Public Policy Forum http://wuwm.com en Report: How Healthy is Milwaukee's Non-Profit Sector? http://wuwm.com/post/report-how-healthy-milwaukees-non-profit-sector <p></p><p></p><p>Last week, Milwaukee’s non-partisan Public Policy Forum released its newest report. Under the microscope this time was the health of the area’s non-profit sector. The <a href="http://publicpolicyforum.org/sites/default/files/Charitable%20Giving%20in%20Milwaukee-web.pdf" target="_blank">report </a>looked at levels of growth, both in terms of numbers of not for profit organizations, as well as trends in contributions and revenue.</p> Thu, 24 Jul 2014 17:41:11 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 36773 at http://wuwm.com Report: How Healthy is Milwaukee's Non-Profit Sector? New MPS Leader Will Face Dire Financial Outlook http://wuwm.com/post/new-mps-leader-will-face-dire-financial-outlook <p></p><p>A new <a href="http://publicpolicyforum.org/sites/default/files/2014-15%20MPS%20Budget%20Brief.Final_.pdf" target="_blank">report </a>by the Public Policy Forum in Milwaukee details the district’s dire financial picture. Forum President Rob Henken says MPS faces flat revenues, but rising costs. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 34571 at http://wuwm.com New MPS Leader Will Face Dire Financial Outlook Food for Thought: Ways Milwaukee Might Fund Its Cultural Amenities http://wuwm.com/post/food-thought-ways-milwaukee-might-fund-its-cultural-amenities <p></p><p>Some Milwaukee County arts and entertainment properties need a major influx of cash. The <a href="http://mediad.publicbroadcasting.net/p/wuwm/files/ShowMustGoOn-Report.pdf" target="_blank">Public Policy Forum</a> shares strategies other communities have adopted.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 14 Mar 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Mitch Teich & Marge Pitrof 26820 at http://wuwm.com Food for Thought: Ways Milwaukee Might Fund Its Cultural Amenities Afterschool Programs in Milwaukee County Get Low Grades http://wuwm.com/post/afterschool-programs-milwaukee-county-get-low-grades <p></p><p>A review of the state's "YoungStar" rating system finds most afterschool programs in Milwaukee County are failing to make the grade. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 16:48:41 +0000 Bob Bach 25612 at http://wuwm.com Afterschool Programs in Milwaukee County Get Low Grades Report: Milwaukee Cultural Institutions Need $310 Million for Improvements http://wuwm.com/post/report-milwaukee-cultural-institutions-need-310-million-improvements <p>Metro Milwaukee's parks, recreational and cultural institutions need a combined $310 million for repairs or upgrades, according to the&nbsp;<a href="http://publicpolicyforum.org/sites/default/files/ArtsCultureExecutiveSummary.pdf" target="_blank">Public Policy Forum.</a></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 22:29:21 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl, Mitch Teich & Eleanor Peterson 20021 at http://wuwm.com Report: Milwaukee Cultural Institutions Need $310 Million for Improvements Report: Mixed Progress in Closing Education Gaps http://wuwm.com/post/report-mixed-progress-closing-education-gaps <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Progress at closing the achievement gaps in southeastern Wisconsin school districts is largely stagnant, according to <a href="http://publicpolicyforum.org/sites/default/files/2013SchoolingReport-FullReport.pdf" target="_blank">new data from the Milwaukee-based Public Policy Forum</a>.</span></p><p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 15:58:04 +0000 Mitch Teich 17274 at http://wuwm.com Transforming Water Challenges into Resources http://wuwm.com/post/transforming-water-challenges-resources <p>This week <a href="http://publicpolicyforum.org/" target="_blank">Milwaukee’s Public Policy Forum</a> is playing&nbsp; host to <a href="http://www.graonline.org/" target="_blank">government researchers</a> from across the country. Water resource management was one of the topics they tackled.<br> Wed, 31 Jul 2013 15:00:00 +0000 Susan Bence 9526 at http://wuwm.com Transforming Water Challenges into Resources What Parents Want in Afterschool Programs http://wuwm.com/post/what-parents-want-afterschool-programs <p><strong>A new report says convenience trumps quality for parents when it comes to picking an afterschool program.</strong> Wed, 22 May 2013 19:58:19 +0000 Mitch Teich & Nathan Royster 3867 at http://wuwm.com What Parents Want in Afterschool Programs Brooks and Dionne (Civilly) Take on Wisconsin's Place on the National Political Stage http://wuwm.com/post/brooks-and-dionne-civilly-take-wisconsins-place-national-political-stage <p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0px; padding: 11px 0px 0px; font-family: Verdana, Geneva, sans-serif; line-height: normal;"><a href="http://topics.nytimes.com/top/opinion/editorialsandoped/oped/columnists/davidbrooks/index.html" style="color: rgb(0, 102, 204);" target="_blank">David Brooks</a>&nbsp;and&nbsp;<a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/opinions/biographies/ej-dionne-jr.html" style="color: rgb(0, 102, 204);" target="_blank">EJ Dionne</a>&nbsp;disagree with each other – for a living.&nbsp; Sat, 18 May 2013 14:12:59 +0000 Mitch Teich 3119 at http://wuwm.com Brooks and Dionne (Civilly) Take on Wisconsin's Place on the National Political Stage