medicine http://wuwm.com en Modern Medical Practices come from 19th Century Quackery and Your Mother http://wuwm.com/post/modern-medical-practices-come-19th-century-quackery-and-your-mother <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Mom is the first person many of us turn to when we are sick. She has that certain magic touch and knows what we need in order to feel better.</span></p><p> Tue, 11 Feb 2014 19:47:29 +0000 Eleanor Peterson 24113 at http://wuwm.com Modern Medical Practices come from 19th Century Quackery and Your Mother Essay: A Doctor's Empathy Has Its Limits http://wuwm.com/post/essay-doctors-empathy-has-its-limits <p></p><p>In the years before I went to medical school, I worked as a nurse’s aide. Early one morning, one of the surgeons&nbsp;dropped by the Emergency Room in a particularly good mood. The ER&nbsp;doctor asked him why he was so happy. Wed, 04 Dec 2013 00:27:01 +0000 Bruce Campbell 19323 at http://wuwm.com Essay: A Doctor's Empathy Has Its Limits Milwaukee Researcher Finds Multiple Genes at Play in Childhood Disorder http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-researcher-finds-multiple-genes-play-childhood-disorder <p></p><p></p><p>A study by a Milwaukee researcher has identified additional genes related to a complex speech disorder affecting children, but the work could lead to a better overall understanding of defects in the human genome. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 23:22:07 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Mitch Teich 18948 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Researcher Finds Multiple Genes at Play in Childhood Disorder East Meets West: Guide to Wellness Channels Modern & Spiritual Medicine http://wuwm.com/post/east-meets-west-guide-wellness-channels-modern-spiritual-medicine <p>"In the 20th century, medicine was strictly concerned with treating illnesses. The medicine of the 21st century is about wellness." Wed, 17 Jul 2013 22:34:10 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 8447 at http://wuwm.com East Meets West: Guide to Wellness Channels Modern & Spiritual Medicine Bits and Pieces of a Psychiatrist's Life: A Poetic Memoir http://wuwm.com/post/bits-and-pieces-psychiatrists-life-poetic-memoir <p>Dr. Barry Blackwell has spent half a century working as a psychiatrist. But since moving from Britain to Milwaukee decades ago, he’s explored something quite unexpected for a medical practitioner: poetry.</p><p>For Blackwell, this wasn’t a midlife change-of-heart. Throughout his self-published memoir, <em>Bits and Pieces of a Psychiatrist’s Lif</em>e, Blackwell makes reference to his lifelong interest in writing. He recently sat down with WUWM’s <em>Lake Effect </em>to discuss his 600-page magnum opus.</p> Tue, 09 Jul 2013 20:55:52 +0000 Rachel Bloom 7713 at http://wuwm.com Bits and Pieces of a Psychiatrist's Life: A Poetic Memoir Woman's Cells Live On - As Do Questions About Informed Consent http://wuwm.com/post/womans-cells-live-do-questions-about-informed-consent <p>How can we ensure that researchers aren't using our biological material without our consent?</p><p> Tue, 04 Jun 2013 22:20:47 +0000 Mitch Teich 4959 at http://wuwm.com Woman's Cells Live On - As Do Questions About Informed Consent