Veterans http://wuwm.com en Essay: Fourth of July - Reflection and Renewal http://wuwm.com/post/essay-fourth-july-reflection-and-renewal <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Fourth of July weekend celebrates community, local as well as national. Parades featuring people in uniform - scouts, firefighters and police as well as the military – traditionally are a fixture. Military uniforms remind us of the role of war in our history – and present. The current Veterans Administration scandals remind us of how serious related problems can become.</span></p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 21:39:59 +0000 Art Cyr 35246 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Fourth of July - Reflection and Renewal Area Veterans Sad, Angry Over Rising Insurgency in Iraq http://wuwm.com/post/area-veterans-sad-angry-over-rising-insurgency-iraq <p>Some Milwaukee-area veterans are watching with heavy hearts as sectarian violence spreads throughout Iraq. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 33979 at http://wuwm.com Area Veterans Sad, Angry Over Rising Insurgency in Iraq Memorial Day: Remembering Sacrifice, Acknowledging Struggle http://wuwm.com/post/memorial-day-remembering-sacrifice-acknowledging-struggle <p></p><p> On this Memorial Day, 2014, America will honor those who lost their lives, serving the country. Mon, 26 May 2014 14:10:02 +0000 Bob Bach 32310 at http://wuwm.com Memorial Day: Remembering Sacrifice, Acknowledging Struggle VA Under Fire for Strategy to Speed Up Claims Process http://wuwm.com/post/va-under-fire-strategy-speed-claims-process <p>While the VA works to resolve<a href="http://wuwm.com/post/wisconsin-vets-caught-huge-va-claims-backlog" target="_blank"> a huge claims backlog</a>, the process may actually get worse for some, before it gets better for everyone.</p><p> Tue, 13 May 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 31248 at http://wuwm.com VA Under Fire for Strategy to Speed Up Claims Process Wisconsin Vets Caught Up in Huge VA Claims Backlog http://wuwm.com/post/wisconsin-vets-caught-huge-va-claims-backlog <p>One Milwaukee man waited more than a year after filing a disability claim to begin receiving compensation for injuries sustained in Iraq.</p><p> Mon, 12 May 2014 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 31183 at http://wuwm.com Wisconsin Vets Caught Up in Huge VA Claims Backlog Robotic Exo-Skeleton Allows Paralyzed Madison Vet to Stand Up and Walk http://wuwm.com/post/robotic-exo-skeleton-allows-paralyzed-madison-vet-stand-and-walk <p></p><p></p><p>You probably remember learning about exo-skeletons back in biology class – beetles have them. So do lobsters. Well now, we can add humans to that list.</p><p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 06:01:00 +0000 Erin Toner 29287 at http://wuwm.com Robotic Exo-Skeleton Allows Paralyzed Madison Vet to Stand Up and Walk How Shakespeare Helps These Wisconsin Veterans Suffering From PTSD http://wuwm.com/post/how-shakespeare-helps-these-wisconsin-veterans-suffering-ptsd <p></p><p>A little over a year ago, <a href="http://www.feastofcrispian.org" target="_blank">Feast of Crispian</a> began holding weekend Shakespeare intensives at the Zablocki VA Medical Center in Milwaukee. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 21:59:48 +0000 Bonnie North, Eleanor Peterson & Michelle Maternowski 26229 at http://wuwm.com How Shakespeare Helps These Wisconsin Veterans Suffering From PTSD Church Newsletters Brought a Bit of Home to Milwaukee Soldiers in WWII http://wuwm.com/post/church-newsletters-brought-bit-home-milwaukee-soldiers-wwii <p></p><p></p><p>As Milwaukee soldiers fought on the front lines during World War II thousands of miles away, several young women from the city's south side worked to make the homefront seem a little closer. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 00:31:34 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 17691 at http://wuwm.com Church Newsletters Brought a Bit of Home to Milwaukee Soldiers in WWII PHOTOS: Wisconsin Veterans Take 'Honor Flight' to WWII Memorial http://wuwm.com/post/photos-wisconsin-veterans-take-honor-flight-wwii-memorial <p>For almost a decade, a group of volunteers has undertaken the task of bringing veterans of World War II to visit the Washington, D.C. <a href="http://www.wwiimemorial.com/" target="_blank">monument</a> honoring their sacrifice. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 21:54:53 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 16967 at http://wuwm.com PHOTOS: Wisconsin Veterans Take 'Honor Flight' to WWII Memorial Two Veterans Trek from Milwaukee to LA to Raise Awareness and Money http://wuwm.com/post/two-veterans-trek-milwaukee-la-raise-awareness-and-money <p>The goodbyes lasted as long as the ceremony on the terrace of the Milwaukee County War Memorial as Tom Voss and Anthony Anderson prepared to set off by foot to Los Angeles. Fri, 30 Aug 2013 16:30:22 +0000 Susan Bence & Michelle Maternowski 12011 at http://wuwm.com Two Veterans Trek from Milwaukee to LA to Raise Awareness and Money