Essay http://wuwm.com en Essay: Kids' Perceptions of the Police http://wuwm.com/post/essay-kids-perceptions-police <p><em>Monday's protest in Milwaukee was designed to call attention to what demonstrators say is a criminal justice system that has historically been violent to African-Americans. &nbsp;</em></p><p>Lake Effect<em> essayist - and criminal justice professor Tina Freiburger says it's crucial to build up a culture of trust between the police and the youngest members of a community:</em></p> Tue, 26 Aug 2014 19:07:59 +0000 Audrey Nowakowski & Tina Freiburger 39145 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Kids' Perceptions of the Police Essay: Black Earth http://wuwm.com/post/essay-black-earth <p><em>Food freedom, and the contradictions between what we say we want and what we actually do to get it, is on the mind of contributor and Wisconsin Foodie Kyle </em>Cherek.</p><p> Tue, 26 Aug 2014 18:15:14 +0000 Kyle Cherek & Audrey Nowakowski 39142 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Black Earth Essay: Rodeo Pants http://wuwm.com/post/essay-rodeo-pants <p></p><p><em>So we’ve covered the academic aspect of education, the sustainability goals of one institution, but we’ve neglected another key area – back-to-school fashion, as it’s reflected in that all important kindergarten demographic.&nbsp; </em>Lake Effect<em> essayist Mark Siegrist picks up the story from there:</em></p><p>It’s often said that every generation is different.</p><p>That’s only partly true.</p><p>Because here’s another expression.</p><p>What goes around comes around.</p><p>Let me explain.</p> Mon, 25 Aug 2014 19:43:03 +0000 Mark Siegrist & Audrey Nowakowski 39124 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Rodeo Pants Essay: Tumbling Dumpsters http://wuwm.com/post/essay-tumbling-dumpsters <p><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Both the Democrats and Republicans are trying to close ranks ahead of this year’s mid-term elections – and ahead of the bigger prize in 2016 – the White House. </span></em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Lake Effect</span><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> political satirist Will </span>Durst</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><em> says that led to the most strained meeting he can imagine since Cain attended Abel’s fune</em>ral.</span></p><p> Wed, 20 Aug 2014 15:26:11 +0000 Will Durst & Audrey Nowakowski 38665 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Tumbling Dumpsters Essay: Psychobabble - Maybe Plan B is the Real Plan A http://wuwm.com/post/essay-psychobabble-maybe-plan-b-real-plan <p></p><p><em>What keeps you up at night? The clutch on your Honda? Worries about relationships? The Brewers’ chances of making the playoffs? For Lake Effect essayist Linda Benjamin, it’s about her expectations from life.</em></p><p> Tue, 19 Aug 2014 16:51:25 +0000 Linda Benjamin 38658 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Psychobabble - Maybe Plan B is the Real Plan A Essay: Your Guide to Festival Fest http://wuwm.com/post/essay-your-guide-festival-fest <p></p><p>As a public service, I’m providing you with your guide to Festing.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 14 Aug 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Joel Habush 38257 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Your Guide to Festival Fest Essay: No Easy Answers for Immigration Crisis http://wuwm.com/post/essay-no-easy-answers-immigration-crisis <p></p><p><em>The immigration crisis involving thousands of undocumented immigrant children has fallen off the front page. But as </em>Lake Effect <em>essayist Avi Lank notes, that doesn’t mean it’s gone away.</em></p><p> Mon, 11 Aug 2014 20:19:16 +0000 Avrum D. Lank 38086 at http://wuwm.com Essay: No Easy Answers for Immigration Crisis Cari Carlson: "What Would Diderot Say?" http://wuwm.com/post/cari-carlson-what-would-diderot-say <p></p><p><em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">If clothes make the man, it stands to reason they make the woman too. Maybe even more so. But where does it all end?&nbsp;</span></em></p><p><em>Cari Carlson shares her essay,&nbsp;</em><span style="line-height: 1.5;">What Would Diderot Say?</span></p><p> Tue, 05 Aug 2014 18:50:03 +0000 Cari Taylor-Carlson & Bonnie North 37652 at http://wuwm.com Cari Carlson: "What Would Diderot Say?" Essay: Stuck in The Snow, Or, Do You Know Any New Soup Recipes? http://wuwm.com/post/essay-stuck-snow-or-do-you-know-any-new-soup-recipes <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 20:57:16 +0000 Linda Benjamin 37425 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Stuck in The Snow, Or, Do You Know Any New Soup Recipes? Essay: Sage Advice http://wuwm.com/post/essay-sage-advice <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p><p></p><p>Essayist Linda Benjamin emphasizes that we all need to live life by listening to our hearts.&nbsp;</p> Fri, 01 Aug 2014 20:33:40 +0000 Linda Benjamin 37424 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Sage Advice