Milwaukee police http://wuwm.com en Milwaukee Police Department Sued Over Strip Searches http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-police-department-sued-over-strip-searches <p></p><p></p><p>Attorneys representing several black men filed a federal complaint against the MPD on Monday, claiming internal problems led officers to strip search suspects. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 00:13:42 +0000 LaToya Dennis 35480 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Police Department Sued Over Strip Searches Early Morning Raid in Milwaukee Targets Violent Street Gang http://wuwm.com/post/early-morning-raid-milwaukee-targets-violent-street-gang <p></p><p></p><p>Teams of Milwaukee police and FBI agents swarmed into the city’s Amani neighborhood early Tuesday and arrested at least 17 people. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 17:37:47 +0000 Marge Pitrof 33965 at http://wuwm.com Early Morning Raid in Milwaukee Targets Violent Street Gang MPD, Council Members: Milwaukee Must Find Better Ways to Respond to Mentally Unstable Individuals http://wuwm.com/post/mpd-council-members-milwaukee-must-find-better-ways-respond-mentally-unstable-individuals <p>The Milwaukee Police Department says, when possible, it summons officers with special training but could use much more community support.</p><p></p><p> Fri, 23 May 2014 15:54:03 +0000 Marge Pitrof 32146 at http://wuwm.com MPD, Council Members: Milwaukee Must Find Better Ways to Respond to Mentally Unstable Individuals Chief Flynn Says Policing Not the Cause of High Rate of Black Male Incarceration http://wuwm.com/post/chief-flynn-says-policing-not-cause-high-rate-black-male-incarceration <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A policy analyst and Milwaukee's Chief of Police offer sharply differing opinions on how law enforcement figures into why so many of Milwaukee's black men are in prison.</span></p><p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 21:34:16 +0000 Mitch Teich 20676 at http://wuwm.com Chief Flynn Says Policing Not the Cause of High Rate of Black Male Incarceration Pros and Cons To Milwaukee Police Scanning License Plates http://wuwm.com/post/pros-and-cons-milwaukee-police-scanning-license-plates <p>The Milwaukee Police Department has a relatively new tool for collecting and reviewing information about potential suspects - a reader. Thu, 19 Dec 2013 16:33:03 +0000 Marti Mikkelson 20552 at http://wuwm.com Pros and Cons To Milwaukee Police Scanning License Plates Milwaukee Council President Unhappy with Former Officer's Sentence http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-council-president-unhappy-former-officers-sentence <p>A judge on Friday sentenced a former MPD officer to 20 days in jail, for not stopping fellow officers from conducting illegal strip searches. Fri, 04 Oct 2013 19:32:38 +0000 Marge Pitrof 14750 at http://wuwm.com Do High Numbers of Arrests Equal Safer Streets? http://wuwm.com/post/do-high-numbers-arrests-equal-safer-streets <p></p><p></p><p>The past couple months have been violent ones in Milwaukee. Shootings have plagued parts of the city. Fri, 30 Aug 2013 13:00:00 +0000 LaToya Dennis 11965 at http://wuwm.com Do High Numbers of Arrests Equal Safer Streets? What Milwaukee News Did You Miss This Week? http://wuwm.com/post/what-milwaukee-news-did-you-miss-week <p>News of suspended Brewer <a href="http://wuwm.com/post/braun-releases-written-statement-apology" target="_blank">Ryan Braun’s apology</a> dominated much of the local news this week. Sat, 24 Aug 2013 20:49:53 +0000 Bonnie North & Bruce Murphy 11570 at http://wuwm.com What Milwaukee News Did You Miss This Week? Milwaukee Mayor's Budget Adds 100 Police Officers http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-mayors-budget-adds-100-police-officers <p>Milwaukee’s recent violent crime wave is on the mayor’s mind as he plans the city budget for 2014.</p><p> Tue, 20 Aug 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Erin Toner 11098 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Mayor's Budget Adds 100 Police Officers More Males Sue MPD for Alleged Strip Searches http://wuwm.com/post/more-males-sue-mpd-alleged-strip-searches <p>Five black men filed lawsuits in July, accusing Milwaukee police officers of conducting or overseeing illegal strip searches. Wed, 14 Aug 2013 21:16:38 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 10745 at http://wuwm.com