Material Culture http://wuwm.com en Recycled Highway Signs Point to Home for Madison Resident http://wuwm.com/post/recycled-highway-signs-point-home-madison-resident <p>A Madison woman finds her new home’s previous tenant found a way to recycle old highway signs - and repair his floors at the same time. Tue, 30 Jul 2013 18:15:24 +0000 Gianofer Fields 9486 at http://wuwm.com Recycled Highway Signs Point to Home for Madison Resident Art Show Reinvents the Bicycle Wheel http://wuwm.com/post/art-show-reinvents-bicycle-wheel <p><strong>Artists aim to create artwork that's both "beautiful and functional" from bicycle parts.</strong> Fri, 19 Apr 2013 21:48:09 +0000 Gianofer Fields & Stephanie Lecci 3886 at http://wuwm.com Art Show Reinvents the Bicycle Wheel Don't Touch? Not at This Museum http://wuwm.com/post/dont-touch-not-museum <p><strong>How do you design a museum that's eco- and kid-friendly?</strong></p><p></p> Mon, 08 Apr 2013 23:15:35 +0000 Gianofer Fields 6097 at http://wuwm.com Don't Touch? Not at This Museum Collector's Souvenirs Recreate Historic Southern California http://wuwm.com/post/collectors-souvenirs-recreate-historic-southern-california <p>A souvenir is usually something someone brings back from somewhere they paid a visit. But what happens when the somewhere no longer exists? That's the question material culture contributor Gianofer Fields sought to answer in her latest "It's a Material World" segment. Sat, 02 Mar 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Gianofer Fields & Stephanie Lecci 6098 at http://wuwm.com Collector's Souvenirs Recreate Historic Southern California How Wisconsin Students Pulled Off One of the Greatest College Pranks Ever http://wuwm.com/post/how-wisconsin-students-pulled-one-greatest-college-pranks-ever <p><strong>Madison students pranked a city using a lot of Styrofoam, a lake, and the Statue of Liberty.</strong> Fri, 22 Feb 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Gianofer Fields & Stephanie Lecci 6099 at http://wuwm.com How Wisconsin Students Pulled Off One of the Greatest College Pranks Ever Building Community with Molten Metal http://wuwm.com/post/building-community-molten-metal <p>When Lake Effect's material culture contributor Gianofer Fields was a kid, her father worked at Pelton Steel Casting Company in Milwaukee. Very simply put, casting metal is the process of melting iron, pouring it into molds, and letting it cool. Her father was a Finish Grinder and it was his job to clean up the cast objects after they were pulled from the molds. Sat, 02 Feb 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Gianofer Fields & Stephanie Lecci 6100 at http://wuwm.com Building Community with Molten Metal A Heat Gun, Some Plastic Bags, and the Sun http://wuwm.com/post/heat-gun-some-plastic-bags-and-sun <p>This summer the Chipstone Foundation challenged artists from all over Wisconsin to use just one tool to create a work of art. Contributor Gianofer Fields has presented some of their stories in recent months in our <a href="http://itsamaterialworld.org" target="_blank">It’s a Material World</a> series. Sat, 05 Jan 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Gianofer Fields 6101 at http://wuwm.com A Heat Gun, Some Plastic Bags, and the Sun Body as Art: A Conversation With the "Dominican Dominator" http://wuwm.com/post/body-art-conversation-dominican-dominator <p> <strong>This artist's canvass is his own body.</strong> Sat, 15 Dec 2012 22:00:01 +0000 Gianofer Fields 3884 at http://wuwm.com Body as Art: A Conversation With the "Dominican Dominator" Artist Gets Primitive in 'One Tool Challenge' http://wuwm.com/post/artist-gets-primitive-one-tool-challenge <p>For the past several months, Lake Effect's material culture contributor Gianofer Fields has been asking artists throughout Wisconsin a simple question: if you had only one tool at your disposal to practice your craft, what would it be? For some artists, who already use only a select few tools in creating their art, it was an easy choice; others simply couldn't - or wouldn't - choose. Sat, 01 Dec 2012 06:00:00 +0000 Gianofer Fields 6105 at http://wuwm.com Artist Gets Primitive in 'One Tool Challenge' Beware the Mad Pumpkin Carver! http://wuwm.com/post/beware-mad-pumpkin-carver <p></p><p><span style="display: none;">&nbsp;</span><strong>If you don't carve your pumpkins, <em>someone </em>will.</strong><span style="display: none;">&nbsp;</span></p><p> Sat, 03 Nov 2012 05:00:00 +0000 Gianofer Fields 6106 at http://wuwm.com Beware the Mad Pumpkin Carver!