Children http://wuwm.com en Essay: We Shouldn't Charge Children as Adults http://wuwm.com/post/essay-we-shouldnt-charge-children-adults <p></p><p>A child is not an adult. Even if we ignore recent research that concludes human brain development continues well into our 20s, there is long-held support that teenage brains are developing throughout adolescence. Thu, 15 May 2014 19:34:07 +0000 Paul Heinz 31522 at http://wuwm.com Essay: We Shouldn't Charge Children as Adults UWM Professor: Report Naming Wisconsin Worst for Black Kids Should Be 'Wake-Up Call' http://wuwm.com/post/uwm-professor-report-naming-wisconsin-worst-black-kids-should-be-wake-call <p></p><p></p><p>A recent report named Wisconsin as the worst state for the welfare of black children. Thu, 15 May 2014 19:20:00 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & David Pate 31515 at http://wuwm.com UWM Professor: Report Naming Wisconsin Worst for Black Kids Should Be 'Wake-Up Call' Reviving Simbas Soccer Club a New Goal http://wuwm.com/post/reviving-simbas-soccer-club-new-goal <p></p><p>Thousands of kids in the Milwaukee area play youth soccer, but the vast majority of the sport is played by kids who live outside the city itself. Thu, 17 Oct 2013 20:07:17 +0000 Mitch Teich & Stephanie Lecci 15793 at http://wuwm.com Reviving Simbas Soccer Club a New Goal UNICEF CEO Zeroes in on Preventing Children's Deaths Globally http://wuwm.com/post/unicef-ceo-zeroes-preventing-childrens-deaths-globally <p>Children everywhere are among the most vulnerable parts of the population, but no more so than in the developing world.&nbsp; Thu, 17 Oct 2013 19:41:10 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 15784 at http://wuwm.com UNICEF CEO Zeroes in on Preventing Children's Deaths Globally Why Boys and Girls Clubs Still Matter http://wuwm.com/post/why-boys-and-girls-clubs-still-matter <p>For more than 150 years, the organization that would become the <a href="http://www.bgca.org" target="_blank">Boys and Girls Clubs of America</a> has been giving our country&rsquo;s children a safe place to learn, play and grow. Thu, 10 Oct 2013 22:12:15 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 15262 at http://wuwm.com Why Boys and Girls Clubs Still Matter Good Nutrition Takes Center Stage…Literally http://wuwm.com/post/good-nutrition-takes-center-stage-literally <p><strong>&nbsp;Milwaukee Public Theatre says "Eat Your Vegetables!"</strong> Fri, 12 Jul 2013 22:51:39 +0000 Bonnie North & Eleanor Peterson 7896 at http://wuwm.com Good Nutrition Takes Center Stage…Literally Book's Plucky Tractor Plows His Way into Kids' - and Some Adults' - Hearts http://wuwm.com/post/books-plucky-tractor-plows-his-way-kids-and-some-adults-hearts-0 <p>Inspired by his favorite picture books from childhood, like <em>The Pokey Little Puppy</em> and <em>The Little Engine that Could</em>, <a href="http://www.lorenlong.com/index.html" target="_blank">Loren Long</a> has tried to pass on that inspiration to children through his books. He has a series about Otis the Tractor and he is the illustrator of President Obama’s picture book <em>Of Thee I Sing</em>. Thu, 02 May 2013 15:10:28 +0000 Mitch Teich & Eleanor Peterson 2076 at http://wuwm.com Book's Plucky Tractor Plows His Way into Kids' - and Some Adults' - Hearts Musician Takes Mature Approach to Kids' Music http://wuwm.com/post/musician-takes-mature-approach-kids-music <p>There once was a time when there two kinds of musicians: those who played for kids, and ones who played for grown ups. And there was not much overlap, in the styles of music aimed at the two groups of listeners. That’s changed in the last decade or two, and now it is not such a stretch for a musician to find his or her feet in both worlds. Fri, 01 Feb 2013 17:58:30 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 2776 at http://wuwm.com Musician Takes Mature Approach to Kids' Music Heroes of "Hollow Earth" Breathe Life, Adventure Into Art http://wuwm.com/post/heroes-hollow-earth-breathe-life-adventure-art <p></p><p>Have you ever looked at a painting in an art gallery and wished you could become part of the world the artist created? Certainly, it’d be nice to spend some time in Claude Monet’s world, and it would be an adventure to make your way through an M.C. Esher drawing. Mon, 12 Nov 2012 16:09:17 +0000 Mitch Teich 1510 at http://wuwm.com Heroes of "Hollow Earth" Breathe Life, Adventure Into Art A Dachshund's Tale http://wuwm.com/post/dachshunds-tale <p></p><p></p><p></p> Thu, 01 Mar 2012 19:15:03 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 1465 at http://wuwm.com A Dachshund's Tale