Wisconsin History http://wuwm.com en Mary Nohl's Eccentric, Eclectic House to be Relocated to Sheboygan http://wuwm.com/post/mary-nohls-eccentric-eclectic-house-be-relocated-sheboygan <p></p><p>Tourists will soon have to travel to Sheboygan to take in the Mary Nohl's art, according to the <a href="http://www.jsonline.com/entertainment/arts/mary-nohl-house-to-be-dismantled-moved-to-sheboygan-b99233459z1-252683701.html" target="_blank"><em>Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 20:39:13 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Stephanie Lecci 27853 at http://wuwm.com Mary Nohl's Eccentric, Eclectic House to be Relocated to Sheboygan History With a Dollop of Applesauce: Meet the Potato Pancake Queen of Palmyra http://wuwm.com/post/history-dollop-applesauce-meet-potato-pancake-queen-palmyra <p></p><p>For almost seventy years, Betty Betenz&nbsp;of Palmyra has been the area’s unofficial Potato Pancake Queen.&nbsp; Now into her tenth decade, Betenz has decided to make sure her iconic recipe remains a part of Wisconsin cuisine for years to come.&nbsp; Lake Effect’s Mitch Teich explains:</p><p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 16:49:19 +0000 Mitch Teich 24374 at http://wuwm.com History With a Dollop of Applesauce: Meet the Potato Pancake Queen of Palmyra How Wisconsin's Biggest Living History Museum Wound Up in a State Forest http://wuwm.com/post/how-wisconsins-biggest-living-history-museum-wound-state-forest <p>As the largest outdoor museum of rural life in the country, <a href="http://oldworldwisconsin.wisconsinhistory.org/" target="_blank">Old World Wisconsi</a>n demonstrates how our immigrant ancestors lived through heirloom gardens, antique machinery and painstakingly restored buildings. Thu, 21 Nov 2013 19:47:29 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 18490 at http://wuwm.com How Wisconsin's Biggest Living History Museum Wound Up in a State Forest Project Preserves Local Latina Voices http://wuwm.com/post/project-preserves-local-latina-voices <p></p><p>Across the country, the story of Chicana history is being collected in a project called &quot;Somos Latinas,&quot; created by Chicanas Por Mi Raza. Fri, 11 Oct 2013 18:17:20 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 15321 at http://wuwm.com Project Preserves Local Latina Voices 'Cold War University': Protests, Policies Divided Madison Community http://wuwm.com/post/cold-war-university-protests-policies-divided-madison-community <div><p></p><p> Wed, 04 Sep 2013 20:20:48 +0000 Rachel Bloom 12342 at http://wuwm.com 'Cold War University': Protests, Policies Divided Madison Community Soldiers' Letters Illustrate Wisconsin's Military History http://wuwm.com/post/soldiers-letters-illustrate-wisconsins-military-history <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p><strong>One family’s scrapbook became a powerful resource for Wisconsin’s involvement in the Civil War.</strong> Thu, 08 Aug 2013 16:34:13 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Stephanie Lecci 10251 at http://wuwm.com Soldiers' Letters Illustrate Wisconsin's Military History A Short Bright Flash: French Physicist's Lens Revolutionized Lighthouses http://wuwm.com/post/short-bright-flash-french-physicists-lens-revolutionized-lighthouses <p>As we mark National Lighthouse Day, we hear about the technology that saved lives and built empires. Wed, 07 Aug 2013 15:00:00 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Kathryn Buggs 10100 at http://wuwm.com A Short Bright Flash: French Physicist's Lens Revolutionized Lighthouses State Fair Tradition Extends Back More Than 160 Years http://wuwm.com/post/state-fair-tradition-extends-back-more-160-years <p></p><p>The annual Wisconsin State Fair begins in West Allis on Thursday. Thu, 01 Aug 2013 06:00:00 +0000 Ann-Elise Henzl 9608 at http://wuwm.com State Fair Tradition Extends Back More Than 160 Years At the End of Your Rope? Just Make More http://wuwm.com/post/end-your-rope-just-make-more <p>When was the last time you found yourself in need of some reliable rope?</p><p> Thu, 18 Jul 2013 10:03:00 +0000 Gianofer Fields 8450 at http://wuwm.com At the End of Your Rope? Just Make More Walk Down the Streets of Time at the Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear http://wuwm.com/post/walk-down-streets-time-chudnow-museum-yesteryear <p><strong>The streets and shops of a Milwaukee gone by come back to life at a local museum.</strong> Tue, 16 Jul 2013 22:04:09 +0000 Stephanie Lecci 8347 at http://wuwm.com Walk Down the Streets of Time at the Chudnow Museum of Yesteryear