University of Wisconsin Milwaukee http://wuwm.com en Sheldon Lubar On Milwaukee: Then, Now, and the Future http://wuwm.com/post/sheldon-lubar-milwaukee-then-now-and-future <p>Philanthropist <a href="http://www.lubar.com/sheldon-lubar.html" target="_blank">Sheldon Lubar</a> made headlines in the last few years for his outspoken views on reforming Milwaukee County government.&nbsp; Many of the changes at the board of supervisors level influenced by Lubar are going into effect - though their effects are yet to be measured.</p><p>Despite Lubar's public political stances, he never pursued elected office for himself - though he served in the presidential administrations of Richard Nixon, Gerald Ford, and Jimmy Carter.</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:24:43 +0000 Mitch Teich & Audrey Nowakowski 35028 at http://wuwm.com Sheldon Lubar On Milwaukee: Then, Now, and the Future Numbers Help Police Predict Upcoming Crimes http://wuwm.com/post/numbers-help-police-predict-upcoming-crimes <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Over the last few months, there have been periodic outbreaks of violence in Milwaukee during the weekends, or other several day stretches, with sudden increases in shootings or other criminal unrest.</p> Wed, 02 Jul 2014 17:59:20 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 35101 at http://wuwm.com Numbers Help Police Predict Upcoming Crimes Two Guitar Giants Performed Together for the First Time in Milwaukee http://wuwm.com/post/two-guitar-giants-performed-together-first-time-milwaukee <p></p><p>The fingerstyle guitar program at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee not only trains the next generation of guitarists but also brings in world class musicians to teach and perform.</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 19:39:53 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 31516 at http://wuwm.com Two Guitar Giants Performed Together for the First Time in Milwaukee Composer Searches for Micro-Aural Worlds in Nature http://wuwm.com/post/composer-searches-micro-aural-worlds-nature <p></p><p></p><p>Music is all around us. All you have to do is listen.</p><p>That is what happened one day when outdoor-enthusiast and composer <a href="http://www.allwaysnorth.com/" target="_blank">Cheryl Leonard</a> was in the woods, improvising with a friend. She took a rosined bow and bowed the bark of a tree and other nature objects to explore their sounds. Although she did not hear much, she explored the idea further by amplifying the micro-aural worlds around us. That is the music to Leonard’s ears.</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 17:48:25 +0000 Eleanor Peterson 29383 at http://wuwm.com Composer Searches for Micro-Aural Worlds in Nature UWM Hosts Forum to Address Affordable Care Act's Challenges http://wuwm.com/post/uwm-hosts-forum-address-affordable-care-acts-challenges <p>The rollout of the Affordable Care Act has been beset by difficulties at a number of levels, from the website troubles as health exchanges were launched last year, to the news yesterday that only about half of uninsured adults (approximately 4.5 million adults, the population of Spain) have even investigated getting insurance through health exchanges.</p><p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 19:31:19 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 26318 at http://wuwm.com UWM Hosts Forum to Address Affordable Care Act's Challenges How Astronomers Conduct Research http://wuwm.com/post/how-astronomers-conduct-research <p>When the whole universe is out there to explore, how do astronomers decide what questions they want to ask? Fri, 28 Feb 2014 23:45:47 +0000 Eleanor Peterson, Bonnie North & Jean Creighton 25722 at http://wuwm.com How Astronomers Conduct Research Milwaukee Man Is Unlikely Reality Show Star - in China http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-man-unlikely-reality-show-star-china <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">If UW-Milwaukee English professor </span><a href="http://www.liamcallanan.com/" style="line-height: 1.5;" target="_blank">Liam Callanan </a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">assigned a "What I Did on My Summer Vacation" essay, his students would be hard-pressed to top his own story.</span></p><p> Fri, 06 Dec 2013 14:56:12 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Mitch Teich 16422 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Man Is Unlikely Reality Show Star - in China "Bollywood is not real cinema": Gopalakrishnan and Indian Cinema http://wuwm.com/post/bollywood-not-real-cinema-gopalakrishnan-and-indian-cinema <p>The Peck School of the Arts at University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee just established a <a href="http://www4.uwm.edu/psoa/film/adoor-gopalakrisnan-archive.cfm" target="_blank">new film archive and research fund</a> for their nationally-known film department. Fri, 31 May 2013 18:26:00 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Bonnie North 4111 at http://wuwm.com "Bollywood is not real cinema": Gopalakrishnan and Indian Cinema Does a Full Moon Control Us? Creighton has Answers http://wuwm.com/post/does-full-moon-control-us-creighton-has-answers <p></p><p>The moon is an essential part of our lives, being found in song, stories, science, history, mythology, and elsewhere. Thu, 30 May 2013 16:35:59 +0000 Eleanor Peterson, Bonnie North & Jean Creighton 4544 at http://wuwm.com Does a Full Moon Control Us? Creighton has Answers Want to Fight Disease? Do Your Math Homework http://wuwm.com/post/want-fight-disease-do-your-math-homework <p>A common complaint among school kids who don't want to learn their math is that it's not important in the real world. While there is a lot of theory in math, a growing body of researchers are proving this notion wrong by applying math in some surprisingly relevant ways. Thu, 09 May 2013 18:06:19 +0000 Mitch Teich & Eleanor Peterson 2777 at http://wuwm.com Want to Fight Disease? Do Your Math Homework