Gogebic Taconite http://wuwm.com en Documentary Explores Volatile Issues Around Proposed Iron Mine in Northern Wisconsin http://wuwm.com/post/documentary-explores-volatile-issues-around-proposed-iron-mine-northern-wisconsin <p></p><p>This Saturday evening, a documentary will air on cable TV about the debate that has consumed Wisconsin for a couple years. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Susan Bence 33657 at http://wuwm.com Documentary Explores Volatile Issues Around Proposed Iron Mine in Northern Wisconsin Koch Brothers’ Group Has Mixed Success in Iron County Board Races http://wuwm.com/post/koch-brothers-group-has-mixed-success-iron-county-board-races <p>Americans for Prosperity got involved in county board elections in northern Wisconsin this spring, hoping to help pro-mining candidates win.</p><p> Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:32:32 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 28296 at http://wuwm.com Koch Brothers’ Group Has Mixed Success in Iron County Board Races State Senate Passes Bill That Would Restrict Access to Mine http://wuwm.com/post/state-senate-passes-bill-would-restrict-access-mine <p></p><p>Wisconsin may prevent the public from getting close to a proposed mine in northern Wisconsin.</p><p> Wed, 06 Nov 2013 07:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 17243 at http://wuwm.com State Senate Passes Bill That Would Restrict Access to Mine Ashland County Considers Ability to Protect Residents from Asbestos http://wuwm.com/post/ashland-county-considers-ability-protect-residents-asbestos <p><em><strong>UPDATE&nbsp; </strong></em>Area residents including members of the Bad River and Lac Courte Oreilles Bands&nbsp; of Lake Superior Chippewa overflowed the board room. After long discussion the Ashland County Mining Impact Committee decided to reconvene next week, when the panel will review a bulk sampling&nbsp; ordinance.&nbsp; The chair assigned several committee members to prepare an ordinance that would not allow natural occurring asbestos to be disturbed.<br /> Wed, 16 Oct 2013 15:58:03 +0000 Susan Bence 15671 at http://wuwm.com Ashland County Considers Ability to Protect Residents from Asbestos State Panel Approves Public Land Restrictions http://wuwm.com/post/state-panel-approves-public-land-restrictions <p>The state Senate Mining Committee has approved a bill that will close thousands of acres around a mining site in northern Wisconsin to hikers, hunters and other members of the public. Thu, 05 Sep 2013 17:07:12 +0000 Bob Bach 12426 at http://wuwm.com Lawmakers Could Close Land Surrounding Site of Proposed Iron Ore Mine http://wuwm.com/post/lawmakers-could-close-land-surrounding-site-proposed-iron-ore-mine <p></p><p>UPDATE: The Senate Mining Committee advanced the proposal Thursday, sending it to the full state Senate. Thu, 05 Sep 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 12365 at http://wuwm.com Lawmakers Could Close Land Surrounding Site of Proposed Iron Ore Mine Arizona Security Company’s Guards to Return to Mine Site http://wuwm.com/post/arizona-security-company-s-guards-return-mine-site <p>State regulators have granted a license to a firm that started using armed guards, clad in camouflage, at the site of a potential iron mine. Mon, 05 Aug 2013 21:35:44 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 9991 at http://wuwm.com Arizona Security Company’s Guards to Return to Mine Site Governor and Tribal Leader Condemn Violence at Proposed Mine Site http://wuwm.com/post/governor-and-tribal-leader-condemn-violence-proposed-mine-site <p>Governor Walker wants people who disrupt mine testing in northern Wisconsin, "prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law." Fri, 12 Jul 2013 20:21:53 +0000 Marge Pitrof 8042 at http://wuwm.com Governor and Tribal Leader Condemn Violence at Proposed Mine Site Gogebic Pulls Armed Guards http://wuwm.com/post/gogebic-pulls-armed-guards <p></p><p></p><p>A mining company says it has temporarily withdrawn its armed guards from an exploratory drilling site in northwestern Wisconsin.</p><p>Gogebic Taconite spokesman Bob Seitz tells the Wisconsin State Journal the guards from Bulletproof Securities were pulled out Wednesday because the contractor failed to obtain proper licensing from the state.</p><p>He says the company has two or three other options and will rely on them until state approval is received.&nbsp;</p> Wed, 10 Jul 2013 21:38:24 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 7828 at http://wuwm.com Gogebic Pulls Armed Guards Men with High-Powered Rifles are Guarding Site of Proposed Iron Mine http://wuwm.com/post/men-high-powered-rifles-are-guarding-site-proposed-iron-mine <p><a href="http://wuwm.com/post/gogebic-pulls-armed-guards" target="_blank">Update: On Wednesday, Gogebic&nbsp;Taconite temporarily pulled its armed guards from the exploratory drilling site in northwestern Wisconsin.</a></p><p>Heavily-armed security guards have been patrolling the site of a potential iron mine in northern Wisconsin. Tue, 09 Jul 2013 22:15:10 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 7733 at http://wuwm.com Men with High-Powered Rifles are Guarding Site of Proposed Iron Mine