Crime http://wuwm.com en Essay: We Shouldn't Charge Children as Adults http://wuwm.com/post/essay-we-shouldnt-charge-children-adults <p></p><p>A child is not an adult. Even if we ignore recent research that concludes human brain development continues well into our 20s, there is long-held support that teenage brains are developing throughout adolescence. Thu, 15 May 2014 19:34:07 +0000 Paul Heinz 31522 at http://wuwm.com Essay: We Shouldn't Charge Children as Adults Homicides in Milwaukee: Fact Vs. Fiction http://wuwm.com/post/homicides-milwaukee-fact-vs-fiction <p></p><p>True or false: From 1993 to 2013 there has been nearly a 50% increase in homicides in the City of Milwaukee.</p><p>The answer is…. False! Actually, during those years there has been a 35% decrease in homicides in the city, from 164 to 106. That decrease has been uneven but steady.</p> Wed, 07 May 2014 18:30:39 +0000 Steven Brandl 30878 at http://wuwm.com Homicides in Milwaukee: Fact Vs. Fiction Witnessing a Crime, Do You Know What to Do? http://wuwm.com/post/witnessing-crime-do-you-know-what-do <p></p><p></p><p>Some people are upset with Milwaukee District Attorney John Chisholm for not filing charges in connection with the death of a West Allis teen. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 17:53:37 +0000 LaToya Dennis 22530 at http://wuwm.com Witnessing a Crime, Do You Know What to Do? Chief Flynn: "Most Violent Period in 5+ Years" http://wuwm.com/post/chief-flynn-most-violent-period-5-years <p></p><p>Milwaukee Police Chief Edward Flynn was among a group of chiefs of police who met with US Attorney General Eric Holder this week to discuss a surge in youth violence.</p><p> Fri, 30 Aug 2013 16:52:20 +0000 Mitch Teich 12017 at http://wuwm.com Chief Flynn: "Most Violent Period in 5+ Years" Alderman: Parents Should Teach Children Acceptable Behavior http://wuwm.com/post/alderman-parents-should-teach-children-acceptable-behavior <p>Milwaukee Ald. Joe Davis says the blame for violence in the city lies, in part, with residents’ upbringing. Tue, 27 Aug 2013 17:23:05 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 11730 at http://wuwm.com Alderman: Parents Should Teach Children Acceptable Behavior A Step-By-Step Guide to Bounty Hunting http://wuwm.com/post/step-step-guide-bounty-hunting <p><strong>What would bounty hunting look like if made legal here in Wisconsin?</strong> Tue, 09 Jul 2013 19:30:33 +0000 Amy Kiley & Stephanie Lecci 7697 at http://wuwm.com A Step-By-Step Guide to Bounty Hunting Milwaukee Mother Charged in Death of Infant http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-mother-charged-death-infant <p>A 22-year-old woman is facing a charge of first degree reckless homicide, in the death of Michael Johnson III. Tue, 18 Jun 2013 20:24:59 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 6071 at http://wuwm.com Before Boston, Another Manhunt Captivated the Nation http://wuwm.com/post/boston-another-manhunt-captivated-nation <p></p><p></p><p>In last month’s manhunt for the suspects in the Boston Marathon bombing, many analysts – including some on NPR – termed it unprecedented in recent history. Certainly, the search, which effectively shut down much of the Boston area on Friday, was massive in scale.</p><p>But writer Dan Schultz says unprecedented is the wrong word. Tue, 28 May 2013 19:29:30 +0000 Mitch Teich & Stephanie Lecci 4350 at http://wuwm.com Before Boston, Another Manhunt Captivated the Nation