History Alive A Short Bright Flash: French Physicist's Lens Revolutionized Lighthouses http://wuwm.com/post/short-bright-flash-french-physicists-lens-revolutionized-lighthouses <p>As we mark National Lighthouse Day, we hear about the technology that saved lives and built empires. Wed, 07 Aug 2013 15:00:00 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Kathryn Buggs 10100 at http://wuwm.com A Short Bright Flash: French Physicist's Lens Revolutionized Lighthouses Letter of a Wisconsin Civil War Soldier Inspires Song http://wuwm.com/post/letter-wisconsin-civil-war-soldier-inspires-song <p>As we remember the 150<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg, we've been hearing about the experiences of Wisconsin soldiers fighting in the American Civil War. Wed, 03 Jul 2013 00:37:12 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 7205 at http://wuwm.com Letter of a Wisconsin Civil War Soldier Inspires Song Wisconsinites Make Last Stand at Gettysburg http://wuwm.com/post/wisconsinites-make-last-stand-gettysburg <p>One hundred fifty years ago, over the first 3 days of July, one of the fiercest and most important battles of the American Civil War was fought. Wed, 03 Jul 2013 00:18:34 +0000 Thomas Martin Sobottke & Nathan Royster 7202 at http://wuwm.com Wisconsinites Make Last Stand at Gettysburg