Milwaukee Art Museum http://wuwm.com en Say Cheese!: Wisconsin is a Subject for Photography Project, 'Postcards from America' http://wuwm.com/post/say-cheese-wisconsin-subject-photography-project-postcards-america <p></p><p>For the past year and a half, a group of photographers from the photographic cooperative Magnum Photos has fanned out across America.&nbsp; The project, <a href="http://postcardsfromamerica.tumblr.com/" target="_blank"><em>Postcards from America</em></a>, aims to capture the essence of specific places across the country from multiple points of view.</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 18:49:11 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 36776 at http://wuwm.com Say Cheese!: Wisconsin is a Subject for Photography Project, 'Postcards from America' Milwaukee Art Museum Revamps Addition Design, Lead Architect Returns http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-art-museum-revamps-addition-design-lead-architect-returns <p></p><p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">After a firestorm of criticism last month, the </span><a href="http://mam.org/‎" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">Milwaukee Art Museum</a><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> has released updated designs for its new addition</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">.</span></p><p> Tue, 06 May 2014 15:01:33 +0000 Bonnie North, Stephanie Lecci & Michelle Maternowski 30737 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Art Museum Revamps Addition Design, Lead Architect Returns Milwaukee Art Museum Will Expand http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-art-museum-will-expand <p></p><p>The lakefront museum plans to add 17,000 square feet and a new entrance, to the east. Construction should begin in fall and take one year. Mon, 07 Apr 2014 22:39:43 +0000 Marge Pitrof 28650 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Art Museum Will Expand PHOTOS: Photography Collective Captures Wisconsin's Extremes http://wuwm.com/post/photos-photography-collective-captures-wisconsins-extremes <p>Photography is usually thought of a solitary pursuit, but when you're trying to capture the essence of a state like Wisconsin, you might need some back-up. Wed, 05 Feb 2014 00:57:56 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 23687 at http://wuwm.com PHOTOS: Photography Collective Captures Wisconsin's Extremes Why Is There a Smashed Car Outside the Milwaukee Art Museum? http://wuwm.com/post/why-there-smashed-car-outside-milwaukee-art-museum <p>If you’ve walked along the lakefront by the Milwaukee Art Museum recently, you may have seen a new sculpture and done a double-take. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 19:11:05 +0000 Mitch Teich 17380 at http://wuwm.com Why Is There a Smashed Car Outside the Milwaukee Art Museum? New Exhibit Offers Glimpse at 19th Century Celebrity Life http://wuwm.com/post/new-exhibit-offers-glimpse-19th-century-celebrity-life <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">If you thought the celebrity publicity machine was a modern-day phenomenon, think again.</span></p><p> Tue, 15 Oct 2013 21:19:33 +0000 Mitch Teich 15610 at http://wuwm.com New Exhibit Offers Glimpse at 19th Century Celebrity Life County Inks New Deal for War Memorial/Milwaukee Art Museum http://wuwm.com/post/county-inks-new-deal-war-memorialmilwaukee-art-museum <p>Milwaukee County officials have approved a new agreement for funding the lakefront War Memorial and the Milwaukee Art Museum.</p><p></p><p> Tue, 17 Sep 2013 17:14:48 +0000 Bob Bach 13350 at http://wuwm.com County Inks New Deal for War Memorial/Milwaukee Art Museum Compromise Would Ensure Long-Term Funding for War Memorial, Art Museum http://wuwm.com/post/compromise-would-ensure-long-term-funding-war-memorial-art-museum <p></p><p>Advocates for the War Memorial Center and the Milwaukee Art Museum are optimistic about their future after a compromise agreement was reached recently to provide long-term county funding for both.</p><p> Mon, 19 Aug 2013 18:39:10 +0000 Mitch Teich 11084 at http://wuwm.com Compromise Would Ensure Long-Term Funding for War Memorial, Art Museum Educator Never Tires of Bringing Art to Life http://wuwm.com/post/educator-never-tires-bringing-art-life <p></p><p>This month marks a significant anniversary in Barbara Brown Lee’s life. Forty-six years ago, fresh out of college, she took a job at the Milwaukee Art Museum. Today, Brown Lee’s name is almost synonymous with the museum. She’s worked with thousands of Milwaukee area high school students and continues to carve out time to work. WUWM’s Susan Bence popped into one of Brown Lee’s classes to see the master in action.<br> Fri, 16 Jan 2009 13:33:43 +0000 Susan Bence 3089 at http://wuwm.com Educator Never Tires of Bringing Art to Life