Wisconsin legislature http://wuwm.com en Abortion Rules Set For Trial in Wisconsin, Alabama http://wuwm.com/post/abortion-rules-set-trial-wisconsin-alabama <p></p><p></p><p>Both states have adopted laws that prohibit doctors from performing abortions unless the provider has admitting privileges at a nearby hospital.</p><p> Mon, 19 May 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 31613 at http://wuwm.com Abortion Rules Set For Trial in Wisconsin, Alabama List of Wisconsin Legislators Leaving Office Grows Longer http://wuwm.com/post/list-wisconsin-legislators-leaving-office-grows-longer <p>The latest two representatives to announce they will vacate their seats are Democrat Sandy Pasch of Shorewood and Republican Dean Kaufert of Neenah.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 04 Apr 2014 15:52:55 +0000 Marge Pitrof 28440 at http://wuwm.com List of Wisconsin Legislators Leaving Office Grows Longer Legislators Hope to Repeal Wisconsin's Ban on Same Sex Marriage http://wuwm.com/post/legislators-hope-repeal-wisconsins-ban-same-sex-marriage <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>A few years ago, Wisconsin voters banned same sex marriage. Now an effort to undo that decision is taking shape.</p><p> Fri, 14 Feb 2014 07:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 24703 at http://wuwm.com Legislators Hope to Repeal Wisconsin's Ban on Same Sex Marriage State Senate May Avoid Abortion Debate in 2014 http://wuwm.com/post/state-senate-may-avoid-abortion-debate-2014 <p>The state Legislature is heading into the final weeks of its two-year session.&nbsp; A few divisive issues apparently will not surface; among them, new restrictions on abortion.</p><p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 07:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 21261 at http://wuwm.com State Senate May Avoid Abortion Debate in 2014 State Lawmakers Prepare For Busy Fall Session http://wuwm.com/post/state-lawmakers-prepare-busy-fall-session <p>State lawmakers plan to tackle issues related to jobs, abortion and drunken driving in the fall session.</p><p> Mon, 16 Sep 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 13216 at http://wuwm.com State Lawmakers Prepare For Busy Fall Session Bill Would Require More Accountability For Voucher Schools http://wuwm.com/post/bill-would-require-more-accountability-voucher-schools <p></p><p>Wisconsin has never required voucher schools to account for their operations as public schools must. Things would change under a bill up for a hearing Thursday at the State Capitol.</p><p> Thu, 12 Sep 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 12914 at http://wuwm.com Bill Would Require More Accountability For Voucher Schools Political Observer: GOP Still Debating What Might Boost Wisconsin Economy http://wuwm.com/post/political-observer-gop-still-debating-what-might-boost-wisconsin-economy <p>State Republicans passed their big economic agenda in early 2011, but have not yet seen the desired results, according to JR Ross, editor of WisPolitics.com.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 17:12:58 +0000 Marge Pitrof 12542 at http://wuwm.com Political Observer: GOP Still Debating What Might Boost Wisconsin Economy Wisconsin May Ban Employers From Demanding Social Media Access http://wuwm.com/post/wisconsin-may-ban-employers-demanding-social-media-access <p>Wisconsin employers could not ask workers or job applicants for their personal social media accounts, under a bill before a state Senate committee. Mon, 19 Aug 2013 17:13:43 +0000 Marge Pitrof 11079 at http://wuwm.com Bipartisan Group of State Lawmakers Calls for Immigration Overhaul http://wuwm.com/post/bipartisan-group-state-lawmakers-calls-immigration-overhaul <p>Nearly 50 Wisconsin legislators are urging Congress to reform the country’s immigration laws. Wed, 26 Jun 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 6661 at http://wuwm.com Bipartisan Group of State Lawmakers Calls for Immigration Overhaul State Republicans Seek Changes in Abortion Coverage http://wuwm.com/post/state-republicans-seek-changes-abortion-coverage <p> Several bills under consideration in Madison would make it more difficult to get an abortion in Wisconsin. Mon, 27 May 2013 11:54:33 +0000 Bob Bach 4249 at http://wuwm.com State Republicans Seek Changes in Abortion Coverage