Wisconsin State Budget http://wuwm.com en With New Budget Signed, Walker's 'Living Experiment' Continues http://wuwm.com/post/new-budget-signed-walkers-living-experiment-continues <p>Governor Scott Walker signed the biennial state budget into law this past <span class="Object" id="OBJ_PREFIX_DWT931">Sunday</span>, using his substantial line item veto power to eliminate 58 items from the document. Tue, 02 Jul 2013 23:19:40 +0000 Mitch Teich & Rachel Bloom 7198 at http://wuwm.com With New Budget Signed, Walker's 'Living Experiment' Continues Budget Bill Goes to Governor http://wuwm.com/post/budget-bill-goes-governor <p>After hours of debate, following weeks of debate, the Wisconsin State Senate yesterday <a href="http://www.wuwm.com/post/senate-approves-budget-one-vote" target="_blank">passed a proposed biennial budget</a> for the state.&nbsp; Fri, 21 Jun 2013 20:29:26 +0000 Mitch Teich & Gaby Magallanes 6381 at http://wuwm.com Budget Bill Goes to Governor Governor Walker Praises Legislature's Budget Decisions http://wuwm.com/post/governor-walker-praises-legislatures-budget-decisions <p>Gov. Walker is expressing satisfaction with the budget the Legislature has approved. Lawmakers made several changes to the governor's initial plan. Fri, 21 Jun 2013 13:30:29 +0000 LaToya Dennis 6341 at http://wuwm.com Governor Walker Praises Legislature's Budget Decisions Senate Approves Budget by One Vote http://wuwm.com/post/senate-approves-budget-one-vote <p>The state Senate has sent Governor Walker a $68 billion spending plan for Wisconsin for 2013-15. Fri, 21 Jun 2013 11:53:46 +0000 Marge Pitrof 6332 at http://wuwm.com State Assembly Passes $68 Billion Budget to Senate http://wuwm.com/post/state-assembly-passes-68-billion-budget-senate <p></p><p></p><p>The state Assembly Wednesday advanced a budget for Wisconsin. The votes in favor were all Republican. Democrats voted against the package, with three GOP Assemblymen joining the opposition. Wed, 19 Jun 2013 21:50:17 +0000 LaToya Dennis 6197 at http://wuwm.com State Assembly Passes $68 Billion Budget to Senate Assembly Advances State Budget http://wuwm.com/post/assembly-advances-state-budget <p>The state Assembly quickly finished its work Wednesday, on Wisconsin's proposed 2013-15 state budget, after Democrats decided not to offer amendments.</p><p>The plan totals $70 billion and, among other provisions, would:</p><p>-- cut income taxes by $650 million</p><p>-- expand the school voucher program statewide</p><p>-- concur with Gov. Walker to reject federal money to expand the state Medicaid program to all households living at up to 130% of the federal poverty level. Instead, the state will cover those with incomes at or below 100% of the poverty line</p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 18:06:03 +0000 Marge Pitrof 6166 at http://wuwm.com Assembly Advances State Budget Assembly Budget Debate is Short in First Day http://wuwm.com/post/assembly-budget-debate-short-first-day <p>The state Assembly was supposed to put in a day-long session Tuesday debating the budget, but ended up only deliberating for 15 minutes.</p><p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 6104 at http://wuwm.com Assembly Budget Debate is Short in First Day Joint Finance Committee Delays Vote on Special Needs Vouchers http://wuwm.com/post/joint-finance-committee-delays-vote-special-needs-vouchers <p></p><p>The Joint Committee on Finance was expected to vote on the school vouchers on Wednesday; however, lawmakers adjourned without taking action on the item.</p><p> Wed, 29 May 2013 15:18:58 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 4376 at http://wuwm.com Joint Finance Committee Delays Vote on Special Needs Vouchers Committee Approves Work Rules for Food Benefits http://wuwm.com/post/committee-approves-work-rules-food-benefits <p>The Legislature's budget committee has concurred with Gov. Walker, to require able-bodied adults to either work or attend job training sessions, in order to receive food share benefits.</p><p>The requirement would pertain to adults with no children and with incomes up to 200% of the poverty level (approx. $23,000 per individual), and demand 20 hours per week of working or training.</p><p>Those who don't meet the requirement, could only receive food 'stamps' for three months every three years.</p> Wed, 22 May 2013 16:52:40 +0000 Marge Pitrof 3848 at http://wuwm.com Committee Approves Work Rules for Food Benefits Update: Legislature's Budget Committee Actions http://wuwm.com/post/update-legislatures-budget-committee-actions <p>So far, during its state budget deliberations Tuesday, the Joint Finance Committee approved: Tue, 21 May 2013 19:08:43 +0000 Marge Pitrof 3776 at http://wuwm.com Update: Legislature's Budget Committee Actions