Health Care http://wuwm.com en Federal Agencies in Milwaukee Partner to Connect Artists with Health Insurance http://wuwm.com/post/federal-agencies-milwaukee-partner-connect-artists-health-insurance <p></p><p>A first-of-its-kind partnership started here in Milwaukee between two federal agencies is working to help artists and other sole-proprietors figure out their health insurance options. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 20:56:46 +0000 Bonnie North & Eleanor Peterson 25262 at http://wuwm.com Federal Agencies in Milwaukee Partner to Connect Artists with Health Insurance Mental Health Advocate Urges Caution on Changes to County Complex Oversight http://wuwm.com/post/mental-health-advocate-urges-caution-changes-county-complex-oversight <p></p><p>Lawmakers in Madison continue to push for passage of two bills that would make reforms to Milwaukee County’s embattled Mental Health Complex, even while some in the mental health community question the plans. Mon, 17 Feb 2014 22:10:49 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 24951 at http://wuwm.com Mental Health Advocate Urges Caution on Changes to County Complex Oversight Is There a Dark Side to Electronic Medical Records? http://wuwm.com/post/there-dark-side-electronic-medical-records <p></p><p></p><p>Despite a federal mandate requiring most physicians to adopt electronic medical record-keeping, the president of the <a href="http://ama-assn.org/‎" target="_blank">American Medical Association</a> says doctors are increasingly frustrated with the technology. Wed, 29 Jan 2014 18:29:18 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 23444 at http://wuwm.com Is There a Dark Side to Electronic Medical Records? Milwaukee Researcher: New Test Diagnoses Deadly Sepsis 10 Times Faster http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-researcher-new-test-diagnoses-deadly-sepsis-10-times-faster <p></p><p>A Milwaukee researcher says new testing for an often fatal blood infection can diagnose the issue and find the right treatment days faster than the previous method. Thu, 12 Dec 2013 01:51:00 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 19975 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Researcher: New Test Diagnoses Deadly Sepsis 10 Times Faster Essay: A Doctor's Empathy Has Its Limits http://wuwm.com/post/essay-doctors-empathy-has-its-limits <p></p><p>In the years before I went to medical school, I worked as a nurse’s aide. Early one morning, one of the surgeons&nbsp;dropped by the Emergency Room in a particularly good mood. The ER&nbsp;doctor asked him why he was so happy. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 00:27:01 +0000 Bruce Campbell 19323 at http://wuwm.com Essay: A Doctor's Empathy Has Its Limits How Your Doctor Feels About You Could Affect Your Care http://wuwm.com/post/how-your-doctor-feels-about-you-could-affect-your-care <p></p><p> Does it matter whether your doctor seems to really care about your well-being? In fact, yes, it does. Tue, 03 Dec 2013 23:37:13 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 19318 at http://wuwm.com How Your Doctor Feels About You Could Affect Your Care VA Improves Care for Growing Number of Female Vets http://wuwm.com/post/va-improves-care-growing-number-female-vets <p>On this Veteran’s Day, we’re going to focus on the VA's efforts to improve health care for women.</p><p> Mon, 11 Nov 2013 07:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 16677 at http://wuwm.com VA Improves Care for Growing Number of Female Vets Essay: We Must Address Prescription Painkiller Addiction http://wuwm.com/post/essay-we-must-address-prescription-painkiller-addiction <p></p><p><em>Lake Effect essayist Nilesh Patel looks at the death of a well-known hockey player two years ago as evidence that change is needed inside and outside of sports: </em></p><p>I wish I had known about Derek Boogaard before he died.</p><p>The 28-year old Canadian was a fan favorite in the National Hockey League when he lost his battle to addictive prescription painkillers two years ago.</p> Wed, 30 Oct 2013 21:57:30 +0000 Dr. Nilesh Patel 16781 at http://wuwm.com Essay: We Must Address Prescription Painkiller Addiction A Prescription for Conflict Resolution in Health Care http://wuwm.com/post/prescription-conflict-resolution-health-care <p>The Obama Administration is taking heat for early glitches in the implementation of the Affordable Care Act, largely as a result of problems with the website, <a href="http://healthcare.gov" target="_blank">healthcare.gov</a>. Wed, 23 Oct 2013 23:33:19 +0000 Mitch Teich 16263 at http://wuwm.com A Prescription for Conflict Resolution in Health Care Nurse-Managed Health Clinics Help Fill Primary Care Gap in Milwaukee http://wuwm.com/post/nurse-managed-health-clinics-help-fill-primary-care-gap-milwaukee <p></p><p></p><p>A <a href="http://news.marquette.edu/news-releases/childrens-hospital-of-wisconsin-and-marquette-university-partnering-on-two-nurse-managed-community-health-clinics/" target="_blank">new primary care health clinic</a> is opening today at Milwaukee&rsquo;s <a href="http://ymcamke.org/locations/northside" target="_blank">Northside YMCA</a>. Mon, 14 Oct 2013 21:39:48 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 15530 at http://wuwm.com Nurse-Managed Health Clinics Help Fill Primary Care Gap in Milwaukee