Astronomy http://wuwm.com en Marking the Summer Solstice with Astronomy Contributor Jean Creighton http://wuwm.com/post/marking-summer-solstice-astronomy-contributor-jean-creighton <p></p><p>After a long winter of what felt like Wisconsin’s own “Polar Vortex,” it’s time to escape from under our roofs and enjoy the longest day of the year.&nbsp; Thu, 19 Jun 2014 18:43:39 +0000 Bonnie North & Brooke Dowden 34142 at http://wuwm.com Marking the Summer Solstice with Astronomy Contributor Jean Creighton How Astronomers Conduct Research http://wuwm.com/post/how-astronomers-conduct-research <p>When the whole universe is out there to explore, how do astronomers decide what questions they want to ask? Fri, 28 Feb 2014 23:45:47 +0000 Eleanor Peterson, Bonnie North & Jean Creighton 25722 at http://wuwm.com How Astronomers Conduct Research Milwaukee Astronomer Will Fly High into Stratosphere Aboard NASA Aircraft http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-astronomer-will-fly-high-stratosphere-aboard-nasa-aircraft <p></p><p>A Milwaukee astronomer is about to take the trip of a lifetime, traveling 45,000 feet into the sky aboard a NASA aircraft. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 21:48:32 +0000 Bonnie North, Kathryn Buggs & Stephanie Lecci 22569 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Astronomer Will Fly High into Stratosphere Aboard NASA Aircraft 2013's Top 5 Astronomical Stories http://wuwm.com/post/2013s-top-5-astronomical-stories <p>Throughout 2013, Dr. Jean Creighton kept her eye on astronomical news. From a fireball in Russia to the Kepler Telescope, Creighton highlights her top five stories of the year. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 20:00:28 +0000 Eleanor Peterson, Bonnie North & Jean Creighton 20655 at http://wuwm.com 2013's Top 5 Astronomical Stories What Happened to All Those Moon Rocks? http://wuwm.com/post/what-happened-all-those-moon-rocks <p></p><p>The Apollo moon missions (11 through 17, minus the infamous 13) collected more than 800 pounds of moon rock. But whatever happened to those samples? Thu, 26 Sep 2013 20:56:41 +0000 Bonnie North, Jean Creighton & Stephanie Lecci 14089 at http://wuwm.com What Happened to All Those Moon Rocks? Pluto Has Five Moons? And More Facts You Didn't Know About the Former Planet http://wuwm.com/post/pluto-has-five-moons-and-more-facts-you-didnt-know-about-former-planet <p>Even though it's no longer considered a planet, Pluto still excites the imagination as it skims the outer reaches of our solar system. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 19:44:33 +0000 Bonnie North, Jean Creighton & Stephanie Lecci 11389 at http://wuwm.com Pluto Has Five Moons? And More Facts You Didn't Know About the Former Planet Exo-Planets Could Hold Key in Search for Extraterrestrial Life http://wuwm.com/post/exo-planets-could-hold-key-search-extraterrestrial-life <p></p><p><strong>An astrophysicist says the search for extraterrestrial life is about to get interesting.</strong></p><p> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 15:28:31 +0000 Bonnie North & Stephanie Lecci 5125 at http://wuwm.com Exo-Planets Could Hold Key in Search for Extraterrestrial Life 5 Neat Facts About Neptune's New Moon http://wuwm.com/post/5-neat-facts-about-neptunes-new-moon <p>Scientists have discovered a new moon for Neptune, raising its number of moons to fourteen. Thu, 25 Jul 2013 19:35:41 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Jean Creighton 9082 at http://wuwm.com 5 Neat Facts About Neptune's New Moon Forget the Dark Side - Explore the Moon's Red, Blue and Super Sides http://wuwm.com/post/forget-dark-side-explore-moons-red-blue-and-super-sides <p>Whether it’s super, or blue, or crescent, the moon has many faces. But what exactly are they? Thu, 27 Jun 2013 19:23:06 +0000 Bonnie North, Jean Creighton & Stephanie Lecci 6811 at http://wuwm.com Forget the Dark Side - Explore the Moon's Red, Blue and Super Sides