world http://wuwm.com en ESSAY: Mixing Methane and International Politics Is a Gas, Gas, Gas http://wuwm.com/post/essay-mixing-methane-and-international-politics-gas-gas-gas <p></p><p></p><p>Could a molecule composed of one carbon atom and four hydrogen atoms ignite Armageddon? Fri, 04 Apr 2014 19:18:56 +0000 Judy Steininger 28462 at http://wuwm.com ESSAY: Mixing Methane and International Politics Is a Gas, Gas, Gas ESSAY: Ukraine Turmoil Reflects Russia’s Influence http://wuwm.com/post/essay-ukraine-turmoil-reflects-russia-s-influence <p>Russia President Vladimir Putin has sent troops into Crimea, and is pressing a referendum later this month to confirm separation of the region from Ukraine. Mon, 10 Mar 2014 20:57:49 +0000 Arthur Cyr 26514 at http://wuwm.com ESSAY: Good World News for the New Year http://wuwm.com/post/essay-good-world-news-new-year <p>"Nattering nabobs of negativism" is probably the most enduring of the many alliterative pronouncements of Spiro Agnew, Vice President in the Nixon administration until forced to resign because of corruption. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 20:28:52 +0000 Art Cyr 23499 at http://wuwm.com Catch Up on These Top Three Global News Headlines http://wuwm.com/post/catch-these-top-three-global-news-headlines <p></p><p></p><p>It's still early January and already it's been a busy year on the international news front. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:35:08 +0000 Mitch Teich 22036 at http://wuwm.com Catch Up on These Top Three Global News Headlines Former Nigerian President Visits UWM to Build Educational Partnership http://wuwm.com/post/former-nigerian-president-visits-uwm-build-educational-partnership <p>Former President of Nigeria Chief Olusegun Obasanjo was in Milwaukee this week, his second visit in an effort to forge a collaborative educational effort with UW-Milwaukee. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 20:40:08 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 20576 at http://wuwm.com Former Nigerian President Visits UWM to Build Educational Partnership Interview Highlights: Author Amy Tan Explores Courtesan Culture & Her Grandmother's Past http://wuwm.com/post/interview-highlights-author-amy-tan-explores-courtesan-culture-her-grandmothers-past <p></p><p>Human trafficking and the sex trades are modern-day tragedies, but writer <a href="https://www.amytan.net" target="_blank">Amy Tan</a> finds tragedy, as well as hope and redemption, in the upscale brothels of early 20th Century Shanghai.&nbsp; Sat, 07 Dec 2013 00:04:54 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 19451 at http://wuwm.com Interview Highlights: Author Amy Tan Explores Courtesan Culture & Her Grandmother's Past Aid Trickles into Devastated Philippines http://wuwm.com/post/aid-trickles-devastated-philippines <p>The United Nations says the typhoon that struck the Philippines has killed 4,460, a number confirmed by government officials. Thu, 14 Nov 2013 20:22:22 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Bonnie North 17937 at http://wuwm.com Aid Trickles into Devastated Philippines Ambassador: U.S. Could Take Economic Lessons from Iceland http://wuwm.com/post/ambassador-us-could-take-economic-lessons-iceland <p></p><p>Like its American ally, Iceland has been recovering from a devastating economic situation in the last several years. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 20:30:47 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 17752 at http://wuwm.com Ambassador: U.S. Could Take Economic Lessons from Iceland Zambian Pharmacists Train in Wisconsin to Improve Patient Care http://wuwm.com/post/zambian-pharmacists-train-wisconsin-improve-patient-care <p>For the past three decades, doctors and pharmacists have worked together to eliminate HIV/AIDS around the world. And recently that partnership is getting renewed attention in Wisconsin. Thu, 24 Oct 2013 22:03:22 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 15878 at http://wuwm.com Zambian Pharmacists Train in Wisconsin to Improve Patient Care UNICEF CEO Zeroes in on Preventing Children's Deaths Globally http://wuwm.com/post/unicef-ceo-zeroes-preventing-childrens-deaths-globally <p>Children everywhere are among the most vulnerable parts of the population, but no more so than in the developing world.&nbsp; Thu, 17 Oct 2013 19:41:10 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 15784 at http://wuwm.com UNICEF CEO Zeroes in on Preventing Children's Deaths Globally