Race http://wuwm.com en UWM Professor: Report Naming Wisconsin Worst for Black Kids Should Be 'Wake-Up Call' http://wuwm.com/post/uwm-professor-report-naming-wisconsin-worst-black-kids-should-be-wake-call <p></p><p></p><p>A recent report named Wisconsin as the worst state for the welfare of black children. Thu, 15 May 2014 19:20:00 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & David Pate 31515 at http://wuwm.com UWM Professor: Report Naming Wisconsin Worst for Black Kids Should Be 'Wake-Up Call' Book: In Place of Slavery, Crime Statistics Were Used to Condemn African-Americans http://wuwm.com/post/book-place-slavery-crime-statistics-were-used-condemn-african-americans <p></p><p>Reports that <a href="http://wuwm.com/topic/project-milwaukee-black-men-prison" target="_blank">Wisconsin has the country's highest rate of incarcerating black men</a> have sparked outrage and concern - including worries over how those statistics might be used to portray the state's black men. But it turns out these concerns are almost as old as the state itself. Fri, 02 May 2014 22:09:58 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 30567 at http://wuwm.com Book: In Place of Slavery, Crime Statistics Were Used to Condemn African-Americans MLK Jr. Day Inspires Reflections on Race and Faith http://wuwm.com/post/mlk-jr-day-inspires-reflections-race-and-faith <p>The nation honors the civil rights leader Doctor Martin Luther King, Jr., with a holiday today. Mon, 20 Jan 2014 23:13:21 +0000 Mitch Teich 22836 at http://wuwm.com Witnessing a Crime, Do You Know What to Do? http://wuwm.com/post/witnessing-crime-do-you-know-what-do <p></p><p></p><p>Some people are upset with Milwaukee District Attorney John Chisholm for not filing charges in connection with the death of a West Allis teen. Thu, 16 Jan 2014 17:53:37 +0000 LaToya Dennis 22530 at http://wuwm.com Witnessing a Crime, Do You Know What to Do? Analysts: Child Support Adds to Many Black Fathers' Debt Load http://wuwm.com/post/analysts-child-support-adds-many-black-fathers-debt-load <p></p><p>Among the financial challenges facing many of Milwaukee&#39;s black men is the disproportionate amount of debt they carry. Mon, 14 Oct 2013 22:04:57 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & David Pate 15533 at http://wuwm.com Analysts: Child Support Adds to Many Black Fathers' Debt Load Why Are Graduation Rates So Low for UWM's Black Students? http://wuwm.com/post/why-are-graduation-rates-so-low-uwms-black-students <p></p><p>A college education is seen as the key to joining the middle class in the country.&nbsp; Wed, 09 Oct 2013 18:30:12 +0000 Mitch Teich & Stephanie Lecci 15119 at http://wuwm.com Why Are Graduation Rates So Low for UWM's Black Students? Why Many Black Men in Milwaukee Can't Get Out of Poverty http://wuwm.com/post/why-many-black-men-milwaukee-cant-get-out-poverty <p></p><p>The latest census figures paint a fairly bleak picture for Milwaukee. Fri, 27 Sep 2013 19:56:10 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & David Pate 14201 at http://wuwm.com Why Many Black Men in Milwaukee Can't Get Out of Poverty In Disparate Community, Local YWCA Works to Make Racial Justice Within Reach http://wuwm.com/post/disparate-community-local-ywca-works-make-racial-justice-within-reach <p>As the nation marks the 50<sup>th</sup> anniversary of the March on Washington, one Milwaukee organization consistently works to keep issues of racial justice front and center. Wed, 28 Aug 2013 17:15:21 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 11826 at http://wuwm.com In Disparate Community, Local YWCA Works to Make Racial Justice Within Reach Book Highlights Sherman Park's Push for Diversity http://wuwm.com/post/book-highlights-sherman-parks-push-diversity <p></p><p>Milwaukee is one of, if not, the most segregated city in the country - according to varying accounts. A report released last month by the <a href="http://www.greatermilwaukeefoundation.org/pdf/VitalSigns_Milwaukee_2013.pdf" target="_blank">Greater Milwaukee Foundation</a> says the city is the most segregated among 15 similar areas.&nbsp; But the study also notes that Milwaukee is 6th out of those regions for diversity. Wed, 17 Jul 2013 21:05:55 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 8431 at http://wuwm.com Book Highlights Sherman Park's Push for Diversity Church Group Works to Overcome Racial Divide http://wuwm.com/post/church-group-works-overcome-racial-divide <p><strong>A church-based non-profit is working to overcome segregation and division in Milwaukee's Sherman Park neighborhood.</strong> Mon, 03 Jun 2013 22:56:29 +0000 Amy Kiley 4866 at http://wuwm.com Church Group Works to Overcome Racial Divide