WUWM News http://wuwm.com en Milwaukee Doctors on Front Lines of Concussion Research http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-doctors-front-lines-concussion-research <p></p><p></p><p>Hundreds of Milwaukee-area kids have begun working out for upcoming fall sports. Their arrival may delight parents, but also heighten fears about potential concussions.</p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 15:48:27 +0000 Erin Toner 36671 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Doctors on Front Lines of Concussion Research Early Voting Begins in Wisconsin, With New Limits on Hours http://wuwm.com/post/early-voting-begins-wisconsin-new-limits-hours <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Early voting begins Monday in city clerks’ offices across Wisconsin. Voters who can’t make it to the polls on Election Day will be able to cast ballots during the two weeks prior to the August 12 primary.</span></p><p> Mon, 28 Jul 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36880 at http://wuwm.com Early Voting Begins in Wisconsin, With New Limits on Hours Walker: Border Children Could Drain The Entire System http://wuwm.com/post/walker-border-children-could-drain-entire-system <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Gov. Scott Walker says he's not entirely opposed to Wisconsin providing temporary shelter for unaccompanied children crossing into the U. S. on the Mexican border, but housing them could eventually "drain the entire system."</span></p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 22:13:09 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36891 at http://wuwm.com Walker: Border Children Could Drain The Entire System Federal Appeals Court Sets Date For Wisconsin Gay Marriage Arguments http://wuwm.com/post/federal-appeals-court-sets-date-wisconsin-gay-marriage-arguments <p></p><p></p><p>Lawyers will argue the constitutionality of Wisconsin's same sex marriage ban next month.&nbsp; The 7th U. S. Circuit Court of Appeals Friday rescheduled arguments to hear both Wisconsin's and Indiana's appeals for Aug. 26.&nbsp;</p><p>Federal judges overturned each state's gay marriage ban in separate rulings.&nbsp; When both states appealed, the 7th Circuit combined the cases.</p><p>The court also denied requests that the states' appeals be heard before the full 10-member court instead of a three-judge pael, as is customary.</p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 21:50:20 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36889 at http://wuwm.com Federal Appeals Court Sets Date For Wisconsin Gay Marriage Arguments Summer Camp Aims to Help Children Impacted by Gun Violence in Milwaukee http://wuwm.com/post/summer-camp-aims-help-children-impacted-gun-violence-milwaukee <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">For thousands of kids in Milwaukee, violence is a constant threat.</span></p><p> Fri, 25 Jul 2014 11:00:00 +0000 LaToya Dennis 36808 at http://wuwm.com Summer Camp Aims to Help Children Impacted by Gun Violence in Milwaukee Feds Place 50 'Border' Children in Wisconsin; GOP Lawmakers Object http://wuwm.com/post/feds-place-50-border-children-wisconsin-gop-lawmakers-object <p></p><p>The Office of Refugee Resettlement reports placing 50 children, who arrived at the southern border without parents, at undisclosed locations in Wisconsin. Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:53:31 +0000 Marge Pitrof 36821 at http://wuwm.com Feds Place 50 'Border' Children in Wisconsin; GOP Lawmakers Object Ryan Rolls Out Poverty Plan, Critics Skeptical http://wuwm.com/post/ryan-rolls-out-poverty-plan-critics-skeptical <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Wisconsin Congressman Paul Ryan unveiled a huge anti-poverty agenda Thursday.</p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:19:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 36819 at http://wuwm.com Ryan Rolls Out Poverty Plan, Critics Skeptical Spat in Racine Over Removal of School Library Books http://wuwm.com/post/spat-racine-over-removal-school-library-books <p>School librarians in Racine are upset because the district orchestrated the removal of thousands of books from school libraries.</p><p></p><p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 22:13:38 +0000 Marge Pitrof 36818 at http://wuwm.com Spat in Racine Over Removal of School Library Books Walker Administration Says It Can No Longer Force Employers to Provide Contraception Coverage http://wuwm.com/post/walker-administration-says-it-can-no-longer-force-employers-provide-contraception-coverage <p>According to the Insurance Commissioner's office, the Hobby Lobby decision leaves the state unable to enforce its mandate, if there's religious objection. Wed, 23 Jul 2014 22:37:15 +0000 Marge Pitrof 36712 at http://wuwm.com Marquette Poll: Walker and Burke Remain Neck and Neck http://wuwm.com/post/marquette-poll-walker-and-burke-remain-neck-and-neck <p></p><p></p><p>The school's <a href="https://law.marquette.edu/poll/" target="_blank">latest poll</a> shows Gov. Walker leading Democrat Mary Burke among registered voters, while Burke has the edge among likely voters.</p><p> Wed, 23 Jul 2014 18:38:40 +0000 Marge Pitrof 36677 at http://wuwm.com Marquette Poll: Walker and Burke Remain Neck and Neck