environment http://wuwm.com en Report: Milwaukee County Receives An 'F' For Ozone Pollution http://wuwm.com/post/report-milwaukee-county-receives-f-ozone-pollution <p>Milwaukee County has unhealthy levels of smog, according to the American Lung Association's newly released annual <a href="http://www.stateoftheair.org/" target="_blank">State of the Air</a> report. Thu, 01 May 2014 16:42:04 +0000 Susan Bence & Michelle Maternowski 30428 at http://wuwm.com Report: Milwaukee County Receives An 'F' For Ozone Pollution WISN Meterologist On Board As Coast Guard Frees Frozen Freighter http://wuwm.com/post/wisn-meterologist-board-coast-guard-frees-frozen-freighter <p></p><p>The warming temperatures forecast for the Milwaukee area in the days ahead represent a welcome relief for many of us. &nbsp;But, if they do happen, they'll also bring some challenges for getting around.&nbsp; Thu, 13 Feb 2014 17:23:05 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 24644 at http://wuwm.com WISN Meterologist On Board As Coast Guard Frees Frozen Freighter Army Corps: Keeping Great Lakes Free of Asian Carp Could Cost Up to $18 Billion http://wuwm.com/post/army-corps-keeping-great-lakes-free-asian-carp-could-cost-18-billion <p></p><p>Milwaukeeans had their chance to voice opinions&nbsp; on a <a href="http://www.asiancarp.us/news/GLMRIScongress.htm" target="_blank">U.S. Army Corps of Engineers</a> report on preventing Asian carp from slipping into the Great Lakes; Thursday the Corps heads to <a href="http://glmris.anl.gov/glmris-report/register/index.cfm?/055D541A0C755AA2/index.htm" target="_blank">Traverse City</a>. Mon, 13 Jan 2014 22:07:27 +0000 Susan Bence & Stephanie Lecci 22266 at http://wuwm.com Army Corps: Keeping Great Lakes Free of Asian Carp Could Cost Up to $18 Billion National Expert: Wisconsin Risks Falling Behind in Renewable Energy Technology http://wuwm.com/post/national-expert-wisconsin-risks-falling-behind-renewable-energy-technology <p></p><p>A former U.S. Energy Department leader says Wisconsin's efforts to implement and grow sustainable energy resources show signs of "stalling" and even "going backward." Fri, 10 Jan 2014 22:10:59 +0000 Susan Bence & Stephanie Lecci 22102 at http://wuwm.com National Expert: Wisconsin Risks Falling Behind in Renewable Energy Technology Couple Turns Milwaukee Apartment into 'Microfarm' http://wuwm.com/post/couple-turns-milwaukee-apartment-microfarm <p>A family on Milwaukee's west side is taking urban farming to a new place - inside their apartment. Thu, 28 Nov 2013 12:00:00 +0000 Susan Bence 18950 at http://wuwm.com Couple Turns Milwaukee Apartment into 'Microfarm' Environmentalist Bill McKibben: I Don't Spend Time on Climate Change Skeptics http://wuwm.com/post/environmentalist-bill-mckibben-i-dont-spend-time-climate-change-skeptics <p>Today marks the one-year anniversary of "Superstorm Sandy," the post-tropical cyclone that killed 117 Americans, destroyed thousands of homes and businesses, and did billions of dollars in damage. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 22:18:00 +0000 Mitch Teich 16166 at http://wuwm.com Environmentalist Bill McKibben: I Don't Spend Time on Climate Change Skeptics New Arboretum Helps Milwaukeeans Branch Out into Nature http://wuwm.com/post/new-arboretum-helps-milwaukeeans-branch-out-nature <p>After planning for several years, the 40-acre <a href="http://milwaukeerotary.com/who-we-are/centennial-arboretum" target="_blank">Rotary Centennial Arboretum</a> opens along the Milwaukee River north of downtown this weekend. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 19:41:45 +0000 Mitch Teich & Stephanie Lecci 14077 at http://wuwm.com New Arboretum Helps Milwaukeeans Branch Out into Nature Scientist: Asian Carp Not a Threat to Lake Michigan http://wuwm.com/post/scientist-asian-carp-not-threat-lake-michigan <p>A UWM School of Freshwater Sciences researcher shares his “big picture” view of the state and future of the Great Lakes, particularly Lake Michigan. Tue, 03 Sep 2013 18:01:26 +0000 Susan Bence 12240 at http://wuwm.com Scientist: Asian Carp Not a Threat to Lake Michigan Researcher: State Wolf Hunt Is Unsustainable http://wuwm.com/post/researcher-state-wolf-hunt-unsustainable <p>A UW researcher is growing increasingly concerned about the plight of the gray wolf on Wisconsin’s landscape. Wed, 21 Aug 2013 16:23:08 +0000 Susan Bence & Gaby Magallanes 11268 at http://wuwm.com Researcher: State Wolf Hunt Is Unsustainable Why Do We Use Drinking Water to Flush Our Toilets? http://wuwm.com/post/why-do-we-use-drinking-water-flush-our-toilets <p><strong>The Johnson Foundation is taking a detailed look at how we can transform the nation's water infrastructure.</strong> Wed, 24 Jul 2013 16:52:31 +0000 Susan Bence & Stephanie Lecci 8980 at http://wuwm.com Why Do We Use Drinking Water to Flush Our Toilets?