Food http://wuwm.com en Essay: Ordering Up a Better Kids' Menu http://wuwm.com/post/essay-ordering-better-kids-menu <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It was a Wednesday afternoon when my phone beeped with a text from my husband that read, </span>“Wanna<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> go out to eat tonight?”</span></p><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 14:31:42 +0000 Lane Pierce 32043 at http://wuwm.com Essay: Ordering Up a Better Kids' Menu Thought Outpost Was Green Before? New Store Makes Super Strides in Sustainability http://wuwm.com/post/thought-outpost-was-green-new-store-makes-super-strides-sustainability <p><a href="http://www.outpost.coop/" target="_blank">The Milwaukee co-op</a> opened its fourth store this week; this one in Mequon.<br /> Tue, 13 May 2014 17:26:56 +0000 Susan Bence 31334 at http://wuwm.com Thought Outpost Was Green Before? New Store Makes Super Strides in Sustainability Milwaukee Chef Justin Aprahamian Wins James Beard Award http://wuwm.com/post/milwaukee-chef-justin-aprahamian-wins-james-beard-award <p></p><p>Milwaukee's Justin Aprahamian of Sanford restaurant has been named Best Chef in the Midwest by the <a href="https://www.jamesbeard.org/sites/default/files/attachments/050414_JBF_AWARD_WINNERS_LIST_0.pdf" target="_blank">James Beard Foundation</a>. Tue, 06 May 2014 19:55:24 +0000 Stephanie Lecci, Bonnie North & Kyle Cherek 30805 at http://wuwm.com Milwaukee Chef Justin Aprahamian Wins James Beard Award Forget Brats, Cookbook Helps You Pair Beer with Your Veggies http://wuwm.com/post/forget-brats-cookbook-helps-you-pair-beer-your-veggies <p></p><p></p><p>The beer-and-brat pairing is practically a Wisconsin staple, but Milwaukee-based beer writer <a href="http://beercook.com" target="_blank">Lucy Saunders</a> is hoping her new cookbook will introduce some new options to complement your brew. Sat, 15 Mar 2014 00:48:05 +0000 Stephanie Lecci & Eleanor Peterson 26909 at http://wuwm.com Forget Brats, Cookbook Helps You Pair Beer with Your Veggies Celebrating Milwaukee's Restaurants: A Homegrown Delicacy http://wuwm.com/post/celebrating-milwaukees-restaurants-homegrown-delicacy <p></p><p></p><p>Every month we talk with Lake Effect contributor <a href="http://wisconsinfoodie.com/" target="_blank">Kyle Cherek</a> about Milwaukee’s, and the rest of Wisconsin’s, great food traditions. Over the last year we’ve covered farmers markets, new restaurants, James Beard nominations and awards that recognize Milwaukee chefs, and more.</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 16:51:01 +0000 Eleanor Peterson, Bonnie North & Kyle Cherek 25805 at http://wuwm.com Celebrating Milwaukee's Restaurants: A Homegrown Delicacy How to Host a Wonderful Wine Tasting Party http://wuwm.com/post/how-host-wonderful-wine-tasting-party <p></p><p>While some will celebrate Valentine’s Day with chocolate and flowers, others might be more tempted to bring a blush to their Valentine’s cheek with wine. Thu, 13 Feb 2014 17:20:43 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Stephanie Lecci 24658 at http://wuwm.com How to Host a Wonderful Wine Tasting Party Web Exclusive: Betty's Famous Potato Pancake Recipe http://wuwm.com/post/web-exclusive-bettys-famous-potato-pancake-recipe <p>We have it, and now you do, too.</p><p> Wed, 12 Feb 2014 21:43:40 +0000 Mitch Teich 24602 at http://wuwm.com Web Exclusive: Betty's Famous Potato Pancake Recipe History With a Dollop of Applesauce: Meet the Potato Pancake Queen of Palmyra http://wuwm.com/post/history-dollop-applesauce-meet-potato-pancake-queen-palmyra <p></p><p>For almost seventy years, Betty Betenz&nbsp;of Palmyra has been the area’s unofficial Potato Pancake Queen.&nbsp; Now into her tenth decade, Betenz has decided to make sure her iconic recipe remains a part of Wisconsin cuisine for years to come.&nbsp; Lake Effect’s Mitch Teich explains:</p><p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 16:49:19 +0000 Mitch Teich 24374 at http://wuwm.com History With a Dollop of Applesauce: Meet the Potato Pancake Queen of Palmyra Have These Food Trends Become Stale? http://wuwm.com/post/have-these-food-trends-become-stale <p></p><p>Even though Festivus is over, <em>Lake Effect</em> contributor Kyle Cherek still has some food-related grievances to air. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 19:00:37 +0000 Bonnie North & Kyle Cherek 21566 at http://wuwm.com Have These Food Trends Become Stale? Say Cheese! Nine Picks for Your Party Plate http://wuwm.com/post/say-cheese-nine-picks-your-party-plate <p>If you're planning a holiday or New Year's party in Wisconsin, chances are a cheese plate is in order. But what to put on it? Fri, 20 Dec 2013 23:49:03 +0000 Eleanor Peterson & Stephanie Lecci 20580 at http://wuwm.com Say Cheese! Nine Picks for Your Party Plate