WUWM News http://wuwm.com en Walker Administration Says It Can No Longer Force Employers to Provide Contraception Coverage http://wuwm.com/post/walker-administration-says-it-can-no-longer-force-employers-provide-contraception-coverage <p>According to the Insurance Commissioner's office, the Hobby Lobby decision leaves the state unable to enforce its mandate, if there's religious objection. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:37:15 +0000 Marge Pitrof 36712 at http://wuwm.com Marquette Poll: Walker and Burke Remain Neck and Neck http://wuwm.com/post/marquette-poll-walker-and-burke-remain-neck-and-neck <p></p><p></p><p>The school's <a href="https://law.marquette.edu/poll/" target="_blank">latest poll</a> shows Gov. Walker leading Democrat Mary Burke among registered voters, while Burke has the edge among likely voters.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:38:40 +0000 Marge Pitrof 36677 at http://wuwm.com Marquette Poll: Walker and Burke Remain Neck and Neck Milwaukee County Board Wants to Put Non-Binding Referenda on Ballot http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-county-board-wants-put-non-binding-referenda-ballot <p></p><p></p><p>Thousands of Wisconsin voters will find referenda on their ballots in November, including in Milwaukee. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 LaToya Dennis 36616 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee County Board Wants to Put Non-Binding Referenda on Ballot Council Lifts Cap on Taxicab Permits in Milwaukee, Allows Lyft and Uber to Operate Legally http://wuwm.com/post/council-lifts-cap-taxicab-permits-milwaukee-allows-lyft-and-uber-operate-legally <p></p><p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Milwaukee residents and visitors may soon have more options to get around town.</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:17:50 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36625 at http://wuwm.com Council Lifts Cap on Taxicab Permits in Milwaukee, Allows Lyft and Uber to Operate Legally Clean Up Continues at Slinger Derailment Site http://wuwm.com/post/clean-continues-slinger-derailment-site <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Crews are siphoning off diesel fuel that pooled near the tracks after Sunday evening's train collision 30 miles northwest of Milwaukee.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 22:06:57 +0000 Susan Bence 36495 at http://wuwm.com Clean Up Continues at Slinger Derailment Site Walker and Burke Trade Barbs Over Trek Outsourcing http://wuwm.com/post/walker-and-burke-trade-barbs-over-trek-outsourcing <p></p><p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A campaign ad has stirred the latest dust-up between </span>Gov<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. Scott Walker and his likely Democratic opponent, Mary Burke.</span></p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36541 at http://wuwm.com Walker and Burke Trade Barbs Over Trek Outsourcing Common Core Repeal Could Create 'Chaos' in Wisconsin http://wuwm.com/post/common-core-repeal-could-create-chaos-wisconsin <p></p><p>Gov. Walker jolted quite a few Wisconsin school districts last week when he <a href="http://wuwm.com/post/republican-senators-question-walkers-call-replace-common-core-standards" target="_blank">proposed scrapping Common Core standards</a> that have been in the works for years.</p><p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 36536 at http://wuwm.com Common Core Repeal Could Create 'Chaos' in Wisconsin GAB: Wisconsin Should Not Allow Poll Watchers to Use Cameras http://wuwm.com/post/gab-wisconsin-should-not-allow-poll-watchers-use-cameras <p>Wisconsin should continue banning election observers from taking photos or videos of people registering to vote or signing the poll book.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 21:21:34 +0000 Marge Pitrof 36530 at http://wuwm.com GAB: Wisconsin Should Not Allow Poll Watchers to Use Cameras Summer Baseball Treat - Lakeshore Chinooks http://wuwm.com/post/summer-baseball-treat-lakeshore-chinooks <p>Baseball fans pack the park at Concordia University to watch the Lakeshore Chinooks. It’s a team of college players, many hoping to make the big leagues.</p><p></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 06:01:00 +0000 Scott Wise 36348 at http://wuwm.com Summer Baseball Treat - Lakeshore Chinooks Democrats in Attorney General Primary Try to Distinguish Themselves http://wuwm.com/post/democrats-attorney-general-primary-try-distinguish-themselves <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Wisconsin Democrats will decide in a few weeks who they want running for state Attorney General.&nbsp;</span></p><p> Mon, 21 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36371 at http://wuwm.com Democrats in Attorney General Primary Try to Distinguish Themselves